Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click here to register or to donate.
Auto self-registration is not available here - far too many spammers. This forum has many, many backlinks and because of that there is an intense desire among spammers to drop their links here.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » New Versions, & Updating »

Using 3.4.3--Wow!


  #1  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 12:54 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
Flynn, thank you, thank you, thank you!

I just got the newest Athualpa version running on the newspaper site. I had already planned how I'd do the ads and the new widget area at the top under the logo. It went very well, with no glitches at all. Whew! I was concerned about that, I must say.

I didn't even experience the problem you warn about on the add new widget areas page. I didn't have to load the front page more than once to see the new area.

The only tiny problem I'm having now is that the Blogroll is showing up in the right sidebar now, but never before, and I can't see it in the widgets area at all. It doesn't even show up in the Links categories, so this is weird. I think I did rename blogroll to Our Sponsors quite a long time ago. Any ideas how to get rid of it?

Other than that, things seem fine at http://www.larchmontgazette.com. Oh, and since last night, the site has been loading very slowly, but that was before I made all the changes. I think there must be something wrong at the hosting company, but I haven't heard back from them. I sometimes worry that my .htaccess files are not right, actually. Am I correct that there needs to be one in the root and also in the Wordpress folder?

Again, thank you so much for this terrific theme. I'll report back if I see any problems, of course.

EDIT:
Another problem: I had created several custom templates for certain categories. They worked fine before, with ATA 3.2. Now, however, those pages are missing their sidebars. Is this because the index.php in the new theme is fundamentally different? Should I just redo the templates using the new index.php as the basis?

Another problem: Newly approved comments are not showing up in the left sidebar widget.

Last edited by paulae; Sep 25, 2009 at 01:50 PM.
  #2  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 02:13 PM
TwtrCoach
 
22 posts · Jun 2009
Tupelo, MS
Cool!!

Had some minor problems with 3.4.2 so I went back to 3.3.3 now I have to test this new version...

I agree great job from Flynn..

Cheers.. Are
  #3  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 02:18 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
Regarding Blogroll: Looks like I forgot that code in there.

Delete this in footer.php:

PHP Code:
<div id="linkcat-12" class="widget widget_links"><div class="widget-title"><h3>Blogroll</h3></div>
    <
ul class='xoxo blogroll'>
<
li><a href="http://wordpress.org/development/">Development Blog</a></li>
<
li><a href="http://codex.wordpress.org/">Documentation</a></li>

<
li><a href="http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/">Plugins</a></li>
<
li><a href="http://wordpress.org/extend/ideas/">Suggest Ideas</a></li>
<
li><a href="http://wordpress.org/support/">Support Forum</a></li>
<
li><a href="http://wordpress.org/extend/themes/">Themes</a></li>
<
li><a href="http://planet.wordpress.org/">WordPress Planet</a></li>

    </
ul>
</
div
I'll release 3.4.4 on the weekend with this fix and other issues that might be discovered today/tomorrow
  #4  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 02:24 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
About the page templates from 3.4.2. It would be best to re-create them by starting with a fresh index.php from 3.4.3.

About the comments in the left sidebar. Not sure about that one. perhaps a caching issue? In which way are they supposed to be displayed, through a widget, which one?
  #5  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 02:30 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
OK, thanks, that took care of the blogroll issue.

Now the comments are showing up OK, in the left sidebar BFA Recent Comments widget.

Caching is a pain. I had been using wp-cache, then tried wp-supercache. I had to delete all the cached files just now in order to see the change after fixing the footer.php code for the blogroll.

Still, the site is loading VERY slowly.
  #6  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 02:57 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
It's a bit slow on my end but not very slow imho, just about average for a site with that much content & plugins. While optimizing code here and there will help it is more economical to pay maybe $10-20 more per month to upgrade the hosting plan in my opinion, instead of having someone optimize code for hours.
  #7  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 03:03 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
Another issue: The index.php file really is very different from before!

