Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Page & Category Menu Bars »

Different colors for hover and current state of menus


  #1  
Old Oct 2, 2012, 03:18 AM
tbaxter
 
92 posts · May 2012
Germantown, MD
Is it possible to code different colors for the hover state and the current state on a menu?
  #2  
Old Oct 2, 2012, 05:27 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,684 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
yes it is, this has been asked and answered - do a forum search
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 05:05 AM
tbaxter
 
92 posts · May 2012
Germantown, MD
Did one and found a plethora of posts with unresolved answers and a lot of people confused and commenting on how complex it is.

Guess I don't need to know that badly.
  #4  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 05:13 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,684 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
did you try the theme option ata->MENU 1 (Page Menu)->Background color: Hover?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 06:31 AM
tbaxter
 
92 posts · May 2012
Germantown, MD
That was what I did first thing.

But I want one background/type color for hover,
and one background/type color for current,
not the same for both.
  #6  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 07:10 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,684 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
But I want one background/type color for hover,
and one background/type color for current,
not the same for both.
did you look at the other options there?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 08:16 AM
tbaxter
 
92 posts · May 2012
Germantown, MD
?????? Uh, yeeees, I did. Obviously I'm missing something.

Maybe you can hint at what it was?
  #8  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 08:30 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,684 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
ok, let me ask do you want three options
- default background color
- active background color
- hover background color
so there would be three different color?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 09:00 AM
tbaxter
 
92 posts · May 2012
Germantown, MD
Correct.

Unless I am wrong that the menu button showing what page you are on is called something other than "active."
  #10  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 10:08 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,684 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
You can do it via the CSS inserts, but I'm going to see if I can mod the code so it will be a option.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 01:40 PM
tbaxter
 
92 posts · May 2012
Germantown, MD
That'd be great.
  #12  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 01:56 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,684 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
You might want to do this with CSS. I've a paying customer to do some work for now and won't get back to trying this for a few days at least.

check the stickies in the page menu bar and look for the 'cheat sheet' which you can use to help you create the correct CSS
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Oct 3, 2012, 02:02 PM
tbaxter
 
92 posts · May 2012
Germantown, MD
I'll give it a shot. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
  #14  
Old Oct 28, 2012, 04:12 AM
davidsteinmusic
 
13 posts · Sep 2010
Atahualpa 3.7.9
WP 3.4.2
http://www.nodesignstein.com

--active state style not working in page menu--

I used JDs colored menu cheat sheet and have been working on styling the page menu via CSS inserts can't get the menu's active state style to work. Maybe that will help the previous post, tho my css is sloppy at best. I think i ordered the statements correctly, ie,

Quote:
Note: a:hover MUST come after a:link and a:visited in the CSS definition in order to be effective!!

Note: a:active MUST come after a:hover in the CSS definition in order to be effective!!

Note: Pseudo-class names are not case-sensitive.
But there is a 2px border around the active state that is the color of the default state and as far as i can tell, i didn't put that in the css. I tried removing some / all of the !important and couldn't get it to be 1 solid cover for the active state. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

I have the following code in ATO>Add HTML/CSS Inserts

/* ================================================ */
/* Page menu background */
/* ================================================ */
div#menu1 {
margin-top:10px;
margin-left:20px;
}

/* ================================================ */
/* Page Menu item's background */
/* ================================================ */
div#menu1 ul.rMenu {
border: 0px solid #fffffe;
background: #fffffe;
height: 35px;

}

/* ================================================ */
/* Page Menu item */
/* ================================================ */

ul.rMenu li a:link,
ul.rMenu li a:visited,
ul.rMenu li {

width: 90px !important;
line-height: 2.3em !important;
padding-right: 12px;
margin:0px 6px 0px 6px;
background: #dddddd;
border: 1px solid #dddddd;
text-align:center;

}
ul.rMenu li a:hover {
background: #bbbbbb !important;
border: 1px solid #bbbbbb !important;

}
ul.rMenu li a:active {
background: #cccccc !important;
border: 2px solid #cccccc !important;
color: #787878 !important:
}
  #15  
Old Oct 28, 2012, 04:27 AM
davidsteinmusic
 
13 posts · Sep 2010
Cool - i solved it - kinda. Still having some issues but getting closer.

As per lmilesw's advice here: http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=18785

I just added:

.current_page_item a {
background: #cccccc !important;
border: 1px solid #cccccc !important;
color: #787878 !important:
}

Bookmarks

Tags
current state, hover, menu 1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
working page menu bar with background image, image on hover, transparent link state cway Page & Category Menu Bars 1 Nov 1, 2011 04:06 PM
[SOLVED] I would like to use only hover but not current menu color pickertgmbh Page & Category Menu Bars 0 Apr 10, 2011 05:42 AM
Background color does not change for menu items in current state cfibanez Page & Category Menu Bars 4 Sep 2, 2010 12:18 PM
Current state of Bugs/Fixes Flynn New Versions, & Updating 13 Dec 19, 2008 10:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.