Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » New Versions, & Updating »

Just updated today and now post headlines repeat and repeat.


  #1  
Old Aug 12, 2011, 03:33 PM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
I've tried changing the options on the dashboard to remove putting the name on multipost pages to no avail. How to fix this?

Also, there is no place to put comments on the front page. The user has to go to each post (with the repeating title) to find the comment box at the bottom.

Would love to go back to the version that I replaced today.

Please give me explicit directions. Remember how limited I am about code? Well, unfortunately nothing has changed.

Thanks.
  #2  
Old Aug 12, 2011, 03:38 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
Did you apply ALL the patches for 3.6.7?
  • PATCH 367-01: Odd effects when 'CSS: Compress' = 'Yes'
  • PATCH 367-02 is incorporated in PATCH 367-04
  • PATCH 367-03: PHP errors when adding widget areas in index.php
  • PATCH 367-04: Hovering over a Post/Page title only shows "Permanent Link to"
  • PATCH 367-05: Site Title appended after the 'WordPress SEO by Yoast' title
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #3  
Old Aug 12, 2011, 04:09 PM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
forgot to give you my site name: arthritis-alternatives.com.

Titles on the front page are OK. If you click on one you see multiple run together titles.

Also, spaces between some words in heading have been eliminated. How to fix ?

Need to add 'comment' option back to footer after each article.

The good news: this update didn't remove Google Analytics.

Many thanks.
  #4  
Old Aug 12, 2011, 04:11 PM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
Sorry. I didn't see your reply before I sent the last message.

No, I haven't installed patches. Can you tell me how to do it? Where do they go?
  #5  
Old Aug 12, 2011, 05:03 PM
thomascpap
 
1 posts · Aug 2011
Orange County, CA
Send a message via ICQ to thomascpap Send a message via AIM to thomascpap
Hi, just joined for this reason as well since I'm having a similar issue. I also am interested in where the patches go, sorry for being a burden and thank you for the links to the patches!

-Thomas
  #6  
Old Aug 12, 2011, 05:57 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
Did you follow the links I sent. The instructions of how and where are there.

The patches are all just files that you upload to replace the current files that are there.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #7  
Old Aug 13, 2011, 09:24 AM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
I applied the fixes 01 and 04. I now have different problems. The repeating title went away but the site refuses randomly to add the title to a post. Also, I had one - only one - of my private posts print as though it was designated to be published. I couldn't edit the problem away. I finally had to trash it, which worked.

my site it: arthritis-alternatives.com.

What do I need to do?

thanks.
  #8  
Old Aug 13, 2011, 09:31 AM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
thomascpap:

I'm not an expert, obviously, but the patches need to be put into your source code. In my case that is part of wordpress.org which I have hosted by hostmonster.com. I called hostmonster and they told me how to do it.

Just be sure to give them ALL the information, including file and line numbers, about the patches in the reply posted by juggledad and lmilesw.
  #9  
Old Aug 13, 2011, 11:13 AM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
all patches have been installed. no change in problems with posts mentioned above. titles randomly not showing and posts that are 'private' are also showing.

help.
  #10  
Old Aug 13, 2011, 11:43 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
If you go to the actual post (dashboard->post->Edit post) is the title correct there?
Do you have any plugins? If so try temporallary deactivating them all
If you switch to the Twenty-ten theme, does the same thing happen?
can you point to a post/page where the issue happens?

I kept refreshing the page and don't see anything changing.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Aug 13, 2011, 02:35 PM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
If you go to the actual post (dashboard->post->Edit post) is the title correct there? yes. it looks fine except on the public display.

Do you have any plugins? If so try temporallary deactivating them all I deactivated them before I installed the changes and reactivated after. The problem didn't change.

If you switch to the Twenty-ten theme, does the same thing happen? Is that safe to do? I'm afraid of more problems.

can you point to a post/page where the issue happens? It happens with the first post. Do you see a title on your screen that looks like the other post titles? on my screen, the title for the first post is missing. I stuck it in the body as the first line. This happens randomly with my other posts.

I kept refreshing the page and don't see anything changing.

Thanks.
  #12  
Old Aug 13, 2011, 04:35 PM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
Would it help if I copied and pasted the source code with changes here where you can see it?
  #13  
Old Aug 13, 2011, 05:02 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Actually, I'd need to get into the back end. Is there any special characters in the Title?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #14  
Old Aug 14, 2011, 07:50 AM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
There is a colon but that is in many of my post titles that look ok.

