Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Montezuma Theme »

Featured image not being cropped


  #1  
Old Oct 2, 2013, 04:52 PM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
Hi -

I've made no recent changes to my theme, however for some reason the featured images on posts are no longer being cropped. I can see the bfa_thumb(620,180 ... in the code, but it does not seem to be cropping the image. Can anyone point me to where I should look to find out why it is not working?

Site URL: http://rosina.me/

Thanks,
Rosina
  #2  
Old Oct 2, 2013, 05:13 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,645 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
step 1 - disable all plugins to see if there is a conflict
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Oct 2, 2013, 06:03 PM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
I did disable all plugins, to no avail. I have reenabled them now but I did turn them all off and disabled all caching.
  #4  
Old Oct 2, 2013, 06:09 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,645 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Copy your theme export settings to a text file and attach them to a response
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Oct 2, 2013, 06:57 PM
CrouchingBruin's Avatar
CrouchingBruin
 
299 posts · Aug 2010
Santa Monica, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bignall
I can see the bfa_thumb(620,180 ... in the code,
What's the rest of the parameters? It's the third parameter that is critical, that parameter determines if the image is cropped or not. By default, the value of the third parameter is false (not cropped). It has to be set to true for the image to be cropped:
Code:
<?php bfa_thumb( 620, 180, true, '<div class="thumb-shadow"><div class="post-thumb">', '</div></div>' ); ?>
__________________
My Montezuma-themed sites: ESHS Girls Basketball Team, Venice Hongwanji Buddhist Temple
Please consider making a donation to BytesForAll for their great themes!
  #6  
Old Oct 2, 2013, 09:40 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
As an aside your pictures should be optimized for web. The ones I looked at were 500Kb to almost 1 Mb.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #7  
Old Oct 3, 2013, 07:09 AM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
Thanks so much for your help @Juggledad. Attached are the settings.

@CrouchingBruin Here's the rest of the parameters:

PHP Code:
<?php bfa_thumb620180true'<div class="thumb-shadow"><div class="post-thumb">''</div></div>' ); ?>
As you can see it is true (which does seem to be the default since I haven't changed it).

@lmilesw Yes good point, I should stop being lazy but it's a personal site for my friends and family to see what's going on, not expecting thousands of visitors... still, always a wise idea.

Last edited by bignall; Oct 3, 2013 at 07:12 AM.
  #8  
Old Oct 3, 2013, 07:14 AM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
Helps if I actually attach the file.... /o\
Attached Files
File Type: txt montezuma-settings.txt (71.3 KB, 415 views)
  #9  
Old Oct 3, 2013, 07:33 AM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
In one installation I did find the spaces between 620,180,true in the code were problematic. When I edited this
HTML Code:
<?php bfa_thumb( 620, 180, true, '<div class="thumb-shadow"><div class="post-thumb">', '</div></div>' ); ?>
To This
HTML Code:
<?php bfa_thumb( 620,180,true, '<div class="thumb-shadow"><div class="post-thumb">', '</div></div>' ); ?>
All worked as intended so may be something to try.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #10  
Old Oct 3, 2013, 07:55 AM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
Thanks for the suggestion. I tried it - it "shouldn't" make a difference (as a developer I know that sometimes compilers/interpreters do weird things so I tried anyway) -, but unfortunately in this case it didn't work.
  #11  
Old Oct 3, 2013, 09:37 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,645 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
with your settings, posts that have featured images set work exactly like they should. It has to be something specific about your setup.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #12  
Old Oct 3, 2013, 09:19 PM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
Okay, hmm. I guess I'll go back and remove all my plugins again. Hopefully I can find it.
  #13  
Old Oct 8, 2013, 10:30 PM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
Well at long last I figured it out. In the Jetpack plugin there is an option that lets you serve your images from wp.me. I had turned this on. When the images are served from wp.me, apparently bfa_thumb can't do its magic. I disabled Jetpack, but the images were still coming from wp.me. When I removed the image and added it back on and saved the post, they were no longer served from wp.me, bfa_thumb did its magic again and all is good again. Any chance that bfa_thumb ca work with these remote images? Or can it only work with local images.

