Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Plugins & Atahualpa »

Posts of Category "Bulletin" on home page?

Old Aug 4, 2009, 04:31 PM
RAMilewski

20 posts · Aug 2009
San Jose, California
I'm running Atahualpa 3.4.2 on Wordpress 2.8.3. ...and I'm a Wordpress NOOB.

Mostly, I'm using Wordpress as a CMS for a site with lots of static pages. But I would like to have the most recent post (preferably the most recent post in the "bulletin" category) appear above the content of the page "home".

Settings>Reading>Front Page Displays is set to "a static page".

Can I add something to Altahualpa Options in the "content ABOVE the LOOP" section to display the latest post in the "bulletin" category?

or....

Should I change Settings>Reading>Front Page Displays to "your latest posts" with a loop size of 1, and try to add something to Altahualpa Options in the "content BELOW the LOOP" section to display the page "home". ...if so what goes there?

Thanks!
Old Aug 8, 2009, 06:00 AM
Flynn

3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
See http://codex.wordpress.org/Template_Tags/query_posts

and wrap your code into

<?php if ( is_front_page() ) {
...query_posts code here, without opening and closing php tags <?php ... ?>
} ?>
Old Aug 14, 2009, 02:05 PM
RAMilewski

20 posts · Aug 2009
San Jose, California
Thanks, that gets me closer, but I'm unclear where to place that code.

The code snippet I'm using is:

<?php if ( is_front_page() ) { query_posts('showposts=1&cat=6'); } ?>