I can't figure out where to put this code for the Teen Health template:
Code:
<hr align=center>
<table width="400" border="0" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="5">
  <tr>
    <td>Have a teen health question? Use the form below to send it to Dr. Engelland. Please note: Dr Engelland cannot respond privately to individual queries online. Comments are welcome and anonymous questions may be answered in future columns. Serious medical problems should be referred to your own physician.</td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td><a name="form"></a>
<form action="/cgi-pub/FormMail/" method="post">Name:
<input name="name" type="text" /><br /><br />
<input name="recipient" type="hidden" value="teenhealth@larchmontgazette.com" />Email:
<input name="email" type="text" /><br /><br />

Question:

<textarea cols="40" rows="10" name="question"></textarea>

<input name="Submit" type="submit" value="Submit" /><input id="Reset" name="Reset" type="reset" value="Erase" />

</form>
</td>
  </tr>
</table>
<table  border="0" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="5">
  <tr>
    <td><img src="http://www.larchmontgazette.com/wp27/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/newengellandsmall.jpg"></td>
    <td>Dr. Engelland has a practice in Mamaroneck devoted to Adolescent Primary Care. She now accepts Aetna and Hudson Health Plan.
Dr. Engelland can be reached at 698-5544 or at <a href="http://www.AnnEngellandMD.com"> annengellandmd.com.</a></td>
  </tr>
</table>
I want this to appear above the comments box, not below it. You can see it here: http://www.larchmontgazette.com/teen...use-for-alarm/

I put it after
Code:
<?php /* END of the LOOP */
	endwhile; ?>
, and also tried it after
Code:
<?php /* This outputs the next/previous post or page navigation and the comment template.
	This can be edited at Atahualpa Theme Options -> Style & edit the Center column */
	bfa_center_content($bfa_ata['content_below_loop']); ?>
.

I need to figure this out because several categories need custom templates.
  #8  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 03:24 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
Here's a template that does not use the new text areas at Atahualpa theme options -> Style & edit CENTER COLUMN:

PHP Code:
<?php
/*
Template Name: My Template
*/
?>
<?php     
/* get all options: */
include (TEMPLATEPATH '/functions/bfa_get_options.php');
get_header(); ?>

<?php /* If there are any posts: */
if (have_posts()) : $bfa_ata['postcount'] == 0/* Postcount needed for option "XX first posts full posts, rest excerpts" */ ?>

<?php /* For MULTI post pages if activated at ATO -> Next/Previous Navigation: */
bfa_next_previous_page_links('Top'); ?>

<?php /* For the plugin Page2Cat http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/page2cat/ */
if( is_category() AND function_exists('page2cat_output')) { page2cat_output($cat); } ?>

<?php /* The LOOP starts here. Do this for all posts: */
while (have_posts()) : the_post(); $bfa_ata['postcount']++; ?>

<?php /* Add Odd or Even post class so post containers can get alternating CSS style (optional) */
$odd_or_even = (($bfa_ata['postcount'] % 2) ? 'odd-post' 'even-post' ); ?> 

<?php /* For SINGLE post pages if activated at ATO -> Next/Previous Navigation: */
bfa_next_previous_post_links('Top'); ?>

<?php /* Post Container starts here */
if ( function_exists('post_class') ) { ?>
<div <?php if ( is_page() ) { post_class('post'); } else { post_class("$odd_or_even"); } ?> id="post-<?php the_ID(); ?>">
<?php } else { ?>
<div class="<?php echo ( is_page() ? 'page ' '' ) . $odd_or_even ' post" id="post-'the_ID(); ?>">
<?php ?>

<?php bfa_post_kicker('<div class="post-kicker">','</div>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_headline('<div class="post-headline">','</div>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_byline('<div class="post-byline">','</div>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_bodycopy('<div class="post-bodycopy clearfix">','</div>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_pagination('<p class="post-pagination"><strong>'.__('Pages:','atahualpa').'</strong>','</p>'); ?>

<?php bfa_post_footer('<div class="post-footer">','</div>'); ?>

</div><!-- / Post -->
                        
<?php /* END of the LOOP */
endwhile; ?>

<?php /* Displayed on SINGLE post pages if activated at ATO -> Next/Previous Navigation: */
bfa_next_previous_post_links('Middle'); ?>

