Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Header configuration & styling »

[SOLVED] How to add a banner ad ABOVE the header area?


  #1  
Old Jun 2, 2011, 04:03 AM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
My client wants to add a wide banner ad above her header. Currently it's top nav bar, header, cat nav. The ad would be above everything outside the wrap of the body. Would this be considered an add on bar or widget area? It would need to be centered above everything.

I did search the forum but found nothing that actually answered my question.

Here is the site: http://musingmainiac.com/
  #2  
Old Jun 2, 2011, 04:22 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Add it to the header configuration option as the first item
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Jun 7, 2011, 08:17 PM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
What code would I use for that? In the header config area, I ahve this: %pages %image %cats

What would I put to allow me to add an add code?

EDIT: I created the new widget area, however, even though it shows in the widget area, I cannot add a text widget to it. It's like it's locked closed. Same with the right inner sidebar area. I just updated the theme. WTH?

http://musingmainiac.com/

Last edited by Shan_LSOS; Jun 7, 2011 at 10:06 PM.
  #4  
Old Jun 8, 2011, 03:43 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
What version of Atahualpa and WP?
What is the URL?
Do you have all BUGFIX's for your version applied? (they can be found in the 'New Version & Updates' forum and sub forum)
--if not, apply them before we go any further and re-test

then go to ato->export/import settings - export your settings and attach them to a reply
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Jun 8, 2011, 10:09 PM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
WP - 3.1.3
Atahualpa - 3.6.7

URL is in the post above your last one.

I did not see any bug fixes for this issue in that forum.

I added BUGFIX 367-01-03 and still have the same issue. Cannot open right inner sidebar area or new widget area to add anything to them.

Last edited by Shan_LSOS; Jun 8, 2011 at 10:25 PM.
  #6  
Old Jun 9, 2011, 02:41 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
When you say you can not open the right inner sidebar area, what do you mean?
Do you mean that if you go to dashboard->appearance->widgets you can't open the section 'right inner'?

Try disabling all plugins to see if there is a conflict
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Jun 9, 2011, 04:10 PM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
Do you mean that if you go to dashboard->appearance->widgets you can't open the section 'right inner'?
Yes, that.
  #8  
Old Jun 9, 2011, 04:29 PM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
Ok, I disabled all plugins and I was able to access the previously locked widget ares. However, before I upgraded the theme, there were no issues at all.

My client wants her plugins LOL

Second issue is that instead of the ad looking like it was floating in that background OUTSIDE the body/wrap area, it has increased the height of the body/wrap area including the background color.

I need this to not be a part of the body area.

EDIT: I disabled all plugins & activated them one by one, checking the widget area each time, and was not able to replicate the problem GRRRRR It's like taking your car to the mechanic because it's making a noise - once the mecahnic gets in the noise stops. It starts back up again as you're driving away. LOL

I still have the same issue about the placement of the ad though.

Last edited by Shan_LSOS; Jun 9, 2011 at 04:50 PM.
  #9  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 04:47 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
site looks fine in Safari and Firefox on the mac
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 04:57 AM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
You don't see a light pick background behind the ad? It should be the main darker background there, not the content area background. I'm using Chrome and the screenshot attached is what I see. Client sees it in FF as well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ad Fail.jpg
Views:	472
Size:	128.6 KB
ID:	1415  
  #11  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 05:04 AM
jankph
 
93 posts · Jul 2009
ATA 3.6.4 and WP 3.1
shan,

I think what you want to do can be done by setting your layout to be transparent, and then adding the background color to the center column. That way the ad area in the header gets the same background as your background image.

ATO > Style and Configure Layout > Layout Container Style:
Take away any background color
ATO > Style and Edit Center Column > Center Column Style:
Set background to your desired color
  #12  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 05:11 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
oh, i thought that was the way it was suppose to be. set your 'container' background 'transparent'
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 05:21 AM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jankph
shan,

I think what you want to do can be done by setting your layout to be transparent, and then adding the background color to the center column. That way the ad area in the header gets the same background as your background image.

ATO > Style and Configure Layout > Layout Container Style:
Take away any background color
ATO > Style and Edit Center Column > Center Column Style:
Set background to your desired color
That worked except now there is a space between the bottom of the cat bar and the start of the center column area. I added a top border but it's not working. OY.
  #14  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 06:32 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
you mean the header padding-bottom? check your css inserts
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 06:41 AM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
If that's what controls the space between the cat bar and the center column, then yes.
  #16  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 06:44 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
look in your css inserts
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #17  
Old Jun 10, 2011, 06:56 AM
Shan_LSOS
 
60 posts · Jun 2010
I fixed it. Easiest thing I've done this week. Thank you both for your help.

Bookmarks

Tags
above header, banner ad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I put my header banner in the logo area and make the header area transparent? jstein Header configuration & styling 5 Jan 18, 2011 03:15 PM
Unable to add adsense code to header / banner area forwardmover Header configuration & styling 1 Dec 31, 2010 02:47 AM
add an area above header for a banner ad ellenfinkl Header configuration & styling 5 Jun 16, 2010 03:05 AM
Advertising Banner in Header Area thinkentrepreneurship Header configuration & styling 0 Mar 18, 2009 02:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.