Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Montezuma Theme »

[SOLVED] 2 Issues: Missing Sprites and Linked Images Won't Resize


  #1  
Old Oct 18, 2012, 03:55 PM
chicknlil
 
8 posts · Oct 2012
Greetings to all who read this:

I stumbled across this theme several days ago and have been enjoying it immensely - I've adjusted the colors (including recoloring the sprites to match my new theme choice), but at some point the sprites just...stopped working.

If you mouseover the 'about' section, for instance, you can briefly see a broken image flash up before it disappears.

I tried setting up menus (using the pre-built menu options of menu1 and menu2, with 2 featuring my categories) ... the only thing that continued to show in that navigation bar was the 'about' and it's missing sprite.

I'm not sure if the other problem is related to this - when I use the URL upload for images for my posts, it doesn't resize the images, even if I go into the advanced image properties and manually set the height/width.

I'm okay with CSS (I can stumble along if pointed in the right direction) and do have access to someone with significantly more skill than me, but I'm really at a loss at this point.

Could anyone provide any thoughts or directions?

I'd be happy to send the link to my blog via PM to those interested in helping, but given the nature of the subjectmatter, I'd prefer not to include it in this thread.

Thanks much for taking the time to read this.

Regards.
  #2  
Old Oct 23, 2012, 09:42 PM
chicknlil
 
8 posts · Oct 2012
I'm not sure as to the appropriateness of 'bumping' a post, but these problems persist.

Surely there is someone out there who could assist with this?

I really like this theme, and while these issues are not of an earthshattering nature, they are enough that I'll begin looking elsewhere if I can't get them fixed.

Regards.
  #3  
Old Oct 24, 2012, 07:12 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
what is the url?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #4  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 12:32 AM
chicknlil
 
8 posts · Oct 2012
You should have a new PM from me, sir.
  #5  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 04:30 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
the file that is missing is
HTML Code:
http://yourdomain.com/wp-content/themes/montezuma/images/menu-icons-E04CED.png
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #6  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 01:43 PM
chicknlil
 
8 posts · Oct 2012
Ah, I see what happened there! When I did my bulk find and replace for the color, I changed what file it should be looking for!

Thank you, I never would have caught that (seriously, I was assuming it was something major!).

Any thoughts on getting linked images to resize? Or am I just going to need to start saving images to my space and being able to do them that way?

Regards.
  #7  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 04:23 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Point to an example
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #8  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 04:28 PM
chicknlil
 
8 posts · Oct 2012
Example PM'd.
  #9  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 05:42 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
do you use Firebug? If not get into FireFox and down load the Firebug addon.
once you have it installed go to that page and enable it and use the 'inspect' tool (second icon in the menu, looks like a blue rectangle with a blue pointer in it) and select the image.
Now you will see the CSS that is applied to it. take a look at the various CSS and change come of the values and tell me what you find.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 06:37 PM
chicknlil
 
8 posts · Oct 2012
Not a firefox fan, chrome user instead, so I inspected the elements and have taken a screencap of what I saw. There's definitely something amuck there - I've forward it via PM.
  #11  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 06:41 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
now what happens if you play with some of the CSS settings?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #12  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 06:45 PM
chicknlil
 
8 posts · Oct 2012
when I uncheck the following

Code:
max-width: 100%;
height: auto;
width: auto;
the image shows at the size as indicated in the img attribute coding.

This seems to indicate this particular bit of coding is in the style.css file - which doesn't appear to be one of the ones that we normally would edit (I can manually edit it and/or upload an edited version, not really an issue) - but do you agree with my assessment?
  #13  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 06:54 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
try changing the values in firebug

(that's in the contents..css file)
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Oct 26, 2012 at 06:56 PM.
  #14  
Old Oct 26, 2012, 07:07 PM
chicknlil
 
8 posts · Oct 2012
I commented out those particular lines in the content.css file - bingo! Now the images correctly take the attributes I set - thank you!

I am rather poor these days, so I have donated 'a beer' - typical thanks from XDA where I also spend a fair bit of time.

Best regards sir, and thank you again - this thread can be marked as solved.

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prevent images from being hot linked theadventurebite Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 1 Aug 11, 2012 01:57 PM
how to use linked image sprites using css? over_cloud9 Center area post/pages 1 Jul 25, 2012 11:44 AM
[SOLVED] Removing Border from Linked Images MinnieYie Sidebars & Widgets 3 Oct 13, 2010 04:34 PM
rotating slideshow with linked images, on the homepage viewdesigninc Plugins & Atahualpa 1 Aug 4, 2009 07:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.