Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

Atahualpa Error Somewhere with JavaScript


  #1  
Old Nov 21, 2011, 08:12 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
Hey everyone,

Thanks so much for such a great theme! I am hoping to continue using Atahualpa, however I need to get past one problem first. I am using a plugin called SlideDeck and it has been generating an error with the Atahualpa theme. You can see the error on this page: http://journal.georgetown.edu/homepage. Debugging the page, apparently the theme (because I don't get this error when I revert to the default theme; disabling all of my plugins does not prevent the error from occurring) is causing one of the jQuery functions to not be recognized. The plugin developers redirected me to you guys, and I would greatly appreciate any help you may have! I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Have a great night,
Jeff
  #2  
Old Nov 21, 2011, 11:39 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
I'm not sure what's happening on your site. I installed and added a slider to a page and all worked fine. What version of Atahualpa and WordPress are you on?
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #3  
Old Nov 21, 2011, 11:59 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
Thanks for your reply! I am on WordPress 3.2.1 and Atahualpa 3.7.1. Could it have to do with jQuery? I've read a lot about that and am unsure if my site's code reflects an accurate instance of jQuery. I appreciate your help.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon,
Jeff
  #4  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 07:48 AM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
I am not sure how to troubleshoot as it works fine for me. Perhaps it has something to do with the content of the slider. What is throwing me off is that you said it worked with the Twenty Eleven theme.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #5  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 10:46 AM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
Thanks for your reply! The content of the slider is perfectly normal in terms of how the code is supposed to be used. Does anything about the errors I've attached tell you anything? I'm quite perplexed, and I would really like to know why this function is turning up undefined. Many thanks!

Last edited by GJIA; Nov 22, 2011 at 04:22 PM.
  #6  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 01:18 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
Where did you get that screenshot from?
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #7  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 01:22 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
Safari's Developer mode --> Show Error Console

Thanks!
  #8  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 01:52 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
I do not see any errors on my test installation and do see them on yours. The page also does not look right. When you view in Twenty Eleven does the page render properly?
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #9  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 02:11 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
Yes it does render properly when I view it in any theme other than Atahualpa. What could the problem be? I would really like to continue using Atahualpa, but it's really necessary that this SlideDeck renders properly. This seems to be very odd. I appreciate any and all advice -- thanks again.
  #10  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 02:14 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,572 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Are you using the free or pro version?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 02:17 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
I'm not sure which component you're specifically referring to, but I'm pretty sure we're on the free version of most appliances.
  #12  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 02:33 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,572 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I was asking about the plugin
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 02:34 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
Yes, I'm using the free version.
  #14  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 03:20 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,572 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
You are going to have to document your settings, I don't get teh same error. The code showing the error is at teh end of the page and that doesn't show up when I use it, so At this point without access to the site, a copy of it or the exact steps you took to install and customize it, there is not much I can do.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 03:36 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
Of course, I understand you. It's important to me that this bug gets fixed, so I'm willing to work with you to figure out what's causing the problem. To start, I've documented the source code (with WordPress's debug-mode enabled) with the bug (in Atahualpa) and without the bug (using the default theme). Please let me know if this helps, and if not, from where else we could try to start isolating the problem. Thanks!

Last edited by GJIA; Nov 22, 2011 at 04:22 PM.
  #16  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 04:14 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,572 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Try saving those file with a text editor, not a wordprocessor. The are showing up as if they are RTF fiels.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #17  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 04:22 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
I am seeing those as .txt files that I saved through a text editor (Mac TextEdit) -- the forum rejected the upload as .html files too. Here's another attempt!
Attached Files
File Type: txt Atahualpa Home with Bug.txt (134.8 KB, 371 views)
File Type: txt Default Home without Bug.txt (29.6 KB, 358 views)
  #18  
Old Nov 22, 2011, 05:51 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,572 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I need to know how you created your slider show. I put one in a page and it works fine, so it has to be some setting in the plugin and hte whay you created your show.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Nov 25, 2011 at 09:27 PM.
  #19  
Old Nov 25, 2011, 09:05 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
I haven't set up a show that is too out of the ordinary -- it's just two images that I set up as a test. It works fine in "Preview" mode from the SlideDeck menu, but then not past there. If it's of any consolation, I also have installed the plugin "WordPress Popular Posts" which has not actualized any data yet. Any assistance would be much appreciated! Thanks and happy Thanksgiving!
  #20  
Old Nov 28, 2011, 02:04 PM
GJIA
 
11 posts · Nov 2011
Hello,

The other plugin I have installed has begun to actualize data. There is simply a problem with Atahualpa and SlideDeck. I am very eager to solve this problem. I appreciate any and all help. Thank you!
  #21  
Old Nov 28, 2011, 02:24 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,572 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
without knowing how you created your slide show - step by step instructions - I can't help. There are too many possible situations and the one I tried works fine.

So, please provide a detailed script of what you do to create teh issue and make sure to test it so you recreate teh problem at will. If you can provide that, then I might be able to help you.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Javascript error jjaime Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 4 Oct 6, 2011 06:08 PM
[SOLVED] Google ads javascript in widgets no longer works with Atahualpa 3.6.7 karesansui Sidebars & Widgets 2 Jun 17, 2011 01:44 AM
[SOLVED] Adding javascript to atahualpa DanDan Forum How-To 8 May 28, 2011 07:37 PM
[SOLVED] Custom Javascript/jQuery Popup not working in Atahualpa. Factorfiction Page & Category Menu Bars 1 Jan 30, 2011 03:20 PM
[SOLVED] Javascript Error in IE8 Ber|Art Header configuration & styling 1 Oct 31, 2010 02:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.