Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click Here To DONATE! Support the theme development, get more attention and additional benefits based on your donation level. Your forum name will be highlighted.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Sidebars & Widgets »

[SOLVED] javascript in widget not working


Build custom WP THEMES, without
coding.
Click here for THEMEFRAME

From the author of Atahualpa, the #1 most
downloaded (700,000+) theme @ wordpress.org
  #1  
Old May 24, 2010, 08:43 AM
Emanuele
 
10 posts · Sep 2009
Hi,

Can anyone tell me why when i put this javascript code in the text of the widget sidebar area, it delete all the content of all pages and of the other sidebar. Only the header and this sidebar remains!!!
This is the code:
<Script charset ="Shift_JIS" src ="Http://chabudai.sakura.ne.jp/blogparts/honehoneclock/honehone_clock_wh.js"> </ Script>

Thanks to everybody
Emanuele

Last edited by Emanuele; May 24, 2010 at 09:02 AM.
  #2  
Old May 24, 2010, 09:12 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,269 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
what is happening is that as the page is being dynamically built, that code is causing an error ending the building of the page. Check your error logs on the server to see if you can find out what the error is.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old May 24, 2010, 09:39 AM
Emanuele
 
10 posts · Sep 2009
Thank you very much for your quick reply.
I have no idea how to check my error log!!!
any tips?
Thanks
  #4  
Old May 24, 2010, 09:43 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,269 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
it's something on teh server. You could try this, go to the theme editor and edit index.php and add
HTML Code:
error_reporting(E_ALL ^ E_NOTICE);
error_reporting(E_ERROR | E_WARNING | E_PARSE | E_NOTICE);
error_reporting(-1);
as the second line of index.php and see if anything shows up on the screen,
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old May 24, 2010, 09:54 AM
Emanuele
 
10 posts · Sep 2009
Now it's quite messy!!!
www.ashtangayogaoxford.org
  #6  
Old May 24, 2010, 10:01 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,269 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
is the java code in?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old May 24, 2010, 10:02 AM
Emanuele
 
10 posts · Sep 2009
no! it's not in the sidebar
should i put it in?
  #8  
Old May 24, 2010, 10:06 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,269 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
well the error won't show if the code causing it is not there....
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old May 24, 2010, 10:10 AM
Emanuele
 
10 posts · Sep 2009
I put the code in the widget text of the left sidebar and this is what happen...
www.ashtangayogaoxford.org

thankx thankx
  #10  
Old May 24, 2010, 10:25 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,269 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
ok, take the code out (the java and the code you put in index.php) I was hoping it might show something but it doesn't
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old May 24, 2010, 10:28 AM
Emanuele
 
10 posts · Sep 2009
Thank you very much for all your effort. It's much appreciated!
If you have any other tips are all welcome.

I'm going to donate.

Thankx
Emanuele
  #12  
Old May 24, 2010, 10:41 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,269 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
you have an error in the way you have typed the code. Use this
HTML Code:
<script charset="Shift_JIS" src="http://chabudai.sakura.ne.jp/blogparts/honehoneclock/honehone_clock_tr.js"></script>
you had a space between the back slash and the word script at the end that I think was causing your problem.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old May 24, 2010, 03:14 PM
Emanuele
 
10 posts · Sep 2009
You are amazing!
You can fix anything.

Thankx

Bookmarks

Tags
javascript, widget problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Javascript not working in widget sidebar marj318 Sidebars & Widgets 4 Apr 30, 2010 05:59 AM
Following widget not working properly, followers working marced Sidebars & Widgets 0 Apr 4, 2010 05:01 AM
WP Menu Manager javascript not working? devarah Plugins & Atahualpa 1 Feb 7, 2010 05:37 PM
RSS Widget not working goodshoeday Sidebars & Widgets 2 Jan 21, 2010 12:47 PM
New widget areas working at all? paulae Sidebars & Widgets 3 Sep 21, 2009 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.