Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Header configuration & styling »

[SOLVED] How do I fix position of custom header elements - not displaying correctly i


  #1  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 01:33 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Hello,

I've added some elements above the default header, which are not displaying in the correct positionin Firefox. They display fine in Chrome. I've set up custom CSS in the "CSS Inserts" section, and custom HTML in the "HTML Inserts:Header" section, to create these elements. I'm using Atahualpa 3.7.3 and Wordpress 3.2.1.

Here is a link to my project:
http://www.catherinegeorge.com/cybermill/

Thank you!
  #2  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 01:36 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Hello,

Here is a link to my project:
http://www.catherinegeorge.com/cybermill

In firefox, the elements at the very top seem to be pushing the rest of the design to the right. In Chrome, the positioning of everything is displaying correctly. How do I fix this problem for Firefox?

Thanks!

Last edited by juggledad; Dec 19, 2011 at 02:20 PM.
  #3  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:22 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
check your CSS Inserts for syntax errors
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #4  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:53 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Thank you, checked and fixed CSS syntax.

Doing so did not fix the positioning problem in the custom header elements.

What else might I try?

Thank you!
  #5  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 03:21 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
so what did you fix because I still see a syntax error
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #6  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 03:30 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Thanks for looking.

I checked inside Dreamweaver and fixed br and ampersand tags - those are the errors that came up. Just checked online - sorry, I should have done that first. Correct me if I'm wrong but it looks as though I'm having the problem because I've put in custom HTML which is being put within the "head" section rather into the "body" section of the page code. Is that the problem? How do I get around that?
  #7  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 03:42 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
It seems like the searchbox CSS may be part of the issue but this is the kind of thing that takes know how you want everything placed and in this case starting from scratch as there might be CSS that is overlapping with other CSS.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #8  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 03:44 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
You have a double }
you put it in the html code in the wrong place (it's abovethe <body>
the position relative is messing it up
and Why are you using dreamweaver?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 03:50 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Hi,

Thanks very much.

I'm not seeing the double }} - can you please point it out?

Yes, that's my question; how do I add custom HTML so that it gets inserted in the correct place? Also, if it's being inserted in the wrong place, then why are the custom elements displaying correctly in Chrome?

I'm using Dreamweaver just to write bits of code so that I can copy and paste them into wordpress.

Thank you!
  #10  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 04:30 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Thanks again for your help.

Ok, I've put the HTML in the correct place. I've removed the "position relative" from the custom header elements. I've checked and can't find the double }, so can you please tell me where it is?

Thanks very much!
  #11  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 05:16 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Hello,

I'm still trying to solve the positioning problem at the top of the page, for Firefox:

http://www.catherinegeorge.com/cybermill

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!
  #12  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 06:40 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
It looks like you put the code in 'HTML Inserts: Body Tag' so now it is part of the <body....> statement. HTML elements don't go there.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 07:13 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Ok, thanks.

Where am I supposed to put them?

Thank you!
  #14  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 07:15 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Ah, now I see what you mean.

Ok, I put the custom header stuff in the proper place now, I hope.

However, I'm still seeing the same layout problem in Firefox.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
  #15  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 07:27 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Look at the site in FireFox using FireBug and start playing with the CSS. You can shut off CSS on the fly and determine what might be happening
Or
view the source of the page and copy it to a text file and open it in your browser. Now you can play with the code and change theings to find out what is happening. Start by changing the class names (just add an 'x' to the begining ) so the css wont apply, do a save then do a refresh in the browser and see what happens
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by lmilesw; Dec 19, 2011 at 08:56 PM.
  #16  
Old Dec 19, 2011, 08:37 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Ok, thanks very much, I'll try that!
  #17  
Old Dec 20, 2011, 03:31 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Thanks for the help so far.

Please check again and let me know if you have more feedback, thanks!
http://www.catherinegeorge.com/cybermill

I seem to have fixed many of the layout elements. When I grab the code from "view source" and pasted into Dreamweaver, everything seems fixed now except for the "logoarea" table. I've tried a lot of different things but so far have not been able to fix that.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you!
  #18  
Old Dec 20, 2011, 04:14 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,682 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
look at the CSS for the searchbox
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #19  
Old Dec 20, 2011, 07:40 PM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
Wow, thank you!!!

As soon as I removed "float:left" from the searchbox div, the layout was fixed in Firefox!!!

Thank you thank you thank you!

However, now the search box is not visible, because it's bumping down and to the left. How do I get it to stay in the top right area, without using a float?

Thanks!
  #20  
Old Dec 21, 2011, 08:54 AM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,174 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
You just need to relatively position it. Try addin something like the following to the searchbox css

position: relative;
bottom: 30px;
left: 795px;
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #21  
Old Dec 21, 2011, 11:15 AM
misofrappacino
 
17 posts · Dec 2011
WOW!!! Wow wow wow!!!

That worked!!!

Thank you thank you thank you!!!

I am sending you virtual electronic puppies and balloons!!!

Thank you!!!

Thank you to infinity!!!

Bookmarks

Tags
firefox, header edit, positioning

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Header Not Displaying Correctly in IE8 c12281 Header configuration & styling 2 Oct 28, 2011 09:24 AM
[SOLVED] Sub menu not displaying correctly quillik Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 11 Apr 1, 2011 12:38 PM
Header widget position different in Chrome vs Firefox mhovitch Header configuration & styling 3 Dec 6, 2010 10:11 AM
Site Not Displaying Correctly in Opera c12281 New Versions, & Updating 7 Nov 4, 2010 08:54 AM
Having a problem with my custom header displaying using FireFox als_lespaul Header configuration & styling 2 Jan 26, 2009 08:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.