I don't need them served from wp.me, so I'll just turn it off, but hopefully there's a resolution for this.
  #14  
Old Oct 9, 2013, 04:59 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,645 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I'd have to see it with the images coming from wp.me to see. I don't use jetpack, I've seen too many 'issues'
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Oct 10, 2013 at 07:16 AM.
  #15  
Old Oct 9, 2013, 09:43 AM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
I've turned back on the service so that you can see how it works. The Jetpack subplugin is call Photon and it delivers images and videos from the WP CDN, so it apparently uploads your images and uses a http://ip2.wp.com/... url to reference it.

For the most part I've had no problems with Jetpack and it has some nice features. I'm sure it has issues. But I totally get not using a plugin, there are plugins I won't use too
  #16  
Old Oct 9, 2013, 12:21 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,645 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
It looks like the jetpack code is altering the <img...> statement. Here is what comes out normally
HTML Code:
<div class="thumb-shadow">
	<div class="post-thumb">
		<a href="http://mydomain.com/wp35/block-quote/">
			<img src="http://mydomain.com/wp35/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/image1.jpg" width="620" height=" 180" alt="block quote"/>
		</a>
	</div>
</div>
and this is from your site
HTML Code:
<div class="thumb-shadow">
	<div class="post-thumb">
		<a href="http://rosina.me/baby-chicks/">
			<img src="http://i2.wp.com/rosina.me/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/IMG_20130922_191240_643.jpg?resize=2591%2C1840" width="" height="" alt="Baby Chicks!"/>
		</a>
	</div>
</div>
notice the '?resize=2591%2C1840' tacked on to the end of the 'src=...' and the lack of a width or height. Unless there is a way in the plugin to shutoff the code that handles featured images.

Here is a thought, swap to twenty-thirteen and see if you get a thumbnail or large image there.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #17  
Old Oct 9, 2013, 06:59 PM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
So I switched to 2013 and I get the thumbnails. On inspecting the code I see:

HTML Code:
<div class="entry-thumbnail">
   <img width="604" height="270" src="http://rosina.me/wp-content/uploads/cache/2013/10/IMG_20130923_154146_591/604x270x1819850138.jpg.pagespeed.ic.aiF0ugjqgr.jpg" class="attachment-post-thumbnail wp-post-image" alt="Z eating the chick's food">	
</div>
2013 seems to ignore the Jetpack setting and serves the page from my own server instead of the CDN.

I'll leave it with this theme for a day or so so you can see it.
  #18  
Old Oct 10, 2013, 07:02 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,645 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
my rough guess is that it would take at least an hour to dig into this and that is just more time that I'm willing to give to the forum. Note, this could be a WP bug since Montezuma and Twenty-Thirteen use different WP functions to get the featured image.

now if you wanted to hire me to look into this send me a PM.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Oct 10, 2013 at 07:40 AM.
  #19  
Old Oct 10, 2013, 11:50 AM
bignall
 
21 posts · Dec 2009
It could be. Well it's not that important to me to make sure it gets fixed. I was just hoping it was a quick and easy one . Thanks for taking a look at it and THANK YOU for all the work you've done on the themes!

For now, I'll just go back to not using the CDN. If it becomes so important that I need it for some site, then I'll look into it further.
  #20  
Old Oct 9, 2015, 10:50 AM
cwikdahl
 
19 posts · Jun 2010
Just disable the "Photon" option i Jetpack and it works!

I have to reload and alter/save the php file a couple of times before anything happens, but that seems to be routine when using this theme.

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Featured Image Help JanineM1110 Montezuma Theme 1 Jun 6, 2013 02:01 AM
Featured image shows first image included in post [Update for version 1.1.8] Auteri Montezuma Theme 2 May 2, 2013 03:07 AM
Image in post half showing as if featured image mealies Montezuma Theme 1 Mar 20, 2013 09:31 AM
[SOLVED] Featured image shows the first image included in the post. Auteri Montezuma Theme 2 Oct 5, 2012 07:15 AM
Featured image won't resize Pierre Excerpts, Read more, Pagination 5 Jan 31, 2011 09:13 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.