Here is the code I transferred for patch 4. I've included the first lines, 1-14, which resemble the patch, and the actual patch, lines 2942-2954. In copies I've made for other things I've found that sometimes a little glitch occurs in a transfer. Do you see anything ?

Thanks.

***************
wp-content->themes->Atahualpa->css.php

**************** Lines 1-14

<?php # error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
#include_once (TEMPLATEPATH . '/functions.php');
global $templateURI, $homeURL;

if ( isset($bfa_ata_preview) OR $bfa_ata['css_external'] == "Inline" OR
( isset($bfa_ata_debug) AND $bfa_ata['allow_debug'] == "Yes" ) ) {
echo '<style type="text/css">';
} else {
header("Content-type: text/css");
}
if ( $bfa_ata['css_compress'] == "Yes" AND
!( $bfa_ata_debug == 1 AND $bfa_ata['allow_debug'] == "Yes" ) ) {
ob_start("bfa_compress_css");
}

************************* Lines 2942-2954


<?php
bfa_incl('html_inserts_css');

if ( $bfa_ata['css_compress'] == "Yes" AND
!($bfa_ata_debug==1 AND $bfa_ata['allow_debug'] == "Yes" ) ) {
ob_end_flush();
}
if ( isset($bfa_ata_preview) OR $bfa_ata['css_external'] == "Inline" OR
($bfa_ata_debug==1 AND $bfa_ata['allow_debug'] == "Yes" ) ) {
echo "</style>\n";
}

?>
  #15  
Old Aug 14, 2011, 09:42 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
?? patch 4 is to bfa_post_parts.php not css.php - I assume you mean patch 1.
if you want me to take a look, send me a pm with a admin ID/PW
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #16  
Old Aug 14, 2011, 02:58 PM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
You are right about my misstatement.

Can I download the update and try again before I put you to a lot of trouble? Any caveats before I do that?
  #17  
Old Aug 14, 2011, 03:37 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Make sure you apply all four (4) patches
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #18  
Old Aug 14, 2011, 04:01 PM
numc
 
1 posts · Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmilesw
Did you apply ALL the patches for 3.6.7?
  • PATCH 367-01: Odd effects when 'CSS: Compress' = 'Yes'
  • PATCH 367-02 is incorporated in PATCH 367-04
  • PATCH 367-03: PHP errors when adding widget areas in index.php
  • PATCH 367-04: Hovering over a Post/Page title only shows "Permanent Link to"
  • PATCH 367-05: Site Title appended after the 'WordPress SEO by Yoast' title
This appears to have worked for me (double title in posts). Thank you
  #19  
Old Aug 15, 2011, 09:59 AM
sjolyjuly
 
70 posts · Mar 2010
Many thanks.

Juggledad: I don't have to apply patch #2 because it is in #4, right?

And I don't have to apply patch #5 if I don't use Yoast?

Where can I find an update that is not a new theme download, which might wipe out my website? Since I updated once the automatic option has gone away.
  #20  
Old Aug 15, 2011, 12:12 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
I don't have to apply patch #2 because it is in #4, right?
correct
Quote:
And I don't have to apply patch #5 if I don't use Yoast?
why not apply it anyway, who knows you might decide to use Yoast in the future and it will save you some grief
Quote:
Where can I find an update that is not a new theme download, which might wipe out my website? Since I updated once the automatic option has gone away.
you mean an update of the theme with all these patches in it? There isn't one. Just down load the patches, unzip them and then upload them to your host. You are just changing the theme code and not touching the database where the info about the site is stored.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Bookmarks

Tags
comments, repeating titles, updated theme

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Atahualpa 3.6.7 Post Titles repeat repeat repeat LGL Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 4 Sep 11, 2011 09:26 PM
[SOLVED] my background image on repeat-x creates a scrollbar - how to get rid of it? mafgirl Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 2 Jul 27, 2011 07:52 AM
Same comments repeat - home page. Eric Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 3 Oct 21, 2010 02:24 PM
background7.png (no repeat but more like 90% width) igabriela Header configuration & styling 1 Aug 12, 2010 04:20 AM
[SOLVED] Sidebar NO repeat background Ber|Art Sidebars & Widgets 1 Jun 21, 2010 03:00 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.