Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Plugins & Atahualpa »

[SOLVED] jQuery conflict between plugin and Atahualpa


  #1  
Old Jan 22, 2014, 12:49 PM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
I'm having trouble with a plugin that worked for me up till the latest Atahualpa upgrade (3.7.13) called Portfolio Slideshow. I wrote to the designer, and this was his response:

Quote:
You're getting the following JavaScript error on that page:

TypeError: jQuery.browser is undefined

This is not coming from Portfolio Slideshow Pro, it seems like it could be coming from your theme (or maybe another plugin). Are you able to temporarily activate a default theme like Twenty Thirteen or Twenty Twelve? If so, activate one of these themes and see how the slideshow behaves in it.
Turns out he was right, the plugin works fine in other themes.

I don't know how to fix jQuery problems, therefore I think I should roll back to a previous version of Atahualpa.

How do I go back? Where do I find older versions to download?
  #2  
Old Jan 22, 2014, 02:25 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,672 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Just where are you seeing the error?
I just installed it (V1.5.1) on WP 3.8/ Atahualpa 3.7.13 and it is working for me.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Jan 23, 2014, 10:36 AM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
I don't know. It's the plugin designer that told me about the error. I'll ask.

There's definitely something wrong. I also see that the Humans-not-bots plugin is not working.

Also, I'm not getting the Wordpress "black bar" at the top of pages when I'm logged in.

I've tried turning off some plugins, then all plugins, but I don't see these problems resolve.
  #4  
Old Jan 23, 2014, 10:41 AM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
I just switched themes to check the black bar issue. It works on twenty twelve. Went back to Atahualpa, and the black bar is gone.

On the plus side, humans-not-bots is working on Atahualpa now.
  #5  
Old Jan 23, 2014, 11:43 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,672 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
So what is not working? Like I said, I installed it and it seems to work for me.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #6  
Old Jan 23, 2014, 12:00 PM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
Sorry, I forgot to include a link.

http://mammothpro.com

The slideshow is not advancing (either automatically or by clicking).
  #7  
Old Jan 23, 2014, 12:28 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,672 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Do you use the lite or pro version
What settings do you use for the plugin?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #8  
Old Jan 23, 2014, 12:57 PM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
Lite version.

I tried variations on the jQuery settings (at the bottom) but nothing changed.

If it's working for you, perhaps I should reinstall the theme entirely?



  #9  
Old Jan 23, 2014, 02:11 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,672 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
what happens if you check off 'Enable Autoplay'?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Jan 24, 2014, 06:12 AM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
I don't know why that was unchecked!

However, I've turned it back on and it didn't fix the problem.
  #11  
Old Jan 24, 2014, 06:13 AM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
The plugin designer got back to me and said that he originally saw the error in his firefox console. He doesn't see the error there any longer, though.
  #12  
Old Jan 24, 2014, 07:27 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,672 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
is the image on the front page the one that should change?
do you actually have more than one image?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Jan 24, 2014, 07:39 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,672 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Are you sure you deactivated ALL plugins at the same time other than this one?

Please try again.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #14  
Old Jan 27, 2014, 09:52 AM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
Yes, there's multiple images in the slideshow. The slideshow works when I change themes.

I turned off all plugins, and now it works! Turning them back on one at a time, it looks like Humans-not-bots is the problem.

I swear I tried this last week, and it didn't work. Maybe the automatic Wordpress 3.8.1 update on Friday helped in some way.
  #15  
Old Jan 27, 2014, 09:55 AM
sky captain's Avatar
sky captain
 
57 posts · Sep 2009
Humans-not-bots has two replacement methods. InnerHTML and Walk the DOM. InnerHTML was causing the problem... which is odd, since I think I've chosen InnerHTML on some sites to avoid other conflicts.
  #16  
Old Jan 27, 2014, 10:29 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,672 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Glad you figured it out, I'll close this
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atahualpa conflicting with LayerSlider Responsive jQuery Slider Plugin adventurepaul Plugins & Atahualpa 10 Jul 19, 2013 11:53 AM
Jquery/js error - conflict grasshopper Sidebars & Widgets 3 Aug 9, 2009 10:25 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.