Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

[SOLVED] Trying to understand page layout.....

Old Apr 16, 2009, 10:22 AM
RobertSGold

9 posts · Apr 2009
I am still new at HTML, and have been very happy with the theme. I've learned a lot, and am progressing with my new site.

I am having trouble accomplishing a look that seems to be normal with other sites; having a fixed-width content area in the center of the screen, with a color background on either side of the content to accomodate different width monitors. Please see as an example, http://www.enclaria.com/, done in WP with a premium theme (Essence from iThemes). The color (and textured) background fills the page regardless of the monitor width, and when the window is resized, the content remains centered and not cut off until the resize is narrower than the content.

With every conceivable combination of parameters on the Layout page, I am unable to accomplish this desired behavior.

It surprises me that I can't find a forum post on this topic. Maybe I am just a bit slow.....

Thanks.
Old Apr 16, 2009, 11:37 AM
Flynn

3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
See Atahualpa Theme Options -> Layout -> Layout WIDTH and type (FLUID or FIXED)

Put a pixel value there such as

1000px

To apply a background image on the body, see Atahualpa Theme Options -> Body, Text & Links -> Body Style

Add something like

HTML Code:
background: url(/wp-content/themes/atahualpa332/images/backgr.gif) repeat top left;
there