Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Center area post/pages » Post-Kicker, -Byline & -Footer »

How to get rid of page titles


  #1  
Old Oct 19, 2009, 07:11 AM
Babs
 
7 posts · May 2009
OK - I've read through http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthr...?t=1334&page=2 a few times but now have a headache!

Version 3.4.4

How do we remove the page title?

I've tried a few things, but none work.

So having the definitive from those who know would be useful.

Thank you

Last edited by juggledad; Oct 19, 2009 at 07:17 AM.
  #2  
Old Oct 19, 2009, 07:19 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,575 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
(edit: moved to new thread)

Just to make sure, are you asking how to always have the 'blog' title show at the top of the window no matter what page or post you are using? (doing this won't help with SEO)
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Apr 4, 2010, 01:45 PM
tnc
 
8 posts · Mar 2009
I am trying to figure out the same thing and so far can't find an answer after searching for quite some time.

To be clear, what I am asking to do is to remove the page titles from the pages. For example, when you click on "home" the page says "home" at the top of the inside of that page. When you click on "contact Us" it says "contact us" in big bold black letters. It looks redundant as people can see the tab they clicked on and if they clicked on the wrong tab they'd be able to click on another tab. Seeing the page titles (Home, Services, Contact US. etc) on each of those pages is not appealing to the eye.

How can I remove that text from each of their pages?

Thank you for any help you can give!
  #4  
Old Apr 5, 2010, 05:39 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,575 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
go to ATO->Style & edit CENTER COLUMN->The LOOP and find teh line
HTML Code:
<?php bfa_post_headline('<div class="post-headline">','</div>'); ?>
and change it to
HTML Code:
<?php if (!is_page()) {bfa_post_headline('<div class="post-headline">','</div>'); } ?>
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old May 23, 2010, 04:48 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,575 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
that CSS works - it stops the title of the page from displaying in the center area. It does not remove teh name of teh page from the '<title>........</title>' statement
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #6  
Old May 23, 2010, 07:52 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,575 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I'm not seeing it in your CSS, did you remove it?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old May 23, 2010, 09:28 PM
mfg070880
 
1 posts · May 2010
Hi,

Thanks again for your reply

I inserted it into Stylesheet (style.css), updated it and haven't removed it since...

Did I do something wrong or miss doing something?

Thanks,

- Mike
  #8  
Old May 24, 2010, 05:08 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,575 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
When ever you need to add or change Atahualpa's CSS, add it via the option screen ATO->Add HTML/CSS Inserts->CSS Inserts. This way it becomes an option in the databace and will exist over upgrades. If you change the actual code, take good notes because if you upgrade n a year, the change you made will be gone.

The CSS for the pages is actually created in css.php so that is why it is not working, go add it to the CSS Inserts option
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Mar 25, 2011, 12:06 AM
mascara47
 
4 posts · Mar 2011
Sorry for reviving such an old thread. But I'm still using Atahualpa 3.4.9 because when I tried to upgrade to 3.6.4 it messed up my site so I downgraded again.

I inserted the code juggledad suggested and it worked great--the only problem is that now the first line of the page is starting too low (there's too much white space above it). It's not lining up with the top of the top widget and looks funny. What can I do to fix it? My site is www.doorwaytograce.com. Thanks for your help!
  #10  
Old Mar 25, 2011, 06:20 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,575 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
...or you could just remove the
HTML Code:
padding-top: 20px;
that you have in the option ATO->Style POSTS & PAGES->POST Container
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Mar 25, 2011, 06:56 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,575 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
the setting is for the Post/Page container and it seems most people want them both to act the same.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #12  
Old Mar 25, 2011, 11:35 PM
mascara47
 
4 posts · Mar 2011
Thank you STB and juggledad! I ended up just taking out the top padding and it worked. I appreciate your help and the fast response!

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing Page titles in single pages with out removing post titles robertbrand Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 7 Jun 21, 2011 11:33 AM
[SOLVED] How to hide page titles on the home page Tim F Post-Kicker, -Byline & -Footer 1 Aug 22, 2009 05:18 AM
Page Titles jtotally New Versions, & Updating 4 Jun 27, 2009 12:30 PM
How do I use TTF Titles Plugin on the widget titles? chavahn Sidebars & Widgets 0 Mar 5, 2009 11:05 AM
Take Page Titles and Widget Titles for example... bseppa Sidebars & Widgets 0 Dec 12, 2008 08:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.