Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Header configuration & styling »

[SOLVED] Fading header images


  #1  
Old Oct 24, 2009, 12:57 PM
mc38
 
2 posts · Oct 2009
[Moderator note: I'm closing this thread - the explaination has been moved to 'HOWTO: create fading header images ' (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=6921)]


Want to cross-fade (gentle fade in/out) the multiple header images instead of the harsh image rotation.
Has anyone done this? Alternatively could create a flash header myself, but then where would I place it? Thanks for any clues...

Last edited by juggledad; Apr 29, 2010 at 08:35 AM.
  #2  
Old Oct 24, 2009, 01:04 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
see http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=1197
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Oct 25, 2009, 08:18 AM
mc38
 
2 posts · Oct 2009
thanks for that - nearly have it working but I do not know where / how to do this as suggested:
add css...
#sbsl6_1 {
width: 100%;
}

I tried adding it in the css inserts section of the theme options, but no effect. Here is the site so far...
www.danielcohan.com

you can see that the fading image is working fine, but site at the top of the page instead of where the original header is/was... I think this is the same problem you were having?
any help appeciated ...

Last edited by mc38; Oct 25, 2009 at 10:52 AM.
  #4  
Old Oct 25, 2009, 12:23 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
if you look in the generated code you have
HTML Code:
//<![CDATA[
var sbsl1_1 = {
	params : {
		wmode : "opaque"},
	flashvars : {
so you want to use sbsl1_1
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Dec 10, 2009, 12:19 PM
Siberiantiger
 
4 posts · Dec 2009
So exactly in what file and where in this file should i place what code to get a smooth transition with the header images? (Without using NextGen gallery)

Is anyone familiar to the library code jQuery and the extension InnerFade (jQuery InnerFade) If so, would it be possible to create a new script for the imageheader so that the pictures shown are faded. (I am not a programmer my self, but got a tip from a friend that is)

I love this clean and neutral yet nice and powerful theme for Wordpress and would appreciate faded images in the header. I would donate if i knew this will be in the very near future version of this theme, or as an "hack/tweak"

Last edited by Siberiantiger; Dec 10, 2009 at 01:26 PM. Reason: Adding some information useful to create a new script
  #6  
Old Dec 11, 2009, 06:17 PM
johanl
 
1 posts · Dec 2009
Hello!
I just implemented a jquery solution.

You can download a few lines of code from http://jlkonsultab.se/files/smoothfading.txt

Paste the block of code into .../atahualpa/js.php (see file above for details).
Don't forget to comment out the original "window.onload ..." line

Disclaimer: I'm no jQuery expert so there may be better ways to implement it... anyway it works in Firefox!

best regards Johan
  #7  
Old Dec 13, 2009, 05:03 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
johanl - nice find it looks very nice!
to expand on the explanation edit js.php and change line 61 (in version 3.4.4) from
HTML Code:
window.onload = RotateHeaderImages;
to
HTML Code:
// Smooth fading code starts here
var fadeInSpeed=2500; // ms
var fadeOutSpeed=2000; // ms

function PrepareRotatingImages() {
	if (document.body){
        if(HeaderImages.length < 2) 
            return; 
		imageContainer = jQuery('#imagecontainer');
        imageContainer.css("background","none"); 
        for(i=0; i < HeaderImages.length; i++) {
            imageContainer.append("<div id=\"himage" + i + "\" style=\"overflow:hidden;display:none;position:absolute;top=0;left=0;width:100%;height:<?php echo $bfa_ata["headerimage_height"]?>px\"><img src=\""+HeaderImages[i]+"\"/></div>");
        }
        jQuery("#himage"+j).fadeIn(fadeInSpeed);
        SmoothRotateHeaderImages();
    }
}

function SmoothRotateHeaderImages() {
    fadeOutImage=jQuery("#himage"+j);
    j+=1; if(j>(HeaderImages.length-1)) j=0;
    fadeInImage=jQuery("#himage"+j);
    fadeInImage.fadeIn(fadeInSpeed);
    fadeOutImage.fadeOut(fadeOutSpeed);
    t = setTimeout('SmoothRotateHeaderImages()', <?php echo $bfa_ata['header_image_javascript']; ?>000);
}

window.onload = PrepareRotatingImages;
// end smooth fading
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Feb 6, 2010 at 11:07 AM.
  #8  
Old Jan 11, 2010, 02:50 PM
dholowiski
 
4 posts · Jan 2010
Awsome, thank you so much! I just added this code and it looks great!
As soon as my customer pays me, there will be a donation coming your way
Thanks again!
(you can see it in action at kopiko.ca)
  #9  
Old Jan 24, 2010, 05:38 PM
glennvogelsang
 
54 posts · Jan 2010
this works, very easy fix for a knob like me
  #10  
Old Jan 24, 2010, 05:48 PM
glennvogelsang
 
54 posts · Jan 2010
it seems to have changed what sections of the images are shown. I was showing "bottom centre" before and now it looks like it is showing top centre. I changed the alignment (to center etc) and got no results. Help!
  #11  
Old Jan 24, 2010, 06:36 PM
glennvogelsang
 
54 posts · Jan 2010
how do I subscribe to this or any forum feed. Am i blind? CAn't seen to find it
  #12  
Old Jan 28, 2010, 12:53 AM
marvinc
 
9 posts · Jan 2010
I've just started to customize Atahualpa and spent hours trying to get the Frontpage slideshow to work so I'm glad I came across this post because this is suggestion is a life saver. I'm following the suggestions listed above for adding the slide show and so far have done the following:

1. Created my header images at 1300 x 232. The default image width was 1300 and I raised the height to 232.
2. I've created my gallery, id=1 and added the code to the "header.php" file.
3. I've modified the "js.php" and the slide show appears in the header.
4. I've adjusted the transition to "slowfade" and all looks well, so far.

