Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Page & Category Menu Bars »

[SOLVED] Both Blog page and Static Front page highlight when Blog page selected


  #1  
Old May 27, 2009, 03:23 PM
lomaprietapottery
 
3 posts · May 2009
I know this is something I am not doing right as other do not seem to have this problem -- but can not figure it out. I have set a static front page (Intro) and a page for posts (blog) in WP. When blog page is selected/active both Intro and Blog are highlighted in the page menu. For all other pages, only the page selected/active is highlighted. Here is the link to my-in progress site http://lomaprietapottery.com.

Forgot to mention - I am using Atahualpa 3.3.3 and WP 2.7.1

By the way, love using this theme. Thanks.

Last edited by lomaprietapottery; May 28, 2009 at 12:32 PM. Reason: Forgot to add config. details
  #2  
Old May 28, 2009, 06:42 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
This is a bug, thanks for finding. Is fixed now for 3.3.4. To fix it in your 3.3.3 edit functions/bfa_header_config.php and replace in line 12

PHP Code:
if (is_front_page() OR is_home()) { 
with

PHP Code:
if (is_front_page()) { 
  #3  
Old May 29, 2009, 12:35 AM
lomaprietapottery
 
3 posts · May 2009
Made the replacement and all works as expected. Thanks!
  #4  
Old Jul 1, 2009, 10:40 AM
WebWeaver
 
28 posts · May 2009
Nevada City, CA
Send a message via Skype™ to WebWeaver
Doing this broke my theme - I had to replace the config file with the original.

I think I will just update to the next version.

Thanks.
  #5  
Old Jul 10, 2012, 04:38 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
I am having the same issue, but with a later version of Atathualpa, 3.7.7. I went to the php file, but line 12 is completely different code now. Help?
  #6  
Old Jul 10, 2012, 07:32 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,551 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
without the url, I can't help you.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 12:01 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
http://www.andrearussell.com/new_site is the URL
  #8  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 01:24 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,551 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Are you using the atahualpa menu or a custom wordpress menu?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 01:46 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
atahualpa menu
  #10  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 02:11 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,551 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
the link you provided goes no where
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 02:15 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
Here is the link that shows both the blog and the home tabs being highlighted at the same time.
http://andrearussell.com/new_site/in...n-off-the-mat/
It should work, the site is live and has been accessed from many different computers.
  #12  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 03:47 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,551 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
have you modified any of the theme code?
What happens if you temporallary disable all plugins?
go to ato->export/import settings, export your settings and attach them to a reply.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 04:17 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
I've attached the settings file.
Deactivating the plugins does not fix it. It actually adds another home page to the page menu.
I have only added html/css inserts to the theme code. I am using a child theme of atahualpa.
Attached Files
File Type: txt ata-andrearussellcom-20120712.txt (17.3 KB, 584 views)
  #14  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 04:54 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,551 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
I am using a child theme of atahualpa
Why? What child theme.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 05:24 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
A child theme I made so that if I did ever change any of the theme code and updated later then it wouldn't affect my changes. I read it in a blog a couple years ago, made the child theme and have been using it ever since.

http://codex.wordpress.org/Child_Themes
  #16  
Old Jul 12, 2012, 05:56 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,551 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Atahualpa isn't like most themes. The theme options are stored in the database so when you update the theme they carry forward. 99% of the time there is no need to touch the actual theme code.

I imported your settings and get no duplicate items selected, there fore I can only assume that it has something to do with some thing in the child theme you created.

I would suggest activating the main theme and see what happens.

Remember if you use a child theme and nthe base theme code changes, you have to update your child theme code.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #17  
Old Jul 13, 2012, 01:20 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
Well, I exported my settings from the child theme, activated Atahualpa 3.7.7, imported the settings, and the double highlighting persists. I'm at a loss as to what to try next.
  #18  
Old Jul 13, 2012, 02:20 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,551 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
did you try removing anything in the CSS Inserts options?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #19  
Old Jul 13, 2012, 02:41 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
I think the problem is that for whatever reason the current_page_item class is being applied to both the home page and the blog page at the same time. I'm attaching a screenshot to show you what I mean. I don't know how to remove the current_page_item class from the home page <li> on the blog page.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-07-13 at 2.39.13 PM.jpg
Views:	526
Size:	165.4 KB
ID:	1943  
  #20  
Old Jul 13, 2012, 04:03 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,551 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
1) What do you have set at dashboard->settings->reading->Front page displays?

2) Do you have a page called 'Home'? if so go to ato->MENU 1 (Page Menu)->Home link in Page Menu Bar and blank that option out
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #21  
Old Jul 13, 2012, 05:58 PM
rogemj23
 
18 posts · Nov 2010
Appleton, WI
Yes, I have a page called home. I had excluded that page from the list of pages, and had Home in the 'Home link in Page Menu Bar' setting.

When I switched those, removed Home from 'Home link in Page Menu Bar' setting on the Page Menu page, and included the page called home in the list of pages the double highlighting went away.

Thank you for your help! I will making a donation for your efforts.

Bookmarks

Tags
highlight, page menu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing page title from static front page in 3.41 or 3.42? whomadewho New Versions, & Updating 2 Jul 13, 2009 11:54 PM
Page menu bar static, hover, selected acting strange Brussells Page & Category Menu Bars 1 May 16, 2009 06:14 AM
[SOLVED] Adding borders to sides of blog with blog centred in middle of page rhymes Page & Category Menu Bars 1 May 16, 2009 12:38 AM
Static Front Page, blog another page? sherimcgregor Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 2 Mar 22, 2009 02:16 PM
Inserting Excerpts into Static Front Page Mac Excerpts, Read more, Pagination 0 Feb 28, 2009 05:30 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.