Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

Missing menu after Wordpress upgrade


  #1  
Old Dec 10, 2015, 03:19 AM
tfarrell
 
43 posts · Dec 2012
Ireland
Hello
I updated Wordpress to the latest 4.4 and the menu has disappeared from the site. All the settings in the Menu seem to be unchanged but there is no menu on the site.

http://careersnews.ie

Hope you can help

TF
  #2  
Old Dec 10, 2015, 05:34 PM
tfarrell
 
43 posts · Dec 2012
Ireland
Two files attached.
Whatever is in these has not been changed for a number of weeks - long before the update of WP.

Thanks.
TF
Attached Files
File Type: txt HEADER.TXT (146 Bytes, 208 views)
File Type: txt ata-wwwcareersnewsie-20151210.txt (16.6 KB, 270 views)
  #3  
Old Dec 10, 2015, 07:58 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
very odd, your settings with WP 4.4 for me work fine - are you using atahualpa 3.7.24?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #4  
Old Dec 11, 2015, 02:17 AM
tfarrell
 
43 posts · Dec 2012
Ireland
Yes I am using 3.7.24
  #5  
Old Dec 11, 2015, 03:02 AM
tfarrell
 
43 posts · Dec 2012
Ireland
I can give you a log in if that might help.

TF
  #6  
Old Dec 11, 2015, 04:11 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Yes send me a PM with an admin ID/PW and I'll poke around a bit
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Dec 11, 2015, 08:19 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I'm not sure exactly what is happening, but I think it is a wordpress (??) issue. I created a new menu and when I assigned it to menu location 1, it showed up. Try it yourself.

My suggestion is to recreate the main menu
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #8  
Old Dec 11, 2015, 08:31 AM
tfarrell
 
43 posts · Dec 2012
Ireland
OK
Thanks for that so far. Is there any way of copying the existing menu to a new one or of exporting its settings?
Can this be reported to WP and see if they have a solution.

I have another issue not related to the theme but caused by the update. Over 300 links to graphics are broken and as you know fixing all that is a lot of work.

TF
  #9  
Old Dec 11, 2015, 08:53 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
Is there any way of copying the existing menu to a new one or of exporting its settings?
Not thhat I'm aware of, but there might be.
Quote:
Can this be reported to WP and see if they have a solution.
you can report it, but I'd try it with twenty-fifteen first. If it works there then it might be a theme issue, but since the test menu works, it could even be a database issue?? - to find out someone would have to spend some time playing with the site...or better yet, a copy of it.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Jan 5, 2016, 06:21 AM
tfarrell
 
43 posts · Dec 2012
Ireland
Hello

I didn't get much work done on this for the last few weeks. I have started to work on the menu again and am getting some very odd problems. At one point the menu just disappeared from the site after I added some items to it.


I deleted the menu in admin and when I looked at the site it had a menu listing every page I had.
I then started to create a new menu with only one item and it came up fine. However as I add more items to it at some point it disappears again. When I reduce the number of items it just comes back OK.

Any idea of what might be going on?
Thanks
TF
  #11  
Old Jan 5, 2016, 12:59 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
No idea. Could be a plugin conflict, could be some corruption in the database. Do you have a caching plugin?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #12  
Old Jan 5, 2016, 05:35 PM
cefiar
 
24 posts · Jun 2014
Melbourne, Australia
@tfarrell : Have you tried the patch in the following link? http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=23360

Wondering if this is somehow related to the bug I discovered not long after 4.4 was released.
  #13  
Old Jan 5, 2016, 06:05 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
(Head slap) mustn't have caught up from the holidays if I forgot about that already...sigh...good find @cefiar
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #14  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 03:48 PM
cefiar
 
24 posts · Jun 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Also possibly related is that there are a bunch of fixes in WP 4.4.1 which has just been released: https://codex.wordpress.org/Version_4.4.1 Some of these appear to be related to Menus, which may also be relevant to @tfarrell's issue.

FWIW: I've tested that the new patch still works with 4.4.1, so no harm at all applying it. I haven't tried without the patch though, so it may still be broken, or it may have been a WP bug all along.

FYI: Even if it is fixed in WP, probably best to leave it in, as it's obviously more robust than it used to be.

Bookmarks

Tags
menu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
after upgrade, all images missing kkells Installation/Upgrade Issues 3 Feb 18, 2015 01:16 PM
Menu bar is missing After I upgrade to Atahualpa 3.7.15 kuttus Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 1 Jul 19, 2014 07:51 PM
[SOLVED] After upgrade, header and menu missing on only some pages, only on Firefox LilyBurbank New Versions, & Updating 2 Dec 28, 2013 02:08 PM
Admin bar missing after upgrade. gnosis New Versions, & Updating 4 Dec 15, 2013 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.