Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click Here To DONATE! Support the theme development, get more attention and additional benefits based on your donation level. Your forum name will be highlighted.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Header configuration & styling »

Problem Atahualpa : Remove "Permalink to" from <a title="


Build custom WP THEMES, without
coding.
Click here for THEMEFRAME

From the author of Atahualpa, the #1 most
downloaded (700,000+) theme @ wordpress.org
  #1  
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:36 PM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
I want to delete: "permalink to"
so I changed bfa_post_parts.php in this way
pastebin

Unfortunately I get this strange error:
the end of the title appears 2> or 1>
home:


post


and also deleting the changes the error persists.

I trust in your help.
thank you very much

Last edited by teresax; Feb 7, 2013 at 12:39 PM.
  #2  
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:39 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,107 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
What happens if you upload a fresh copy of bfa_post_parts.php?
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #3  
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:41 PM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
yes, that's right. in this way the problem disappears.

but why?
how can I fix this?

Last edited by teresax; Feb 7, 2013 at 12:43 PM.
  #4  
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:26 PM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
ok maybe there is some bug somewhere?

I reviewed the code ... (I am an amateur) "I'm not a programmer"

I deleted ">" from these line:

line 37


line 40


line 85


......and I resolved with regard to the ">"
now remains to understand where these numbers come out 1-2 ?

pastebin

N.B. sorry for my English.

Last edited by teresax; Feb 7, 2013 at 02:36 PM.
  #5  
Old Feb 7, 2013, 03:10 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
What exactly are you trying to accomplish? Can you give a description of what you want to do, there maybe an eas way to do it.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #6  
Old Feb 8, 2013, 04:40 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
I want to remove just the text, "permalink to" beginning of the title


  #7  
Old Feb 8, 2013, 06:00 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
do you want the post title to show when you hover over it
or doy want nothing to show when you hover over the post title?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #8  
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:38 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
I want to also remove it from the source of the page:

  #9  
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:58 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
I understand that, but do you want to remove the page title that shows on the hover?
currently it shows as 'Permanant Link to SomePost'. So do you
1) want it to show as 'SomePost' or
2) Have no hover effect at all so nothing will show?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Feb 8, 2013, 08:58 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
I want everything to stay as it is.
but I want to show the exact title.without """permanent link to"""

I hope you understand me-
  #11  
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:00 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
you have two options
1) if you are using a po file for translation, you can set that string to return nothing
or
2) you need to edit the code but all you need do is remove the text so you would change
HTML Code:
<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="<?php _e('Permanent Link to ','atahualpa') . the_title_attribute('echo=1') ?>">
to
HTML Code:
<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="<?php _e('','atahualpa') . the_title_attribute('echo=1') ?>">
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #12  
Old Feb 9, 2013, 01:36 PM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
it seems obvious that we have not understood ...
I've already made ​​this change ...
see first code (pastebin)

This change creates a BUG.

what you see in my posts I've written before.

Among the other .. any changes to bfa_post_parts.php
creates the problem that I specified above

Last edited by teresax; Feb 9, 2013 at 01:41 PM.
  #13  
Old Feb 9, 2013, 02:00 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
your problem is that you removed some '>' that are needed.

download a fresh copy of the theme, unzip it and just remove the text 'Permanent Link to ' and save teh file and then replace the version on your server
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #14  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:07 PM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
nothing to do, does not work ...
I get the error that I explained in the first post!
seems to be a bug in the theme??

the end of the title appears 2> or 1>
home:


post




I proceeded as follows:
1) I deleted everything from my server.
2) I downloaded and installed wordpress.
3) I downloaded and installed the theme
4) No plugin installed
5) I changed as you said;
this:
HTML Code:
<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="<?php _e('Permanent Link to ','atahualpa') . the_title_attribute('echo=1') ?>">
with this:
HTML Code:
<a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="<?php _e('','atahualpa') . the_title_attribute('echo=1') ?>">
the strange thing is that even if I remove the change the problem persists.
I put a new bfa_post_parts.php to solve the problem...

so it is impossible to remove Permanent Link to?

Last edited by teresax; Feb 12, 2013 at 03:21 PM.
  #15  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:30 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,107 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
The edit works fine for me.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #16  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 04:26 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
you must have taken out too much when you did the edit.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #17  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:48 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
nothing to do lords,: (
I tried on multiple servers, even in localhost.
but that annoying problem always occurs.

my configuration on the server
wordpress 3.5.1
Atahualpa 3.7.10
Ubuntu - PHP 5.3 - mysql


localhost:
Mac
xampp 1.7.3
wordpress 3.5.1
Atahualpa 3.7.10
  #18  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 07:11 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
you must have taken out too much when you did the edit.

I have not removed too much code, even though I did not throw anything happens.
This problem also occurs by making a small change and then cancel it and save the bfa_post_parts.php
I am attaching a picture of the original bfa_post_parts.php made ​​on dreamweaver

Link:
http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/7...13at135353.jpg
  #19  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 07:25 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
what are you using to edit the code? I hope it is a text editor and not a word processor.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #20  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 07:31 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
what are you using to edit the code? I hope it is a text editor and not a word processor.
Adobe Dreamweaver
http://www.adobe.com/it/products/dreamweaver.html
  #21  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 07:52 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
What prompted you to use dreamweaver and not a text editor?
and why did you add an '>' after the '</h'?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Feb 13, 2013 at 07:57 AM.
  #22  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:03 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
What prompted you to use dreamweaver and not a text editor?

...because I've used for years ....




well now I removed the quotes angular
pastebin

now I have to find the reference to those numbers at the end of the title: 2 and 1 (see picture above)
  #23  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:07 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
and why did you add an '>' after the '</h'?
this I would like to hear from you
  #24  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:18 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,314 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
Quote:
this I would like to hear from you
get a fresh copy of bfa_post_parts.php and in a text editor (DO NOT US DREAMWEAVER)
look at line 37 and then look at line 37 in the code that you saved from Dreamweaver and tell me the differences?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #25  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:45 AM
teresax
 
15 posts · Feb 2013
we are very happy.
I will not be using anymore dreamweaver for php!. NEVER.
and I thank you for enlightened. Do not spend more money for adobe dreamweaver.
I spent too much time looking for a problem that DOES NOT EXIST!
soon I will make a small donation to bfa forum.
thank you.
One question, who can I talk to you to develop a front end site? safe, fast, and without any bottlenecks?
what I need: entry to the site fron tend, private messages, user profiles, posting messages to users,
as it would cost me?

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] how to remove &quot;display:block&quot; from &quot;div.widget ul li{&quot; floralprints Sidebars & Widgets 1 Sep 17, 2012 07:35 AM
[SOLVED] How to remove title tag/text when hovering over &quot;Recent Posts&quot; in sidebar wi rvconnelly Sidebars & Widgets 4 May 23, 2011 01:57 PM
[SOLVED] How to remove &quot;&quot; being added to page title? studioelle Header configuration & styling 5 Apr 15, 2010 04:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.