<?php /* Load Comments template (on single post pages, and static pages, if set on options page): */
bfa_get_comments(); ?>

<?php /* Displayed on SINGLE post pages if activated at ATO -> Next/Previous Navigation: */
bfa_next_previous_post_links('Bottom'); ?>
        
<?php /* Archives Pages. Displayed on a specific static page, if configured at ATO -> Archives Pages: */
bfa_archives_page('<div class="archives-page">','</div>'); ?>
            
<?php /* Displayed on MULTI post pages if activated at ATO -> Next/Previous Navigation: */
bfa_next_previous_page_links('Bottom'); ?>

<?php /* END of: If there are any posts */
else : /* If there are no posts: */ ?>

<h2><?php _e('Not Found','atahualpa'); ?></h2>
<p><?php _e("Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't here.","atahualpa"); ?></p>

<?php endif; /* END of: If there are no posts */ ?>

<?php get_footer(); ?>
Put your code above
PHP Code:
<?php /* Load Comments template (on single post pages, and static pages, if set on options page): */
bfa_get_comments(); ?>
  #9  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 03:52 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
OK, I did that. Now the Teen Health template is not showing up in the template dropdown menu at all.

I remembered the naming convention from before and did it on this one:
Code:
<?php
/*
Template*Name Posts:*My*Teen Health Template
*/
?>
<?php*****/**get*all*options:**/
include*(TEMPLATEPATH*.*'/functions/bfa_get_options.php');
get_header();*?>
  #10  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 04:06 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
Were you using http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/...post-template/ ?

It should be

PHP Code:
<?php
/*
Template Name Posts: My Teen Health Template
*/
?>
<?php 
/* get all options: */
include (TEMPLATEPATH '/functions/bfa_get_options.php');
get_header(); ?>
Also, where do all these asterisks in your post above come from? Maybe your (desktop text) editor is adding them.
  #11  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 04:23 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
No, I was using your index.php. I was using BB Edit for this, and I wasn't seeing all those asterisks!

Now that's weird. I have tried twice to paste in the whole template, and when I do I see none of the asterisks. But when I submit it, there they are. Very weird.

I pasted in just now from a plain text editor.

When I apply the template to a post, the post is blank.
  #12  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 04:47 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
Try another editor, i.e. the default editor on your desktop operating system, or Notepad++, which is free.
  #13  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 05:19 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
Odd. It was working fine before! I'm back to Text Wrangler. I've got all the templates working fine now. Thanks!

About the .htaccess files. Does this look OK for the one in the Wordpress folder?
SetEnv PHP_DEFAULT_VERSION 5
# BEGIN WordPress
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule . /wp27/index.php [L]
</IfModule>
# END WordPress


And this is in the root:

SetEnv PHP_DEFAULT_VERSION 5

#RewriteEngine On
#RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^larchmontgazette.com
#RewriteRule (.*) http://www.larchmontgazette.com/$1 [R=301,L]


# BEGIN WordPress
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule . /wp27/index.php [L]
</IfModule>

# END WordPress
  #14  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 05:57 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
Did you even need 2? I think not. Your Wordpress install is in /wp27/ and the site itself is in / if I got that right. Then you should have this in the root / I'd say:

SetEnv PHP_DEFAULT_VERSION 5

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On

# Rewrite
larchmontgazette.com to www.larchmontgazette.com
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^larchmontgazette.com
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.larchmontgazette.com/$1 [R=301,L]

# BEGIN WordPress
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule . /wp27/index.php [L]
# END WordPress

</IfModule>

  #15  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 06:06 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
Cool! I got rid of the extra one and redid the other one. Now the site even seems to load faster.

You are my hero.
  #16  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 06:10 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
Good to hear it's working. I wasn't that sure
  #17  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 06:20 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
OK, another glitch: I don't like the dashed border around the Page Menu in the header. In ATA Options, Page Menu Bar, I have it set thusly: Border around all menu items solid 1px #DDEBF6. Yet as you can see, http://www.larchmontgazette.com/, the dashes are still there.

