Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Header configuration & styling »

Full width header not full width


  #1  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 11:05 AM
gr870sfunk's Avatar
gr870sfunk
 
110 posts · Mar 2011
Montgomery, AL
http://www.waltonhickman.com/
WordPress 3.9.1
ATA 3.7.15

For some reason my full width header has a space on the right side about 15-20px wide. The space, however, is not on the full width footer.

I have looked thru the code and not found anywhere that could be giving me, what I can assume is a righthand margin. The space ends up creating a horizontal scroll bar at the bottom and it looks bush league :P

I've got a coming soon plugin on, so I probably need to give admin access for the issue to be properly addressed.

__________________
"I don't talk things, sir...I talk the meaning of things. I sit here and know I'm alive." - Prof. Faber from Fahrenheit 451
  #2  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 11:15 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
website not viewable...get a coming soon
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 11:26 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
it's full width for me - that looks like the scroll bar

I shut off the 'sticky footer' so look now
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Jul 28, 2014 at 11:29 AM.
  #4  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 11:37 AM
gr870sfunk's Avatar
gr870sfunk
 
110 posts · Mar 2011
Montgomery, AL
I am still seeing the gap on the top right. Additionally, it's like the max-width (set to 1000px) isn't working either.

I don't want to have the scrollbar across the bottom.
__________________
"I don't talk things, sir...I talk the meaning of things. I sit here and know I'm alive." - Prof. Faber from Fahrenheit 451
  #5  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 11:58 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
what browser are you using?
I'm seeing the vertical scroll bar not the horizontal one
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #6  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 01:00 PM
gr870sfunk's Avatar
gr870sfunk
 
110 posts · Mar 2011
Montgomery, AL
I am using Chrome, but I have another site built on ATA that has full header and footer and it doesn't have the scrollbar.

http://www.campbellguin.com
__________________
"I don't talk things, sir...I talk the meaning of things. I sit here and know I'm alive." - Prof. Faber from Fahrenheit 451
  #7  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 01:42 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
What are your monitor settings?
Do you have zoom on or increased the font size?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #8  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 02:06 PM
gr870sfunk's Avatar
gr870sfunk
 
110 posts · Mar 2011
Montgomery, AL
My main monitor is 1920 x 1200. I haven't had any issues with sites before though and i've had my screen res set at that for years.

No zooming, etc...
__________________
"I don't talk things, sir...I talk the meaning of things. I sit here and know I'm alive." - Prof. Faber from Fahrenheit 451
  #9  
Old Jul 28, 2014, 05:19 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Don't you see te vertical scroll bar? Here is what I see
Click image for larger version

Name:	wh.jpg
Views:	313
Size:	44.1 KB
ID:	2583
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Jul 29, 2014, 07:19 AM
gr870sfunk's Avatar
gr870sfunk
 
110 posts · Mar 2011
Montgomery, AL
This is what I am seeing, regardless of how large I make my browser.

__________________
"I don't talk things, sir...I talk the meaning of things. I sit here and know I'm alive." - Prof. Faber from Fahrenheit 451
  #11  
Old Jul 29, 2014, 09:08 AM
gr870sfunk's Avatar
gr870sfunk
 
110 posts · Mar 2011
Montgomery, AL
I'm wondering if I should just punt on this install and start with a fresh one. Thoughts?
__________________
"I don't talk things, sir...I talk the meaning of things. I sit here and know I'm alive." - Prof. Faber from Fahrenheit 451
  #12  
Old Jul 29, 2014, 09:44 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
have you tried looking at it on another machine?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Jul 29, 2014, 09:48 AM
gr870sfunk's Avatar
gr870sfunk
 
110 posts · Mar 2011
Montgomery, AL
I had a friend in NYC try it on her PC. She is seeing the same problem I am.
__________________
"I don't talk things, sir...I talk the meaning of things. I sit here and know I'm alive." - Prof. Faber from Fahrenheit 451
  #14  
Old Jul 29, 2014, 10:17 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Ahhhh I see, it shows it you scroll to the right - I wasn't doing that. Let me look again
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Jul 29, 2014, 10:31 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
fixed it. I had to add
HTML Code:
div#header.full-width {
    width: 102%;
}
to the css inserts
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #16  
Old Jul 31, 2014, 07:52 AM
gr870sfunk's Avatar
gr870sfunk
 
110 posts · Mar 2011
Montgomery, AL
Thanks for your help JD! I appreciate it.

Out of curiosity, why did you have to add that? Any idea what caused it?
__________________
"I don't talk things, sir...I talk the meaning of things. I sit here and know I'm alive." - Prof. Faber from Fahrenheit 451
  #17  
Old Jul 31, 2014, 08:34 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
Out of curiosity, why did you have to add that? Any idea what caused it
nope, I didn't spend that much of my time. Just found a fix and gave it to you.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Bookmarks

Tags
full width footer, full width header

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want a full width header, fixed width content and a background image tsheridan Header configuration & styling 5 Jan 29, 2013 02:46 PM
[SOLVED] Full width header with fixed width image and background color WilliamNavidson Header configuration & styling 4 Jun 10, 2011 02:13 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.