The problem I'm having is that my image is waaay to big but I see where juggledad left his at 1440 but I'm not sure where to insert this code:

#sbsl6_1 {
width: 100%;
}

1. I tried placing it at the end of the style.css file but nothing happened. At this point the images are sitting on top of the menu which I guess wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't so large. I feel like I'm missing something obvious so please bear with me as I stumble through this final part. Am I right in assuming this will force the image to "honor" the CSS settings? Or do I need to edit something inside of the template settings?

2. I need to remove the default rotating image. I don't think I saw in the suggestion where this was done. It's late and I'm probably overlooking something simple.

3. Also would anyone happen to know how to keep the JW Player icon from appearing in the slideshow?

Any responses appreciated.

Last edited by marvinc; Jan 28, 2010 at 12:57 AM.
  #13  
Old Jan 28, 2010, 05:33 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
the css goes in ATO->Add HTML/CSS Inserts->CSS Inserts
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #14  
Old Jan 28, 2010, 07:36 AM
marvinc
 
9 posts · Jan 2010
hmph! Nothing changed. Maybe my images are just too wide and tall? 1300 x 232?

Thanks for the reply
  #15  
Old Jan 28, 2010, 02:28 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
what version of Atahualpa and WP?
What is the url?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #16  
Old Jan 28, 2010, 04:16 PM
marvinc
 
9 posts · Jan 2010
ATA ver3.4.5 and here's the link to my demo site:

http://www.nusolutions.biz/demos/nubody/d2/

I've got the gallery sitting on top of the menu per the instructions and haven't figured out how to adjust or move it to the header section.

Any responses appreciated.

Last edited by marvinc; Jan 28, 2010 at 04:18 PM.
  #17  
Old Jan 29, 2010, 11:53 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
when I view the site, the menu is on top of the images...are you all set now?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #18  
Old Feb 2, 2010, 05:38 PM
Mark_
 
29 posts · Feb 2010
Hi

New to WP and ATA as I am trying to get to grips with both, and found this forum really useful so far, so thanks for that

so I added to code for rounded corners for the header image in CSS Inserts which worked fine, but now I have added JS for for the fading rotation the corners are no longer rounded

Anyone have any ideas why and how to resolve it
Thanks in advance
Mark

Last edited by Mark_; Feb 3, 2010 at 07:01 AM. Reason: Typo
  #19  
Old Feb 3, 2010, 07:03 AM
Mark_
 
29 posts · Feb 2010
OK have done a bit more digging if you set the the rotation to 0 in the Header Image Options or only have one image in the header folder the image is shown as rounded which is logical as I guess the fade JS is not being used
Also have noticed that the header image seems to be on top of the container rather than within it thus showing the corners.

Not sure if this is relevant but it seems like the JS to fade is causing the image to sit above the container defined in the CSS. Bit of guess work really as no expert in JS or CSS

Anyone?
  #20  
Old Feb 3, 2010, 03:23 PM
nwheal
 
7 posts · Feb 2010
This is stumping me at the moment as well would be great if someone manages to figure this one out.

I have tried several things but they have not worked the images are being places infront of the header container so the rounded corners do not function. They are there on the original container but the new header images just float over the container.

Regards

Nigel
  #21  
Old Feb 4, 2010, 12:27 PM
PortMaria.62's Avatar
PortMaria.62
 
19 posts · Dec 2009
wyoming
fading header images....this is probably a question that will have the pros rolling their eyes. Want to insert the code but where is
window.onload = RotateHeaderImages;
// Smooth fading code starts here
  #22  
Old Feb 4, 2010, 01:27 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,576 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
well the 'window.onload = RotateHeaderImages;' is in js.php
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #23  
Old Feb 4, 2010, 03:16 PM
nwheal
 
7 posts · Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
well the 'window.onload = RotateHeaderImages;' is in js.php
Juggledad

Managed to get all that bit working fine and it looks great, however I am struggling to integrate the rounded corners now that I have that running it seems the new fading image is sitting above the old image container that has the rounded corners.

Any ideas?

Regards

Nigel
  #24  
Old Feb 4, 2010, 05:57 PM
PortMaria.62's Avatar
PortMaria.62
 
19 posts · Dec 2009
wyoming
well, I edited the js.php file but no fading images. Looks just the same. What did I leave out? and I just donated,and will again when this is solved. thanks
  #25  
Old Feb 5, 2010, 04:09 AM
Mark_
 
29 posts · Feb 2010
Did you delete or comment out line 61 [window.onload = RotateHeaderImages;] from the js.php?

Bookmarks

Tags
header images fade fading

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Almost done - flash vs. images in header mcphoto Header configuration & styling 13 May 12, 2009 04:20 PM
header images PJK Header configuration & styling 1 Apr 11, 2009 06:53 PM
Header images + tagline ?? Photokitchen Header configuration & styling 3 Apr 9, 2009 02:25 PM
Header Images not showing eneitzel Header configuration & styling 4 Feb 24, 2009 02:20 PM
no header images kcd_2008 Header configuration & styling 1 Feb 17, 2009 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.