Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click Here To DONATE! Support the theme development, get more attention and additional benefits based on your donation level. Your forum name will be highlighted.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Header configuration & styling »

How to modify these instructions to put the widget area inplace of %image?


Build custom WP THEMES, without
coding.
Click here for THEMEFRAME

From the author of Atahualpa, the #1 most
downloaded (700,000+) theme @ wordpress.org
  #1  
Old Nov 3, 2011, 03:43 PM
jms5017's Avatar
jms5017
 
72 posts · Jul 2010
NY/NJ Metro area
Can this example be adapted to create the effect in the attached jpg?
http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=330
Specifically, I want to use a plugin to create an image gallery carousel in place of the %image
only on my home page. The image gallery will not appear on any other page.

The site will consist primarily of pages. If its important, the image gallery plugin that I planned to use is
http://1plugin.com/galleries/postma

I think I need to add a widget in place of % image, but I'm not really sure where to start. Your help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Last edited by jms5017; Aug 27, 2014 at 11:40 AM.
  #2  
Old Nov 3, 2011, 06:15 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,168 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
all you need do is enter the code for a new widget area in place of the %image. Give it a shot, read the directions and try it.
__________________
Give a person a solution, you fix one issue, teach a person how to solve their problem you enable them forever.
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Nov 3, 2011, 07:04 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,082 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
Also here is another gallery plugin you might want to look at that is not flash and looks more like your example.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #4  
Old Nov 6, 2011, 03:40 PM
jms5017's Avatar
jms5017
 
72 posts · Jul 2010
NY/NJ Metro area
Juggledad: Could you just be a bit more specific as to what you mean by "the code for a new widget area?" Does code refer to php code? Is it this code?
<?PHP bfa_widget_area('name=Menu Widget Only'); ?>
or is it the short code for the plugin? Neither seems to work. Am I supposed to be following the directions at
http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=330
If so, I got lost trying to determine exactly which file I needed to put this
<?php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar(X) ) : endif; ?>
code into.
It seemed like I should be adding it to the index.php file, but as you already knew, that file only has a comment in it! I guess its pretty obvious that I'm not *yet* a php programmer.....Any help is appreciated.
  #5  
Old Nov 6, 2011, 06:15 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,168 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
go to ATO->Style & edit HEADER AREA->Center column style and instead of putting in '%image' put in
HTML Code:
<?PHP bfa_widget_area('name=My_header_widget'); ?>
then view the front page of your site
then go to dashboard->appearances->widgets and you should see a widget area called 'My_header_widget'. You can add what ever widget you want into it.

If you want it to only show on the front page, get the plugin 'widget logic' or 'dynamic widgets' and you can use them to set when it should display
__________________
Give a person a solution, you fix one issue, teach a person how to solve their problem you enable them forever.
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #6  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 09:13 AM
jms5017's Avatar
jms5017
 
72 posts · Jul 2010
NY/NJ Metro area
The header widget is not showing up in the dashboard > appearances > widgets. I still only see widget areas in the sidebar. I cut and paste the code from your repsonse, so I know its typed correctly. Am I putting the php code in the right place? It is ATO>Style & Edit Header Area >
Configure Header Area Your instructions said to put it in Center Column style but I don't see any place else on the Style & Edit header area page that might pertain to the header styling. I considered adding to the HTML/CSS Inserts or the new header image overlay, but the instructions in each of those section specifically say "No php code."
What am I missing?
  #7  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 09:15 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,168 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
you are right it should have said 'ATO->Style & Edit Header Area->Configure Header Area' (I've got a cold)
Once you add it, go visit the front page (so the code will run to create the area) then visit the widget area.
__________________
Give a person a solution, you fix one issue, teach a person how to solve their problem you enable them forever.
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #8  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 10:24 AM
jms5017's Avatar
jms5017
 
72 posts · Jul 2010
NY/NJ Metro area
I can't seem to get the widget to show up in the header area. I copied and pasted your code, reloaded the page several times, even signed completely out of WP reloaded the page and checked the widget area several times, no luck.
The site is jkstest.info
When I look at the page source, I see the php code, but no div.
I tried it with the %pages and without, neither worked.
What am I missing?
  #9  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 11:30 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,168 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
can't tell from the outside. If you want me to take a look, send me a PM with a admin ID/PW and I'll take a peek
__________________
Give a person a solution, you fix one issue, teach a person how to solve their problem you enable them forever.
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #10  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 12:21 PM
jms5017's Avatar
jms5017
 
72 posts · Jul 2010
NY/NJ Metro area
I just want to be sure that you received the PM - wasn't sure that I sent it properly.
  #11  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 12:44 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,168 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
i'll take a look now
__________________
Give a person a solution, you fix one issue, teach a person how to solve their problem you enable them forever.
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #12  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 12:49 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,168 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
the 'PHP' had to be lowercase - I learn something new every day
check it out, you have a widget area. don't forget to change your password
__________________
Give a person a solution, you fix one issue, teach a person how to solve their problem you enable them forever.
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 01:03 PM
jms5017's Avatar
jms5017
 
72 posts · Jul 2010
NY/NJ Metro area
Thanks!!
Would that code work to put a widget anyplace on a page? (assuming that I gave another instance a unique name?)
  #14  
Old Nov 7, 2011, 01:09 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,168 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
it works in some areas like the footer, but for the center area, you need to put it in index.php
__________________
Give a person a solution, you fix one issue, teach a person how to solve their problem you enable them forever.
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Nov 16, 2011, 10:03 AM
tr1guy
 
1 posts · Nov 2011
Brilliant thread! Solved my question without even having to post it!

Thanks for the answers!

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
add widget between header image and logo area d124c0 Sidebars & Widgets 7 Oct 13, 2011 12:44 PM
Want to have widget area next to header image crunchyfrugalista Header configuration & styling 1 Sep 1, 2011 02:01 PM
[SOLVED] Sidebar Title or modify css of a specify widget ponzaracconta Sidebars & Widgets 4 Jan 30, 2011 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.