Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

switching or changing themes?

Old Sep 11, 2014, 08:31 AM
pmasson

2 posts · Sep 2014
Hi there,

I'm new to wordpress, I've been reading over the documentation... there's lots. I have some html experience but never used this type of software before.

I am basically taking over a website for someone else who has left and am looking at changing the style and look of what is currently there.

Is there a way that I can work on making changes to the current website and view my changes without making it active until I have completed everything? I don't want to try something and find out it is active online to everyone.

Thank you
Old Sep 11, 2014, 08:51 AM
juggledad

23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
The best way to do this is to create a playgroud site - a copy of the current site - and make changes there to see their effect tehn finally make the changes on the real site.

and don't forget to BACKUP BACKUP BACKUP
Old Sep 11, 2014, 11:59 AM
pmasson

2 posts · Sep 2014
Thanks for the info, is there an icon or something in the dashboard that I'm not seeing to create a backup playground that I can use? And how would I open it up in wordpress?
Old Sep 11, 2014, 01:21 PM
juggledad

23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome