Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

Where are meta keywords and description?


  #1  
Old Jul 12, 2009, 07:36 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
When I view source for my home page I thought I would see keywords and description meta tags, but I don't. I filled in the fields for them on the SEO options page. Is there something else I need to do? Thanks in advance for any help provided!!
Sharon
  #2  
Old Jul 12, 2009, 08:14 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
What version of Atahualpa. If version 3.4.x have you filed in the 'Atahualpa Post Options' section of the edit post?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Jul 12, 2009, 10:03 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
Thanks for the reply! I have ver 3.4.1 but I'm not sure what you are referring to when you say, "'Atahualpa Post Options' section of the edit post?" Can you be more specific? Could be the crux of my problem!
  #4  
Old Jul 12, 2009, 10:42 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
You should also turn on "Configure SEO" -> "Use Bytes For All SEO Options?"

Also, on the theme option pages there are only fields for the homepage's keywords and description. To add keywords, description to other pages see the Wordpress post/page write panel. Posts/Pages -> Edit/Add New
  #5  
Old Jul 13, 2009, 07:38 AM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
Thanks for your help. Yes, I set the BFA SEO Option to Yes. Initially I thought that was my issue but after switching to Yes, I still don't see keywords or description for the home page when I view page source. What else could I be missing? I don't have any other meta tag related widgets loaded.

Still in a quandary... Sharon
  #6  
Old Jul 13, 2009, 06:52 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
did you fill in ATO->Configure SEO->Homepage Meta Keywords?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Jul 13, 2009, 07:10 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
All the fields are filled in and I've set 'Use BFA SEO options?' to YES. Should I be seeing keywords and description in the page source for the home page?
  #8  
Old Jul 13, 2009, 08:29 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
When I do that I see the keyqords in the page source. What is your url and some of the keywords?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Jul 13, 2009, 08:45 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
The URL for the site is http://www.horsemansarts.com. A couple of the keywords that I've defined are "classical dressage" and "natural horsemanship". Shouldn't there be a line like this: <META NAME="KEYWORDS" CONTENT= in there somewhere?
  #10  
Old Jul 13, 2009, 08:49 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Are you sure you are running 3.4.1 and not 3.3.3? the reason I ask is the format of the CSS is different in the 3.4 versions than teh 3.3.3 version and your page sourse looks like it was generated with 3.3.3
Make sure you have 'Activated' the 3.4 theme (dashboard->appearances->themes) and check for the meta words again
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Jul 13, 2009, 09:15 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
OK you are correct, it isn't 3.4.1. My mistake! Does that explain why I don't see keywords?
  #12  
Old Jul 14, 2009, 03:33 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
yes, they weren't showing up in 3.3.3
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Jul 14, 2009, 04:43 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
Ah, well that would certainly explain it! Is there anything I need to be aware of when upgrading? I wouldn't want to lose anything I've done.
  #14  
Old Jul 15, 2009, 03:25 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
you shouldn't loose anything upgrading. All the options are stored in the wp-options table.

You will have to copy any images from atahualpa3xx/images/header to the new atahualpa342/images/header folder so they will show up when you switch headers.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Jul 15, 2009, 04:11 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
Thanks for your reply! I uploaded the 3.4.1 folder to my server and selected the new theme. I did copy the header images as you suggested and so all should be well? BUT, I noticed that the sidebars on my home page are missing! ??? Is there a new feature where this are controlled? Why would I lose the sidebars on just that page? Thanks in advance.
  #16  
Old Jul 15, 2009, 04:12 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
FYI if you were inclined to go look, I switched back to 3.3 while I sort this out.
  #17  
Old Jul 15, 2009, 04:19 PM
horsemansarts
 
122 posts · Jul 2009
Nevermind :-) I figured it out!
  #18  
Old Jul 31, 2009, 11:31 AM
Zebra3
 
1 posts · Jul 2009
Would it be possible for you to share your solution with the rest of us? My problem is nearly identical to your but upgrading to 3.4 didn't resolve the issue. The meta keywords and description are only showing up on the index page, not the individual posts.

Any assistance you could lend would be greatly appreciated.
  #19  
Old Aug 28, 2009, 05:23 PM
Kass
 
1 posts · Aug 2009
Hi all!
I got the same problem: no meta description and meta keywords in the page source.
I got Atahualpa 3.4.1.
I did set the SEO options to YES.
I did enter the meta description and meta keywords in Atahualpa Theme Options.
But I haven't got them when viewing the source of my page.
So I'm worrying that search engines do not see my site because of that.
Does anyone have any idea why is that?
Thanks in advance.

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Meta content c32v Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 5 Jun 30, 2011 09:13 PM
TUI's Category Description for Archive Not Working sleizure Plugins & Atahualpa 1 May 29, 2009 03:05 PM
Umlauts in Home Page Meta Description mrz Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 2 May 24, 2009 10:37 AM
Category description & category classes shedhed Page & Category Menu Bars 4 Mar 22, 2009 02:25 AM
Meta widget mixer Sidebars & Widgets 4 Feb 6, 2009 06:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.