Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Sidebars & Widgets »

Problem with background color of an individual widget


  #1  
Old Aug 1, 2012, 04:32 PM
joshuamu
 
88 posts · Jun 2012
nairobi
I have been struggling with this for over a month. I have gone through all threads but all in vain. from one of the threads i learned how to change the background color of a single widget but when i use that, nothing happens. look at the css i use and tell me what is my mistake.

div.text-26 {
background-color: #EEEEEE;
}

I am trying to color the widget which contains authors bio. http://www.christiantruthcenter.com
  #2  
Old Aug 1, 2012, 05:35 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,626 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
I am trying to color the widget which contains authors bio
which widget might that be?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Aug 2, 2012, 12:35 AM
joshuamu
 
88 posts · Jun 2012
nairobi
In the side bar, it is the first top widget. The widget contains a picture of myself and a small bio
  #4  
Old Aug 2, 2012, 03:00 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,626 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
the 'text-26 is the ID not a CLASS - you need to correct your syntax
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Aug 2, 2012, 05:41 AM
joshuamu
 
88 posts · Jun 2012
nairobi
From a previous thread i read that we use the widget id and that is what i used. which syntax do i use then? give me an explanation on this.

Last edited by joshuamu; Aug 2, 2012 at 05:45 AM.
  #6  
Old Aug 2, 2012, 10:48 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,626 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
You do use teh ID, you just have teh syntax wrong. Go read take a CSS tutorial and see teh difference between ID and CLASS syntax. A good tutorial is at htmldog.com
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Aug 2, 2012, 12:20 PM
joshuamu
 
88 posts · Jun 2012
nairobi
I have tried all that in vain. even if i change the css to;

div#text-26 {
background-color: #EEEEEE;
}

I do not see any change.
  #8  
Old Aug 2, 2012, 03:37 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,626 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
there is a div within the main div that also is being assigned a background color, so your CSS works fine, it is just being overriden by the second background statement. you need to override that CSSAND prefix teh selector with the 'div#test-26' selector.

If you look at it with FireBug in FireFox, you should see it real easily.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Aug 2, 2012, 05:03 PM
joshuamu
 
88 posts · Jun 2012
nairobi
i have tried to override it with this below css but all in vain;

div#text-26 {
background-color: #EEEEEE !important;
}

Can you please give me a good example?
  #10  
Old Aug 2, 2012, 07:10 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,626 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Did you examine the elements using firebug?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Aug 3, 2012, 10:22 AM
joshuamu
 
88 posts · Jun 2012
nairobi
not yet. is there any other way because all my widgets needs to be styled and non is accepting my commands?

Last edited by joshuamu; Aug 3, 2012 at 10:28 AM.
  #12  
Old Aug 3, 2012, 12:55 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,626 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
not yet. is there any other way
sure, view the page and then view with page source and look at the code...though FireBug is easier.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Aug 3, 2012 at 01:09 PM.

Bookmarks

Tags
styling widgets, widget background color, widgets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Change background color of individual widgets bdups Sidebars & Widgets 2 Nov 14, 2011 08:23 AM
Problem with background color when changing Page Template lizvida Sidebars & Widgets 1 Jan 1, 2011 06:44 PM
Problem changing the background color of just one of the page menu items\buttons Thomas Page & Category Menu Bars 3 Jun 6, 2010 05:38 PM
Change background color of individual widgets Photokitchen Sidebars & Widgets 4 May 9, 2009 05:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.