Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

getting 404 on blog


  #1  
Old Jun 23, 2010, 05:39 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
hi, i have just set up a new wp blog with atahualpa theme...i have it installed so that the home page is the post page, then i have 3 permanent pages...i find that often when i log onto the site, the home page describes 'not found' and my post is not there...i have extended the length of the number of lines on the first page, could this be the reason, or do you think a plugin could be interfering?
  #2  
Old Jun 23, 2010, 05:45 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,667 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
(has nothing to do with the other thread so I move this to it's own thread)

What version of Atahualpa and WP?
What is the URL?
you say 'when i log onto the site, the home page describes 'not found'' what if you arn't logged into the backend?
Have you tried with all the plugins deactivated?
What happens if you swap to the default theme,?
Does it always happen,or just sometimes?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Jun 23, 2010, 05:50 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
it happens inconsistently, but when i view the site with my wp-admin open it will work properly, but when i log out, and just type in the URL it goes back...the url is www.blalorphysio.com
  #4  
Old Jun 23, 2010, 06:00 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,667 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
what do you have set at dashboard->settings->General for 'WordPress address (URL)' and 'Blog address (URL)'
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Jun 23, 2010, 07:45 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
http://www.blalorphysio.com in both
  #6  
Old Jun 23, 2010, 10:17 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
Atahualpa 3.4.9

it keeps offering me to upgrade to wordpress 3.0 but i just downloaded a couple weeks ago, so i don't know where to find which version i have
  #7  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 03:34 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,667 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
what do you have set at dashboard->settings->reading->Front page displays?
what do you have set at ATO->Page Menu Bar->Home link in Page Menu Bar?
Did you create a page called 'Home'? (don't)
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #8  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 08:49 AM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
reading settings: a static page is chosen, without a front page or a post page selected

page menu bar: it has a title called 'home' which my theme is calling 'default', i did not create it,
  #9  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 08:50 AM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
what i am trying to accomplish is a static page on my main URL
  #10  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 12:41 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,667 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Well this explains the 404. You are telling wprdpress that you don't whan a landing page, hence the 404. If you want a static landing page, create a page an denter it's name here. If you want your blog to be teh landing page, then switch to 'Front page displays X Your latest posts'

So you should create a static page and made that the entry for Front Page:
Then create a page called 'my blog' or what ever, and select that for the 'Posts Page'
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 01:31 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
yes, this seems to work, is there a way to set a page as the home page, but not have it viewed as well as one of the tabs up top, so i don't display duplicate pages
found the answer on the forum

Last edited by jaden; Jun 25, 2010 at 01:42 PM.
  #12  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 01:31 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
one more question while i'm at it, how can i reorder my page tabs once i have created them?

found the answer on the forum

Last edited by jaden; Jun 25, 2010 at 01:42 PM.
  #13  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 01:34 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
Then create a page called 'my blog' or what ever, and select that for the 'Posts Page'


where would i go to do this step?
  #14  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 03:09 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,667 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Once you create the page, go to dashboard- settings-reading- front page displays and set the post page to the page you just created
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Jun 24, 2010, 03:38 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
sorry, i asked 3 questions in a row, so i'm not sure which one your answer referred to

1. "is there a way to set a page as the home page, but not have it viewed as well as one of the tabs up top, so i don't display duplicate pages "

or 3. create a page called 'my blog' or what ever, and select that for the 'Posts Page'

when i go to the reading settings i only see options for front page displays so i can choose a specific page, but if i wanted to create an additional place for blog posts as well as having a static front page, i'm not sure which part of the dashboard applies

Last edited by jaden; Jun 24, 2010 at 03:41 PM. Reason: clarifying
  #16  
Old Jun 25, 2010, 03:03 PM
jaden
 
11 posts · Jun 2010
i have one last issue unresolved, when i go to settings-reading-settings and it looks like this

Front page displays

Front page displays (unchecked) Your latest posts

(checked)A static page (select below)

Front page: - Select - blalor
Posts page: - Select - Blog


when i go to the Blog page it reads 'page not found"

can you tell where i am in error? this is my attempt to have a static front page, with an active Blog on a seperate page
  #17  
Old Jun 25, 2010, 09:30 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,667 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Did you create a page called 'Blog'? You need to, it can be empty but it has to exist.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I've made a second blog. Can I import all of my theme settings from my other blog? X-Evolutionist Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 1 Mar 5, 2010 07:38 PM
What is the URL of the 404 page ? 3ukman Header configuration & styling 1 Sep 5, 2009 06:41 PM
[SOLVED] Adding borders to sides of blog with blog centred in middle of page rhymes Page & Category Menu Bars 1 May 15, 2009 11:38 PM
Does using this theme still treat my Wordpress blog like a blog or website? rhymes Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 2 Apr 25, 2009 12:07 PM
404 error seneque Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 1 Apr 11, 2009 10:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.