Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Page & Category Menu Bars »

How do I change the menu navigation and add 'featured' post to main page?

Old Aug 18, 2009, 09:00 PM
sspeedy

7 posts · Aug 2009
Hey everyone,

This is my first time dealing with WP, PHP, and tweaking themes in general. There's only one good thing about this whole thing, and it's that I'm a programmer

I read about Atahualpa online so I chose it and I've been playing with it for a day or two. I have two main concerns

1. How can I change the location of "Home" and "About"? For instance, by default, they show up on top left corner, above the icon logo etc. Ideally I'd like to move them below the banner image. Can this be done? If so, how? Please break it down as much as possible

2. So I want to main columns, one is the content column and one is the right side-bar. I accomplished this part. The main content column, I want it to contain three things: top entry should be a 'featured post' (which should have a 'click to read more'), then underneathe it, the main content column should 'split' into two for news stories on left and deals on the right. Perhaps it can show the last 5 entries in both categories. For an example, please look at http://www.problogger.net/.

I'm not copying, but this is the design that will probably work best for what I'm about to set-up. To accomplish either, should I be tweaking the CSS file itself or can this be done through the 'atahualpa theme options'...?

Thank you!