Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Sidebars & Widgets »

[SOLVED] Extra page links


  #1  
Old Jan 18, 2013, 03:52 AM
edlElisabet
 
20 posts · Feb 2011
Hi! I want to add some extra links that are only shown on some pages in my site. The links will link to "page pages". I have already added some links like that to another page with menus and then I used Style and configure sidebars and added the pages that I didn't want the menu/links to show in. That worked fine.

Then I tried to add a menu and links to the left inner sidebar so the links didn't conflict with the existing links, but then the links from the inner sidebar keep showing up in the frontpage and other places on the site.

Is there an easier way to do this?

I have latest version of Wordpress and Atahualpa.

Best regards Edle Holmin

Last edited by juggledad; Jan 18, 2013 at 05:20 AM.
  #2  
Old Jan 18, 2013, 05:22 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
I don't understand what you are trying to do. can you supply a detailed example of what you are trying?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #3  
Old Jan 26, 2013, 04:21 PM
edlElisabet
 
20 posts · Feb 2011
I'm sorry, I found a solution to the problem by adding some buttons.

But I have another question. I have added this to the css insert:

div.widget ul {
list-style-type: none !important;
}
div.widget a:link,
div.widget a:visited {
border-left: 0 !important;
padding-left: 0 !important;
color: #000000 !important;
text-decoration:none;
}
div.widget a:active {
border-left: 0 !important;
padding-left: 0 !important;
color: #9F153E !important;
text-decoration:none;
}
div.widget ul {
list-style-type: none !important;
}
div.widget a:hover {
color: #9F153E !important;
}

I want the active links to show in a different color in the left sidebar, but it doesnt work. It only shows in black color and I want the visitors to see where their at in the page.
  #4  
Old Jan 26, 2013, 06:16 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
what is the url to the site pointing at an example where it doesn't work?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #5  
Old Jan 27, 2013, 12:14 AM
edlElisabet
 
20 posts · Feb 2011
Here is the url: www.fannyholmin.no

In the left siderbar I have some links. I want all of the links, also the sublinks to be red when theire active.
  #6  
Old Jan 27, 2013, 05:36 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
the reason your CSS doesn't work is that there is other CSS that is more specific that is being used.
Use a code inspector like the firebug extension in firefox to see what is being applied
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #7  
Old Jan 28, 2013, 03:23 AM
edlElisabet
 
20 posts · Feb 2011
Ok, I don't get it to work. I used Firebug and tried out with different css. I tried

a:active
div.widget a:active
div.widget td a:active
div.widget ul li a:active
div.widget_nav_menu ul li a:active
div.widget_nav_menu ul li a:active

Could you see if you see what I should put in the css insert?
  #8  
Old Jan 28, 2013, 03:44 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
try
HTML Code:
div.widget ul li ul li a:active {
    color: #00F000;
}
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #9  
Old Jan 28, 2013, 01:23 PM
edlElisabet
 
20 posts · Feb 2011
Ok, I tried that, but maybe I have misunderstund what active links are. I want the links to stay in a different color when the visitors is in that page (so they can see what page their in). Here is an example: http://steinmarimusic.com/concerts/

In the horizontal menu bar the links turn green when you are in that page. I would like the same in the sidebar in my other page.
  #10  
Old Jan 28, 2013, 02:47 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
in that case you need to use the 'current_page_item' on the 'li'

You should look at the source of the page and see what classes are added to the different parts of the menu when you click on different pages. It's quite educational
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:05 AM
edlElisabet
 
20 posts · Feb 2011
Thank you so much, that worked fine. I added this to the CSS insert:

div.widget ul li.current_page_item a, div.widget ul ul li.current_page_item a, div.widget ul ul ul li.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}

But my only problem now is that I don't get the red color in the subpages. I used this code:

div.widget li.page_item.page-item-40.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}

But then I have to add this to every subpage and remember to do so every time I make a new subpage. Can you help me with that?
  #12  
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:08 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
when I click on a subpage it becomes red, so I'm now sure what you are trying to do.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #13  
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:40 AM
edlElisabet
 
20 posts · Feb 2011
Yes, to get the submenu red I added this to the CSS Insert:

div.widget li.page_item.page-item-40.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-53.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-35.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-272.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-289.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-235.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-152.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-226.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-257.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
div.widget li.page_item.page-item-244.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}

But then I have to add this code to every new subpage I add. Can I add a code that will work for all the subpages?
  #14  
Old Jan 29, 2013, 06:30 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,765 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
sure you can do it that way but you don't need every class so why not try
HTML Code:
div.widget li.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:48 AM
edlElisabet
 
20 posts · Feb 2011
Thank you, I got confused with all the code. Now I added
div.widget ul li ul li.current_page_item a {
color: #9F153E;
}
And that worked fine for all the subpages.

Thank you SO much for all your help!

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove extra 'Home' page in the menu juggledad Menus 0 Oct 20, 2012 10:07 AM
Creating a static front page creates extra Home page jillin Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 3 Oct 21, 2010 05:24 AM
Extra formatting of the Page Menu Bar andr3w84 Page & Category Menu Bars 9 Jul 19, 2010 02:15 AM
Extra Buttons on Page Menu Bar impossible Page & Category Menu Bars 6 Jun 12, 2010 06:20 AM
Add extra images in page menu bar (but in it) marced Page & Category Menu Bars 0 May 19, 2010 02:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.