Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click Here To DONATE! Support the theme development, get more attention and additional benefits based on your donation level. Your forum name will be highlighted.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

wp-admin screen blank after login


Build custom WP THEMES, without
coding.
Click here for THEMEFRAME

From the author of Atahualpa, the #1 most
downloaded (700,000+) theme @ wordpress.org
  #1  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 09:00 AM
jasonchamb
 
25 posts · Sep 2009
I know there is another thread with a similar problem, but I think that they are different based on what worked for them and not for me, so I've started a new thread. I'm using wp 2.86 and ata 3.4.4. When I login it takes me to a blank wp-admin page. I can get past it by going to /wp-admin/post.php or edit.php or pretty much any other admin page from the white page, but naturally I'd like to get it sorted in case its a symptom of another problem, and also to make usage easier for other users. It's not a browser issue, i'm pretty sure, since I've tried a couple and it does the same thing, and i've got plenty of php memory (64). Here's the site. Any advice?

Many thanks
JC
  #2  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 10:09 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,315 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
if you can get into the back end, check the settings at dashboard->settings->general and look at the 'WordPress address (URL)' and the 'Blog address (URL)' options - make sure they are correct
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Dec 9, 2009 at 01:01 PM.
  #3  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 11:20 AM
jasonchamb
 
25 posts · Sep 2009
should they be anything other than http://threeguysonebook.com ?
  #4  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 12:15 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,315 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
does you dns point to the folder wordpress is installed in? if so, then yes they should be the same
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 12:52 PM
jasonchamb
 
25 posts · Sep 2009
yes, so that's not the issue.
  #6  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:08 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,315 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
well since using .../wp-admin/index.php brings you right to the logon but using ../wp-admin hangs, I'd suspect that this has something to do with htaccess
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:14 PM
jasonchamb
 
25 posts · Sep 2009
ok. I haven't edited it for any reason. Any thoughts?
  #8  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:38 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,315 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
to see if wp-admin/index.php is actually running, edit it and on line 2 put in
HTML Code:
echo '<strong>debug: in index.php.</strong>';
and see what shows up. this will tell you if this module runs.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 02:13 PM
jasonchamb
 
25 posts · Sep 2009
I've put that in...how do I know if the module is running? Everything is the same, as far as I can tell.
  #10  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 02:15 PM
jasonchamb
 
25 posts · Sep 2009
I have this message:

debug: in index.php.
Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/jasonch2/public_html/threeguysonebook.com/wp-admin/index.php:2) in /home/jasonch2/public_html/threeguysonebook.com/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-automatic-upgrade/wordpress-automatic-upgrade.php on line 121
  #11  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 04:57 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,315 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
Hmm teh header already sent message usually means there are some non blank characters in one of our modules at the end.

If this was me, I would down load a new copy of Wordpress to my computer, and delete teh wp-content forler from it. Then I would connect to the server via FTP and delete everything but the wp-config.php and the wp-content directory. Next, I'd FTP up the new copy of wordpress and see what that does.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #12  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 05:01 PM
jasonchamb
 
25 posts · Sep 2009
Thanks JD. Let me get this straight, so I don't screw it up:
from the new WP, delete the wp-content folder
from the old server version delete everything except wp-config and wp-content
upload the new one.
Is that it? I'll try it tonight. I'll assume I should backup everything first, of course.
  #13  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 05:08 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,315 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
you've got it. The only things on the site you need to keep is the wp-config.php because you have that customized for yout database (name, userid, password) and there isn't one shipped with wordpress, just a wp-config-sample.php and the wp-content folder because that has your plugins, themes, uploads. Both of these are things you want to back up along with your database - but this won't effect your database at all - you just should back it up on a perodic basis.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #14  
Old Dec 9, 2009, 05:20 PM
jasonchamb
 
25 posts · Sep 2009
OK, thanks. I'll try it tonight or early tomorrow when traffic should be down, just in case. I do backup weekly, so I'm pretty secure.

Bookmarks

Tags
admin, blank, login, white screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] wp-admin login fails, changed default directory roekoe Page & Category Menu Bars 2 Nov 14, 2009 10:37 AM
Everytime I add new post or comment, screen goes blank??!? wrastler Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 11 Nov 2, 2009 07:26 AM
[SOLVED] WP Admin login problem paulae Installing & running WordPress 2 Oct 2, 2009 11:37 AM
Lost my 'site admin' login on the right sidebar thotlady Header configuration & styling 1 Sep 1, 2009 03:18 PM
[SOLVED] help! i cant login to my wp-admin itsawrapjas Forum How-To 5 Jul 7, 2009 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.