Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » FAQ - Atahualpa » Header »

HOWTO: put your image in the header


  #51  
Old Oct 2, 2010, 04:11 PM
mamaTRUE
 
3 posts · Oct 2010
I've uploaded my header image to wp-content/themes/atahualpa/themes/header, deleted all the headers that came with the theme, but my header still won't show up on my site. I've confirmed with westhost that my files uploaded through ftp correctly.

My site is currently http://mamatrue.westhostsite.com

What am I missing?

Thanks for your help!
  #52  
Old Oct 2, 2010, 04:30 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,550 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Quote:
I've uploaded my header image to wp-content/themes/atahualpa/themes/header,
it goes in wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #53  
Old Oct 2, 2010, 09:37 PM
mamaTRUE
 
3 posts · Oct 2010
Sorry about that. I have it in /wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header but it's not showing up on the blog. What should I try next?
  #54  
Old Oct 2, 2010, 10:39 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,173 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
Can you please post a screenshot of an ftp screen of your header folder folder? What you are describing makes no sense but I suspect you are thinking that to.
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #55  
Old Oct 3, 2010, 04:45 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,550 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
while I'm sure you deleted all the installed images and put your own is a folder. it was not the folder
HTML Code:
http://mamatrue.westhostsite.com/wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/header/
which is where your site is getting the images from.

(P.S. I have several sites at westhost.com)
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #56  
Old Oct 3, 2010, 04:00 PM
mamaTRUE
 
3 posts · Oct 2010
You were totally right. Though it was showing mamatrue.whsites.com, it wanted mamatrue.com. Thanks!! Now I'm just trying to find out where I can get the width setting for the header so that I can make the image fit. Any suggestions?
  #57  
Old Oct 3, 2010, 04:43 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,550 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
The header width varies with the page width. I suggest you define a maximum page size (I use 1440) then make your header image that big. Put the important part of the image on the side you 'lock' (look at the header image options) so the other side is truncated if someone makes the screen smaller.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #58  
Old Oct 22, 2010, 03:35 PM
philgreg
 
2 posts · Oct 2010
I am following the just of where to put the images.

I look in my ftp program and the images are there. however they arent showing up.

I pasted the path into a browser, they show up...

where do i refer to them in the atahualpa options please? dashboard
  #59  
Old Oct 22, 2010, 04:18 PM
lmilesw's Avatar
lmilesw
 
10,173 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
Look in ATO>Style & edit Header Area
__________________
~Larry (CNY Web Designs)
This site should be a membership site since it so full of good stuff.
Please consider donating which gives you access to even more good stuff.
  #60  
Old Nov 9, 2010, 12:04 AM
SavvySavingsMom
 
2 posts · Nov 2010
Hi. I'm relatively new to all of this as well, and have read every thread I could find in here on this subject. I use bluehost and used it's FTP program to upload my image. I then deleted the 3 standard images, but I cannot get my image to show up on my blog. Now my front page looks terrible and I'm not sure how to fix it! Do I need to get into the Editor on my dashboard and somehow put it there?
Help!
My website is www. savvysavingsmom .com
  #61  
Old Nov 9, 2010, 12:13 AM
SavvySavingsMom
 
2 posts · Nov 2010
Sorry, I figured it out. I had renamed the image "Savvy Savings Mom Header and just needed to change it to "SavvySavingsMomHeader.jpg"
That did the trick, now just working on tweaking the height/width.
  #62  
Old Jan 11, 2011, 05:03 PM
Jack Beerens
 
6 posts · Jan 2011
Hi,
I use the Atahualpa theme 3.5.3. I did download the 3.6, but a lot of my settings were gone. So I redownloaded 3.5.3. But now I cannot see any header images. I did exactly what you instructed to do in the first post, but I do not know what I did wrong. Please help...?

Jack.

The url to the site is: www.young-desperate.nl
  #63  
Old Jan 11, 2011, 07:23 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,550 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
What is the atahualpa folder called? is it 'atahualpa' or 'atahualpa353'?
What is the full path to the images.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #64  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 05:10 AM
Jack Beerens
 
6 posts · Jan 2011
Hi Juggledad,
Thank you for your reply!
The folder is called 'atahualpa'.
And the full path to the image (it is just one image) is:http://young-desperate.nl/wp-content...images/header/

Thanks ,
Jack
  #65  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 05:37 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,550 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
and what are the names of the images that are in that folder? I should be able to type the path/image-name into a browser window and see the image. If I can't, then it will never show up.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #66  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 11:13 AM
Jack Beerens
 
6 posts · Jan 2011
Hi Juggledad,

Thank you so muich so far.
The image is: logo_YD_900x198.jpg

With kind regards,

Jack
  #67  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 01:03 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,550 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
that file is really a bmp even though you have called it a jpg. edit the image and save it as a jpg. Also reduce the quality it is 700k and takes a while to load, make it no more than 100k
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Jan 12, 2011 at 02:13 PM.
  #68  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 01:56 PM
Jack Beerens
 
6 posts · Jan 2011
I did, but still no visable header image.
Sorry...

Jack
  #69  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 02:15 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,550 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
so what is the image permission?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #70  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 02:17 PM
Jack Beerens
 
6 posts · Jan 2011
I'am sorry, but I do not know what you mean by that...
Or do you mean the rights of the picture:
The numbers are: 744

Last edited by Jack Beerens; Jan 12, 2011 at 02:28 PM.
  #71  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 02:27 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,550 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
see http://codex.wordpress.org/Changing_File_Permissions
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #72  
Old Jan 12, 2011, 02:42 PM
Jack Beerens
 
6 posts · Jan 2011
Sorry, but I am a nitwit in this.
Just build a site out of curiousity, but these permissions are way out of my leagua (still).
I want to understand, but I don't...
Jack

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot get to the file directory to put in my header image ncristine Header configuration & styling 5 Apr 21, 2012 11:33 AM
[SOLVED] I just want to put one simple photo for my header image is that possible cajunblogger Header configuration & styling 1 Nov 9, 2009 01:43 PM
Put search bar in header image area? genevieve Header configuration & styling 0 Jun 19, 2009 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.