Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click Here To DONATE! Support the theme development, get more attention and additional benefits based on your donation level. Your forum name will be highlighted.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

Has anyone updated to Wordpress 3.5


Build custom WP THEMES, without
coding.
Click here for THEMEFRAME

From the author of Atahualpa, the #1 most
downloaded (700,000+) theme @ wordpress.org
  #1  
Old Dec 16, 2012, 08:45 PM
swimflyfast2's Avatar
swimflyfast2
 
148 posts · Aug 2010
Horse Country in Virginia
Has anyone updated to wordpress 3.5? any troubles? wonderment?
  #2  
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:12 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,110 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
No issues of significance.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #3  
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:21 PM
Jam's Avatar
Jam
 
1,073 posts · Mar 2011
Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmilesw
No issues of significance.
*audible chuckle*.
"of significance" to you Larry. You could fix any issues in literally seconds, issues that might send anyone else into a trail of try and fix but end up destroying their site completely.

Upgrading.... scary stuff
__________________
May the learning curve never plateau... Thanks Larry for teaching me heaps.
My Themeframe built sites
  #4  
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:52 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,110 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
Yeah I guess it does depend on level of comfort and familiarity. I do, however, always update my test site first and then some less important sites. I also have backups (in most cases) before upgrading.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #5  
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:54 AM
RP_Joe
 
24 posts · Aug 2010
Philippines
I have been working with it for 2 days. the only thing I don't like is the editor. The tabs used to say visual and HTML. now they say visual and text.

I think that could be confusing to people who don't have a high tech experience. Even newbies know what HTML is. I suspect they won't know what the difference between visual and text is.
  #6  
Old Dec 17, 2012, 05:57 AM
Grum
 
35 posts · Feb 2010
Scotland
I haven't seen any major problems, although since updating to WP3.5 and ATA 3.7.10, I notice that my WP-Cirrus tag cloud widget has stopped working. I have no idea why.
__________________
Grum
ATA 3.7.18/ WP 3.9.2
  #7  
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:04 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,326 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
Quote:
the only thing I don't like is the editor. The tabs used to say visual and HTML. now they say visual and text.
uncheck 'Disable the visual editor when writing', no tab shows up to show you what you have selected. Oh well.

I think if you are concerned about WP 3.5 issues, you should be monitering the wordpress.org forums.

Quote:
I notice that my WP-Cirrus tag cloud widget has stopped working
I just installed it and it works fine for me - try disabling all your other plugins and see what happens.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Dec 17, 2012 at 07:08 AM.
  #8  
Old Dec 19, 2012, 06:16 AM
Grum
 
35 posts · Feb 2010
Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
I just installed it and it works fine for me - try disabling all your other plugins and see what happens.
I tired that but it didn't help, and now I also get an error message from Jetpack saying that the site is not accessible (although it was fine before). Hmmm... I suspect a setting in my Better WP Security module, but what?
__________________
Grum
ATA 3.7.18/ WP 3.9.2
  #9  
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:07 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,326 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
did you disable ALL your plugins at the same time and then just enable WP-Cirrus tag cloud?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Dec 19, 2012, 07:30 AM
Grum
 
35 posts · Feb 2010
Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
did you disable ALL your plugins at the same time and then just enable WP-Cirrus tag cloud?
Yes, that's exactly what I did. WP-Cirrus still didn't work. I have however managed to get Jetpack working again by re-enabling that plugin before anything else.
__________________
Grum
ATA 3.7.18/ WP 3.9.2

Last edited by Grum; Dec 19, 2012 at 07:37 AM.
  #11  
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:24 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,326 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
odd, that widget works fine for me, what happens if you swap to twenty-twelve and use the widget? does it work then?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #12  
Old Dec 19, 2012, 09:35 AM
Grum
 
35 posts · Feb 2010
Scotland
The same thing happened in twenty-twelve, but then it is OK if I go back to ATA 3.7.7.

Ahhh.. wait a minute. The WP-Cirrus widget is not showing up on the widget page in 3.7.10, and I had mistakenly used the Tag Cloud widget instead, which of course is not the same thing.
I used to just drag the WP-Cirrus widget onto the sidebar, but it doesn't seem to be showing up now?
__________________
Grum
ATA 3.7.18/ WP 3.9.2
  #13  
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:12 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,326 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
so are you saying you can't drag the widget to one of the sidebars or thatt you can drag it, but it won't stay in the sidebar.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #14  
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:19 AM
Grum
 
35 posts · Feb 2010
Scotland
I'm saying that the WP-Cirrus widget completely vanishes from the widgets page when I switch theme to ATA 3.7.10 or twenty-twelve. I even tried dragging it from the sidebar to the inactive widgets area before switching themes, but it even disappears from there.
Very odd.

**update - I just tried completely deleting the plug-in, updating the theme, then re-installing. That seems to have done the trick, and it's working again. Very weird though.
Anyway, thanks for the input, Juggledad - it did get me thinking of things to try.
__________________
Grum
ATA 3.7.18/ WP 3.9.2

Last edited by Grum; Dec 19, 2012 at 10:27 AM.
  #15  
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:20 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,326 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
if you send me a PM with an admin ID/PW i'll take a peek
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Bookmarks

Tags
compatability, wordpress 3.5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated wordpress/atahualpa - website not showing (wp-admin.install.php) Puk New Versions, & Updating 1 Oct 10, 2012 10:11 PM
[SOLVED] Has anyone w/ 3.53 updated to WP 3.0.2? GuruJ New Versions, & Updating 11 Dec 23, 2010 11:59 AM
Updated wordpress and site has become corrupted :( wardrob New Versions, & Updating 1 Nov 17, 2010 10:42 AM
Who has updated to wordpress to 2.8.6? KilRoY66 Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 9 Nov 15, 2009 11:24 AM
Removing links in footer: WordPress Wordpress Themes Premium Wordpress Themes? Alien99 Post-Kicker, -Byline & -Footer 13 Aug 4, 2009 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.