Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme »

Noobish question: Do I have to hard code to add widgets to just one particular page?

Old Aug 10, 2010, 04:11 AM
nhfang

15 posts · Aug 2010
Hi all.. i'm extremely new at wordpress (and website creation for that matter) and just installed atahualpa, which i think is the best theme i've came across so far.

1)I would like to have a landing page where I put a content slider or some other widgets/feeds (ie. a typical homepage). I've tried adding a new widget area but it ended up in all pages and posts. I hope I don't have to end up coding the page as I don't know codes at all (perhaps just some basic html).

2)I have added a blank page and pointed the blog page option to this blank page where my posts will be shown. I hope this is the right way to do it.

I would really appreciate if someone can enlighten me on this. Thank you!
Old Aug 10, 2010, 08:46 AM
lmilesw

10,176 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
You can use plugins like Frontpage-Slideshow which you can set to only show on the front page or you can use a plugins like Display Widgets to choose which pages a widget you put in a widget area shows up on. I spend many hours testing and trying plugins, various configurations, and use to test a whole bunch of themes until Atahualpa. It does have a steeper learning curve but it will also do just about anything I want. Have fun and wander through (and test) the various settings and you will be even more convinced.