Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » Running WordPress » Installing & running WordPress »

My index file is messed up... please help!

Old Aug 3, 2009, 01:21 PM
plzhelp

3 posts · Aug 2009
Hi,

In trying to follow the arcane instructions for "Giving Wordpress Its Own Directory", I severely messed things up.

I thought I followed every step, but clearly missed something. I'm new to programming, so I should have just left well enough alone.

Well, now when I go to my old url, I see the sidebar, header image, and footer, but everything else is missing. The title says "Page not found." And I cannot log in to Wordpress.

One more thing, if it helps: I did change "require('./wp-blog-header.php');" to "('./wordpress/wp-blog-header.php');" and got this message:

Quote:
Warning: require_once(admin.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /dailyas1/wordpress/wp-admin/edit.php on line 2

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required 'admin.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /dailyas1/wordpress/wp-admin/edit.php on line 2
After some more attempts at restoring it, I got line 17 (instead of 2), once.

So I just switched back to "require('./wp-blog-header.php');". And now here I am.

Is there any way to restore or locate the old index and all the customizations I made? I don't want to lose everything!!

aaah!

Thanks for any help!

-frustrated newbie

Last edited by plzhelp; Aug 3, 2009 at 01:27 PM.
Old Aug 3, 2009, 01:23 PM
plzhelp