Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » New Versions, & Updating »

Child theme or not?

Old Apr 26, 2012, 06:48 PM
gsa1

2 posts · Mar 2012
Hello,
I'm a newbie to WP and Atahualpa, and I want to set up my Atahualpa theme correctly before I start to customize it.

Assuming I want to make a number of customizations to the theme, should I create a child theme so Atahualpa will update with my changes correctly for future updates? If so how? (send me a link to instructions if possible, please)

What's the best way to prevent problems with future updates to the theme?

Thanks!
-Gary
Old Apr 26, 2012, 06:59 PM
juggledad

23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
all the atahualpa 'options' are stored in the database so they carry forth over theme upgrades, no need to create child theme, you shouldn't have to update the code.
Old Apr 26, 2012, 11:45 PM
Knut Sparhell

34 posts · Jun 2010
Fredrikstad, Norway
"No need to create a child theme" is an arrogant statement. Or just incomptetence.

I use child themes of Atahualpa. I need to, especially after php functions had to be removed from theme options.

The main problem is that all the fuctions ion functions.php lack the condition function_exsits. If I then create my own functions.php trying to override tha atahualpa functions it will fail.

Overriding theme files like index.php works.
Old Apr 27, 2012, 03:50 AM
juggledad

23,765 posts · Mar 2009
HTML Code: