Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Center area post/pages »

2 columns for posts on blog home page?

Old Apr 16, 2009, 08:44 AM
redbiker

2 posts · Apr 2009
I'm new to Wordpress/php so please be gentle with me.

How can I edit the index.php file (assuming that's what I need to do) so that when the homepage is displayed posts are shown in 2 even columns rather than the standard single column?
Old Apr 16, 2009, 06:10 PM
Flynn

3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
Read the bottom of this post first on how to apply this to only the homepage

In index.php replace

PHP Code:
    <?php // The LOOP. Do this for all posts:

while (have_posts()) : the_post(); $postcount++; ?>
(or similar, I am already in 3.3.3)

with

PHP Code:
    <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
    <?php $column 1?>
    <?php // The LOOP. Do this for all posts:

while (have_posts()) : the_post(); $postcount++; ?> 

<?php if ($column == 1) echo "<tr>"?>

<td class="column<?php echo $col;?>" style="vertical-align: top">
and still in index.php replace

PHP Code:
    <?php // END of the LOOP

endwhile; ?>
with

PHP Code:
        </td>

<?php if ($column == 2) echo "</tr>"; (($column==1) ? $column=$column=1); ?>

<?php // END of the LOOP

endwhile; ?> 
</table>
And at Theme Options -> Posts or Excerpts
choose "Only Excerpts" everywhere