Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click Here To DONATE! Support the theme development, get more attention and additional benefits based on your donation level. Your forum name will be highlighted.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Page & Category Menu Bars »

Custom Menu Category Post Now Showing Up


Build custom WP THEMES, without
coding.
Click here for THEMEFRAME

From the author of Atahualpa, the #1 most
downloaded (700,000+) theme @ wordpress.org
  #1  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:48 AM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
Just started setting up this theme and am trying to get the category menu set up. The category menu shows up with all of my categories, but when I click on any one of them I get a page not found error. I did find a plugin that lists all of the posts under each category when you hover over the category as a temp fix - but I would really like to be able to go to the category "page" when you click the menu tab. I've read numnerous posts about the ctaegory menu but haven't found the answer yet. Can you point me in the right direciton? Thanks
  #2  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 12:18 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,320 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
what version of Atahualpa and WP?
What is the url?
do you have posts assigned to the categories?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:34 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
what version of Atahualpa and WP?
Atahualpa - 3.7.10
WP -
What is the url?
do you have posts assigned to the categories?
  #4  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:39 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
what version of Atahualpa and WP?
Atahualpa - 3.7.10
WP - 3.5.1
What is the url?
dailyezette.com
do you have posts assigned to the categories?
I have posts that are specific to each category - I didn't specically "assign" anything other than selecting whch category the post gets posted to when published. As I mentioned they all show up properly when you hover over the category menu item.
I'm not sure if by default the theme should have populated the category page for me - or if I needed to add something.
Thanks
  #5  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 02:17 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,108 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
You could either use the WordPress menu builder or you could set "Don't link first level parent items in Page Menu Bar?" in the menu section to "Yes" to unlink the first item.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #6  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:22 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
I used the wordpress menu builder and saved the menu. Then under menu 2 in the theme I selected that menu. I'm using category menu 2 so I don't see the "Don't link first..." option. Actually I'd like to link the first level to a posts page that has all of the post in that category.
  #7  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:29 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
I'm looking for a feature like this
http://www.shelterness.com/
the front page has all of the posts listed chronologically, but if you select a category menu item you receive a page with just the posts related to that category.
  #8  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:33 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,108 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
In the WordPress menu builder just add the category to the menu. If you don't see categories you may have to enable using the Page Options on the top right of the menu page.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #9  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 04:20 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,320 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
try setting your permalinks to the default and then back to what you now have.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:11 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmilesw
In the WordPress menu builder just add the category to the menu. If you don't see categories you may have to enable using the Page Options on the top right of the menu page.
I had tried that before, tried again but help. I also tried building a new custom menu and loading that one, again no difference -
  #11  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:14 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
try setting your permalinks to the default and then back to what you now have.
Ok, I tried that, no change. I see that the permalinks are set to post name http://dailyezette.com/sample-post/ without a category modifier - could that be a problem? Though the plugin that showed the posts under each category did work. I deactivated that plugin when i tried both of these recommendations just to make sure there was no conflict.
  #12  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:15 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
Judging from both of your replies I'm guessing that this should be working just as I have it setup?
  #13  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:27 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,320 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
Are you using a wp custom menu or the atahualpa automatic menu?

Have you tried disabling all your plugins to see if one is causing a conflict?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #14  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 09:05 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
I'm using wp custom menu, which doesn't show up unless I put %cats in the configure header area. I'll try deactivating the plugins tomorrow. Thanks
I did try selecting no menu in wp custon, an just leaving %cats in, but same issue.
  #15  
Old Feb 12, 2013, 09:09 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,320 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
If you want to send me a PM with an admin ID/pw, I'll take a look tomorrow
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #16  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 07:20 AM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
Tried deactivating all of the plugins - still no go - I'll PM you the info
  #17  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 07:43 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,320 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
Why has a blank 'category.php' file been added to the theme folder?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #18  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 09:04 AM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
That was a stab in the dark - I was reading that the Ata theme does not come with category or other files that may be needed that typically come with other themes so I set up a folder and was going to copy the category files from another theme. It can be deleted.
  #19  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 10:54 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,320 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
You will have to delete it. Once you do, tell me how the site works.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #20  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:09 AM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
Doy - Well it solved the problem(deleting the file) - but it showed up another prblem - when I click on a menu item the posts show up now for each category - but the image is shown as a place holder/link vs the actual image - any suggesitons there? Thanks
  #21  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:26 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,320 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
The reason it now works is that when you request a list of posts by caegory (clicking on a category name) wordpress looks in the themes folder for a 'category.php' file and if it finds it, it passes control to it. You had a file and it was empty, so processing stopped and nothing was displayed because that's what you told it to do (had you typed 'boo' in that file, you would have seen 'boo' on the screen.

Wordpress by default, removes all html from excerpts on a multi-post page (a category listing is a multi-post page). Atahualpa follows this lead, but gives you an option to display some HTML. Look at the EXCERPTS options section of the theme options.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #22  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:56 AM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,108 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
You could also use the "Featured Image" function for each post.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #23  
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:14 PM
jtwardy
 
13 posts · Feb 2013
Thanks guys - I never would have remembered I stuck that empty folder there.

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Animate Category Menu Bar / Custom Post Date Not Working After Update to 3.6 sar New Versions, & Updating 10 Jun 22, 2011 08:24 AM
[SOLVED] Custom background only for post & category pages.... interage Center area post/pages 2 Sep 28, 2010 06:41 AM
[SOLVED] Not showing complete post under category debeerj Center area post/pages 5 Feb 18, 2010 11:13 PM
[SOLVED] Category Pages showing only one post and only the subject of that post. casahac Post-Kicker, -Byline & -Footer 10 Nov 8, 2009 07:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.