Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
There will be no more development for Atahualpa (or any other theme), and no support. Also no new registrations. I turned off the donation system. I may turn the forum to read only if it gets abused for spam. Unfortunately I have no time for the forum or the themes. Thanks a lot to the people who helped in all these years, especially Larry and of course: Paul. Take care and stay healthy -- Flynn, Atahualpa developer, Sep 2021

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » Sidebars & Widgets »

[SOLVED] Image placement in sidebar text widgets

Old Jan 17, 2012, 01:02 AM
dmstauber

26 posts · Mar 2011
I have two problems, probably related and probably elementary. ATA latest, Wordpress 3.3.1. My site is cheeringelf.com. I'm a beginner; I've been reading w3schools and threads here but am confused.

In my left sidebar, I have put an image in a text widget. The image is the same width as the sidebar, but it's coming out off-center (so that it extends into the center area).

In my right sidebar, I have a thumbnail image link in a text widget. The title of the widget (prefer to pay by check, etc.) is centered, but I can't get the image to center.

I'm sure this is an issue about either margins or padding (which?) but I'm not sure how to write the CSS and where to put it.

Thank you thank you!!

Do Mi
Old Jan 17, 2012, 06:03 AM
lmilesw

10,176 posts · Jul 2009
Central New York State USA
For the left side bar you just need to increase the width of the sidebar in the theme options to something like 184px or you could use CSS and put overflow:hidden on td#left.

For the right sidebar you could use text-align for the widget. for example
HTML Code:
#text-4 {
text-align: center;
}
This would go in the CSS Inserts box in the theme options.

As you will continually find there are usually several ways to accomplish what you want. I suggest getting familiar with the Firebug extension for Firefox.