Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Page & Category Menu Bars (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Page Menu floats under a youtube video (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=1989)

Uddhava Jun 9, 2009 07:19 AM

Page Menu floats under a youtube video
 
1 Attachment(s)
Theme : Atahualpa 3.3.3
No modification were made in any css file.

The Page menu floats under a video that i have on my homepage. IT must be styled somewhere with z-index, but i dont know which item i need in the style.css file.

any suggestions where to look?
(see attached picture)

juggledad Jun 9, 2009 09:10 AM

How did you add the video?
What's the url?

Uddhava Jun 9, 2009 09:22 AM

This is just a standard youtube video embedded with their code. Nothing special.
I dont have this site online yet. Working locally at the moment.

juggledad Jun 9, 2009 09:46 AM

if you post the code you used, I'll test it when I get a chance. There is probably a ,div..> that is overriding some css parameter

Uddhava Jun 9, 2009 01:04 PM

<object width="425" height="344">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hgilf4FTGAY&hl=nl&fs=1&"></param>
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param>
<param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param>
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hgilf4FTGAY&hl=nl&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>
</object>

juggledad Jun 9, 2009 07:19 PM

try this, add the following to ATO->HTML/CSS Inserts->CSS Inserts
HTML Code:

table#layout {width: auto;}

juggledad Jun 10, 2009 04:04 AM

Hmmm, never mind the last post, it will also effect the sidebars.

juggledad Jun 10, 2009 07:17 AM

one way to deal with this is to set a minimum page width (set it to the width of the sidebars + the width of the video plus a little extra) this will prevent the middle colum from getting smaller than the video image

Uddhava Jun 10, 2009 07:37 AM

I dont think i understand you completely.

What has the floating (z-index) of the menu to do with the width of the middle column?

My min. Width is set at 980. Max Width is set at 1250.
The middle column is 600px width at the minimum.
And the video is posted in the middle column and not in the sidebars.

juggledad Jun 10, 2009 01:49 PM

Sorry, when I started testing, I was having a problem with the right sidebar overlaying the video clip. On a fresh install of Atahualpa, I can't get the video to overlay the menu. What styling do you have on the menu's?

Uddhava Jun 10, 2009 02:04 PM

Like i said, i have the Standard 3.3.3 template. did not change any of the templates files.
Did play around with the settings of course, but as far as i know you cannot change the menu setting much.

What do u mean with styling exactly. The only thing i did was to move the menu bar below the image 'banner'.

I will get my local website hopefully tomorrow from work. Got fired so i cant get to it now.

juggledad Jun 14, 2009 06:17 PM

Hi, you need to look at the generated source for this page. Locate the area where the video is and see if there is a z-index asssociated with any of that code.

Atahualpa assigns a z-index of 999 to the menu so it will show atop everything else, but the youtube code must also be doing that.

Uddhava Jun 16, 2009 01:27 PM

Like i said before.. I am just including a youtube vide. Here is the code :
Quote:

<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="320" height="265" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,40,0"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" /><param name="src" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hgilf4FTGAY&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1&amp;rel=0&amp;color 1=0xe1600f&amp;color2=0xfebd01" /><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /><embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="320" height="265" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hgilf4FTGAY&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1&amp;rel=0&amp;color 1=0xe1600f&amp;color2=0xfebd01" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>
Nothing special.

juggledad Jun 17, 2009 05:04 AM

Can you try this, add teh following to your CSS Inserts
HTML Code:

ul.rMenu li:hover        {
z-index: 9999;               
}


Uddhava Jun 17, 2009 04:17 PM

I tried your suggestion. No luck.. the menu still floats under the video...

juggledad Jun 18, 2009 03:55 PM

do you have this online yet? In order to go further, I'll need to take a look at the source that is being generated.

Uddhava Jun 19, 2009 03:40 AM

Yes i have it online at the moment.

http://test.harekrishna.nl/
The site is in dutch btw.

and in case you were wondering, if have 10 plugins running, which i disabled at the moment so they do not interfere.

And the HTML insert that you suggested is still active.

juggledad Jun 19, 2009 03:54 AM

I see the site, but not the error, which page shows the error?

Uddhava Jun 19, 2009 03:57 AM

What do you mean????
The mainpage is the page with the youtube video. That is what i mean..
You are not going to tell me that i am the only one with this error, only on my computer.....??????

I just asked a friend of mine to view the page and she also does not see the "error"....
Whats this???

I have run it on IE, Chrome, FF and all of them have the menu float UNDER the video....... Go figure??!!

juggledad Jun 19, 2009 04:07 AM

Ah, this is a windows vrs mac issue. It runs fine in both Safari and fireFox on the Mac, but I see the problem in both IE8 and FireFox in windows (ahh the joy of compliance). Let me play a while

Uddhava Jun 19, 2009 04:12 AM

Aha, you found something... I thought i was going crazy....
Better switch to Mac then ;-) hehehe

juggledad Jun 19, 2009 01:31 PM

Flynn has provided the answer. There are two changes to the YouTube post you need to make

<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="320" height="265" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,40,0">
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" />
<param name="src" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hgilf4FTGAY&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1&amp;rel=0&amp;color 1=0xe1600f&amp;color2=0xfebd01" />
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" />
<param name="wmode" value="opaque">
<embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="320" height="265" wmode="opaque" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hgilf4FTGAY&amp;hl=en&amp;fs=1&amp;rel=0&amp;color 1=0xe1600f&amp;color2=0xfebd01" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true">
</embed></object>

add the parts in red to your post and give it a shot

Uddhava Jun 19, 2009 02:28 PM

Wonderful!. That works...
It is a workaround i guess. When my users are posting youtube video's i really cant expect them to edit these codes all the time. So any sight on an another fix?
Or should we just tell google to change there embed code?

ys

juggledad Jun 19, 2009 04:43 PM

I don't see a 'fix' happening because Atahualpa does not edit the posts. Since you can put HTML in a post there will never be a gaurentee that you can prevent strange things from happening. Add to this that different OS cause things to act different and different browsers act different, AND, I'll bet YouTube would WANT their video to be on top of anything else, I think you just going to have to live with this get around.

Of course, you could always contact Flynn and offer him $$$$$$$ to see if he could code a fix :)

Flynn Jun 19, 2009 05:03 PM

You can put this at the bottom of functions.php, without causing blank lines. It should add the code to all flash inside post or page content

PHP Code:

<?php 
add_filter
('the_content''add_opaque_to_all_flash');

function 
add_opaque_to_all_flash($string) {
    
$string str_ireplace('<embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash"''<param name="wmode" value="opaque"><embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="opaque"'$string);
    return 
$string;
}
?>



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.