Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header configuration & styling (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   [SOLVED] cant seem to get this too work help please! link in header image (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=1312)

sine Apr 17, 2009 10:25 PM

[SOLVED] cant seem to get this too work help please! link in header image
 
Hi all

Absolutely love this theme just have one query, I would like to put a link on the right and left images of my header but have no idea HOW to insert a links in the code?

Here is my page

http://aussiepubcalls.com.au:confused:

Flynn Apr 19, 2009 05:36 AM

That's one single image and a background image, too. Having different link areas on the same image is possible with image maps but this cannot be done on background images AFAIK. The single link that can be put on the header image is already done with a "trick", by laying an invisible layer over the image and making that clickable. For what you're trying to do I suggest that you remove the header image from the header through the theme options -> Header and then edit header.php by replacing
PHP Code:

    <tr>

        <!-- Header -->
        <td id="header" colspan="<?php echo $cols?>">
        
        <?php bfa_header_config($bfa_ata['configure_header']); ?>

        </td>
        <!-- / Header -->

    </tr>

with

PHP Code:

    <tr>

        <!-- Header -->
        <td id="header" colspan="<?php echo $cols?>">
        
        <?php bfa_header_config($bfa_ata['configure_header']); ?>

        </td>

    </tr>

    <tr>

        <td><a href="link1"><img src="/image-left.gif" alt="" /></a></td>
        <td><a href="/"><img src="/header-image.gif" alt="Aussie Pub Calls" /></a></td>
        <td><a href="link2"><img src="/image-right.gif" alt="" /></a></td>

      <!-- / Header -->

    </tr>

The code above is made for a site with 3 columns and it would have to be 3 columns on all pages.

I'd also change the layout width to a fixed width of 1000px at Theme Options -> Layout -> Layout WIDTH and type (FLUID or FIXED)

sine Apr 19, 2009 06:29 PM

It worked thankyou so much!

tim5046 Jun 22, 2009 08:54 AM

Hello,

I did exactly as you said and it is not working for me. My screen basically goes blank whenever I upload the new header.php file. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, but it seems like every single time I edit a PHP file and upload it, no matter what I do to the file, the site no longer works. Here is my code:

<tr>

<!-- Header -->
<td id="header" colspan="<?php echo $cols; ?>">

<?php bfa_header_config($bfa_ata['configure_header']); ?>

</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td><a href="http://www.google.com"><img src="http://ep.yimg.com/ip/I/englishteastore_2056_75137" alt="test1" /></a></td>
<td><a href="/"><img src="http://lib.store.yahoo.net/lib/englishteastore/free-shipping.gif" alt="test" /></a></td>
<td><a href="http://www.englishteastore.com"><img src="http://ep.yimg.com/ip/I/englishteastore_2057_4448387" alt="test2" /></a></td>

<!-- / Header -->

</tr>


I just threw in a few sample images to test it out to get it to work. Not sure where I went wrong but please help?

Thanks!

Flynn Jun 22, 2009 09:01 AM

You might be uploading the files in a wrong mode in your FTP software, should be "ASCII". Usually FTP clients are set to auto and will upload files ending on .php in ASCII but this may be not the case in your software or software settings

You also need to use a plain text editor such as Notepad or Notepad++ when editing files, not something like Word or Wordpad.

tim5046 Jun 22, 2009 09:05 AM

Wow. I uploaded the same exact file using notepad and it worked perfectly. I feel like an idiot-- that was probably the simplest fix ever. Thanks for your help I greatly appreciate it!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.