Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » Forum Usage » Forum How-To »

Please help. How to create a double navigation bar?

Old Apr 15, 2010, 04:52 AM
hankypanky

2 posts · Apr 2010
Hello! I've been having a bit of trouble trying to create a double navigation bar for my homepage. I'm still working on the wordpress blog, so unfortunately don't have any link to provide as it's under construction and password protected by CSS jockey Plugin. And to make things worse, I'm a newbie and a "terrible" creator of codes. I can manipulate with them, but I can't really create anything new. I have a 8 categories excluding the home tab, and each of those categories have around 5 sub-categories under them.

I wanted to create a navigation tab just like the one in www.gq-magazine.co.uk . In my blog home page, the categories show up on a horizontal navigation bar right now. I've looked all over the web for a code similar to GQ's, but the best I could come up with is a navigation bar where the categories are present, and when I hover the mouse pointer over them, the subcategories show up in the space below the horizontal navigational bar. But when I move the pointer away, the subcategories don't show up. I checked everywhere and couldn't find a clue.

The code that I'm using right now in my header.php file (creates a horizontal menu, and shows the subcategories only when I hover on the Categories tab) is the one I've pasted below.

</div><!-- #header -->

<div id="menu">
<div class="pads">

<ul id="topnav">