Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

[SOLVED] Home page stripping tags! Any help?


  #1  
Old Jul 31, 2012, 12:32 PM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
I am having trouble with this site:

http://www.michaelkonik.com

The paragraph tags are being stripped from the home page, but are showing correctly if you click "Read more-->".

Here are the tags that I have listed in "Don't strip these tags" from CONFIGURE EXCERPTS:

<p><h1><h2><h3><h4><h5><h6><a><span><em><br><br /><br/>

I have home page set to only show excerpts. Any ideas? Many thanks.

TB
  #2  
Old Jul 31, 2012, 02:29 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Are you using manual or automatic excerpts?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Aug 15, 2012, 09:50 AM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
I am using automatic excerpts.
  #4  
Old Aug 15, 2012, 11:50 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
go to ato->export/import setthings and do an export and attach the file to a reply
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Aug 23, 2012, 09:09 AM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
Sorry for the delayed response. Exported file is attached. Many thanks for all of your help!
Attached Files
File Type: txt ata-michaelkonikcom-20120823.txt (39.4 KB, 655 views)
  #6  
Old Aug 23, 2012, 02:33 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
try disabling all your plugins and see what happens
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Aug 24, 2012, 06:53 AM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
Sorry- I should have said this at the beginning. I have tried disabling all of the plugins without any success. Other ideas? Many thanks.

TB
  #8  
Old Aug 24, 2012, 07:06 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I'd have to take a look. Importing your settings works fine on my install so there must be something else in the mix....
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 08:06 AM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
I really do appreciate all of your help with this!
  #10  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 08:53 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
If you send me a PM with a admin id/pw I could take a look when I have some time today.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 09:58 AM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
Done. Thanks so much. Donation on it's way.
  #12  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 01:08 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I see from the dashboard->settings->reading that your 'Front page displays' is not 'Your latest posts'. Looking at that page I see lots of short codes.

If you set your 'Front page displays' to 'Your latest posts' the <p> etc are all handled correctly.

so...What is processing all those codes?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 06:30 PM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
The posts are being processed by a plugin called "Add Widgets To Pages", but if you click on a post to read the full version, the paragraph breaks and html items are all correct.
  #14  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 06:33 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
what widgets are you using in the widget areas that plugin creates?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 06:42 PM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
Recent Posts Plus: Thought Of The Day

Recent Posts Plus: Previous Thoughts

Featured Page Widget: Recent News

Recent Posts Plus: Upcoming Events
  #16  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 06:43 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
BTW, there is a banner on the Wordpress page for 'Add Widgets to Page' which says
Quote:
This plugin hasn't been updated in over 2 years. It may no longer be maintained or supported and may have compatibility issues when used with more recent versions of WordPress.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #17  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 06:46 PM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
Yes, thanks. We just thought it might be a theme problem since it's only happening on the homepage and is working everywhere else.
  #18  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 06:54 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
The theme is not build ing the home page, the widget is. The 'Don't strip these tags' option applys when the theme is processing posts as excerpts. I suspect the 'Recent Posts Plus' is stripping the HTML from the post.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #19  
Old Aug 27, 2012, 07:03 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
just did some digging and yes this is the plugin's issue because it is having WordPress handle the excerpt and WordPress by default strips the HTML tags.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #20  
Old Aug 30, 2012, 07:51 AM
twb716
 
33 posts · Jun 2010
I've actually sorted it out. It was the TinyMCE Advanced plugin that was giving me problems. There is a tick box that enables/disables tag stripping. I had tried that once before, but didn't realize that you then have to click "Update" on every post on the homepage in order for the changes to appear.

I cannot thank you enough for all of the terrific support.

Best,

TB

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Prevent html stripping on archives/excerpts bswb97 Center area post/pages 2 Jul 17, 2011 06:25 PM
[SOLVED] Multiple current-menu-item tags on home page sawyerjw Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 5 May 5, 2011 05:13 PM
Home page - 4 to 6 containers on home page based on category hmeguro Center area post/pages 1 Oct 11, 2010 06:50 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.