And My Category Order Plugin no longer works to re-order the categories in the menu bar.

Last edited by paulae; Sep 25, 2009 at 06:25 PM.
  #18  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 06:31 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
That's because you have the menu centered, in that case the settings don't cover the background of the menu yet (or actually: the background of the parent DIV). Add a CSS Insert


div#menu1 {
border: solid 1px #DDEBF6;
}

But you'd probably want the whole page menu bar be one block from left to right? In that case use this instead

div#menu1 {
border: solid 1px #DDEBF6;
background: #DDEBF6;
}
  #19  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 06:43 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,768 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
It should also help improve the site speed if you

1) View http://www.larchmontgazette.com/?bfa_ata_file=css , copy its content and paste it to the bottom of Atahualpa's style.css, and upload that style.css to /wp27/wp-content/themes/atahualpa343/style.css on the web server (and overwrite the existing style.css)

2) Then edit Atahualpa's header.php and replace

PHP Code:
<?php if ( $bfa_ata['css_external'] == "External" ) { ?>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php echo $bfa_ata['get_option_home']; ?>/?bfa_ata_file=css" type="text/css" media="all" />
<?php ?>
with
PHP Code:
<link rel="stylesheet" href="http://www.larchmontgazette.com/wp27/wp-content/themes/atahualpa343/style.css" type="text/css" media="all" /> 

You would have to repeat Step 1 whenever you made some visual changes to the site and want them to be applied to the live site.

You would have to repeat Step 2 when you upgrade to a new Atahualpa version.


I will remove this whole dynamic CSS part in the next main version of Atahualpa (but not the small update in a few days) anyway.
  #20  
Old Sep 25, 2009, 08:39 PM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
Uh.....should I do this? Appending the new code to styles.css goes from 758 bytes to over 38,000! Is that right?
  #21  
Old Sep 26, 2009, 07:19 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,571 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
Paulae,
In 3.4.2, the style.css is small because all the style gets built dynamically and put in the generated page.

I just checked and in 3.4.3, the inline style totals 66,270 characters on one of my pages, so over 38,000 doesn't surprise me at all.

Update: I changed me setting at ATO->Configure CSS & JS->CSS: Compress? - to YES anbd it reduced the 66,270 down to 35,878
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Last edited by juggledad; Sep 26, 2009 at 07:35 AM.
  #22  
Old Sep 26, 2009, 07:52 AM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
I just noticed this at the bottom of the CSS file:
Code:
<!-- Page not cached by WP Super Cache. No closing HTML tag. Check your theme. -->
Could that be part of the speed problem, that it's not getting cached?
  #23  
Old Sep 26, 2009, 07:57 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
23,571 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.11.5 WP 4.x Atahualpa(all) Safari, Firefox, Chrome
which site, when I look at the source at www.larchmontgazette.com I see
HTML Code:
</html>
<!-- Dynamic page generated in 2.794 seconds. -->
<!-- Cached page generated by WP-Super-Cache on 2009-09-26 02:13:19 -->
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #24  
Old Sep 26, 2009, 08:18 AM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
It's here: http://www.larchmontgazette.com/?bfa_ata_file=css

And I just noticed something else. I see that Flynn has now made it possible to let My Category Order set the category menu order, in the options. Yay! So I tried reordering them, but nothing showed up in the browser. I dumped my browser cache. Still no change. Then I deleted all of the wp-content/cache files, which I assume are created by wp-super-cache, and then the category order changes showed up. I wonder if wp-super-cache is worth the trouble?
  #25  
Old Sep 26, 2009, 08:41 AM
paulae's Avatar
paulae
 
1,333 posts · Feb 2009
Wordpress 3.4.1, Atahualpa 3.7.7
A consultant we hired after we were hacked suggested deleting the xmlrpc.php file because it can be a way in for a hacker. I see that the call for it is still showing in the source code. Could that be causing some slowness?

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.