Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA
Click Here To DONATE! Support the theme development, get more attention and additional benefits based on your donation level. Your forum name will be highlighted.

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA » WordPress Themes » Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme » New Versions, & Updating »

TIP: how to copy settings of Atahualpa from one site to another


Build custom WP THEMES, without
coding.
Click here for THEMEFRAME

From the author of Atahualpa, the #1 most
downloaded (700,000+) theme @ wordpress.org
  #1  
Old Feb 8, 2009, 12:42 PM
gesman
 
35 posts · Feb 2009
TIP: how to copy settings of Atahualpa from one site to another

================================================== ===========
With the release of 3.5.1 there is a new settings import/export feature built into the theme options
================================================== ===========

Here's what I do to test theme on "development" site and then backup/copy results to other site. Requires using of PhpMyAdmin (which most hosting providers have):
First - make sure you have same versions of theme installed on both sites.
Note: you can still use this sequence to do intermediate backups of theme settings.

* Goto PhpMyAdmin
* Execute this query (in SQL tab):
SELECT option_name, option_value FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
* At the botton of resulted window click "Export" icon/link
* uncheck the option 'Structure' the option
* Check [x] Save as File
* Press [Go] button at the lower right corner. Save file. This will save all settings of Atahualpa theme in wp_options.sql file
* Go to your other blog, run PhpMyAdmin there
* Execute this query in SQL Tab to clear up possible pre-existing setting for the theme (thanks juddledad for tip):
DELETE FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
* Click "Import" tab
* Navigate to your wp_options.sql
* Press [Go] button at the lower right corner
* Observe "Import has been successfully finished ..."
* Done - reload/view your site with new imported settings.

Enjoy,

Gleb Esman,
Wordpress Membership site plugin:
http://www.MemberWing.com

Last edited by juggledad; May 30, 2010 at 06:23 AM.
  #2  
Old Feb 8, 2009, 01:57 PM
Flynn's Avatar
Flynn
 
3,766 posts · Oct 2008
Munich, Germany
Yes, that should work. Thanks, Gleb.
  #3  
Old Feb 19, 2009, 12:30 PM
lawvol
 
3 posts · Feb 2009
Not to confuse matters, but would it be easier to create a function which compiles the entire theme with options and outputs it as a single stylesheet etc. In other words one that strips off the ability to customize further via the admin interface, but allows you to simply port over the theme.

Thus, if you wanted to edit further on your mirror site, you could just re-export and copy over.

Just an idea, and I do not claim to understand whether that would, in fact, be easier from a development perspective or not.
  #4  
Old Feb 22, 2009, 10:19 AM
Shepherd Jim's Avatar
Shepherd Jim
 
301 posts · Feb 2009
Bristol, midcoast Maine USA
Hello Gleb:

My site is share-hosted at GoDaddy. I've checked my directory and /subs and did not see the PhpMyAdmin program anywhere. I've submitted a "support ticket" inquiring about where/how I get PhpMyAdmin.

In the meantime, can you suggest where I'd best go to learn more about using PhpMyAdmin -- the how's and why's.

And I want I want to second Flynn's THANK YOU!!
  #5  
Old Feb 25, 2009, 04:47 PM
araneum
 
29 posts · Feb 2009
Spepheard Tim, mySQL usually come together with PHPmyAdmin. I have never learned or used PHPmyAdmin before, its interface is quite intuitive for first time user.

My way is

1. Export WP_Options from the old server.

2. Activate WP in the new server.

3. Go to PHPmyAdmin in the new server to delete (drop) WP_Options.

4. Import WP_Options SQL file from old server to new server.

It works for me. Just to make sure to change upload unix path in the DB to your new server path.

Last edited by araneum; Mar 6, 2009 at 05:15 PM.
  #6  
Old Jan 14, 2010, 04:48 AM
denbert
 
19 posts · Jan 2009
Copenhagen
Quote:
Originally Posted by araneum
Spepheard Tim, mySQL usually come together with PHPmyAdmin. I have never learned or used PHPmyAdmin before, its interface is quite intuitive for first time user.

My way is

1. Export WP_Options from the old server.

2. Activate WP in the new server.

3. Go to PHPmyAdmin in the new server to delete (drop) WP_Options.

4. Import WP_Options SQL file from old server to new server.

It works for me. Just to make sure to change upload unix path in the DB to your new server path.
I'm trying to do this, but having problems due to the database prefix being mismatch between developing server and the clients webhotel. On my developing server I'm always setting up separate databases for each project. Unfortunately the there is only the ability to make one database on the webhotel, this is a problem as the client needs a trilangual site and therefore I'm working with 3 different prefix:

Danish site: wp_DK_
English site: wp_UK_
German site: wp_DE_

Now how do I change the the wp_options from development server to wp_UK_options?

Anyone got a suggestion, as this would really save me time in setting up the 3 sites.
__________________
/ Denbert
  #7  
Old Mar 5, 2009, 09:25 AM
BigG
 
26 posts · Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gesman
Here's what I do to test theme on "development" site and then backup/copy results to other site. Requires using of PhpMyAdmin (which most hosting providers have):
First - make sure you have same versions of theme installed on both sites.
Note: you can still use this sequence to do intermediate backups of theme settings.

* Goto PhpMyAdmin
* Execute this query (in SQL tab):
SELECT option_name, option_value FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
* At the botton of resulted window click "Export" icon/link
* Check [x] Save as File
* Press [Go] button at the lower right corner. Save file. This will save all settings of Atahualpa theme in wp_options.sql file
* Go to your other blog, run PhpMyAdmin there
* Click "Import" tab
* Navigate to your wp_options.sql
* Press [Go] button at the lower right corner
* Observe "Import has been successfully finished ..."
* Done - reload/view your site with new imported settings.

Enjoy,

Gleb Esman,
MemberWing.com
That worked like a charm! Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!
  #8  
Old May 18, 2009, 02:44 AM
Gill_R
 
4 posts · May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gesman
Here's what I do to test theme on "development" site and then backup/copy results to other site.[snip]
A big thank you for this information: saved me LOTS of time
Gill

Last edited by Gill_R; May 18, 2009 at 05:27 AM.
  #9  
Old Jun 2, 2009, 05:57 PM
3xter
 
1 posts · Jun 2009
I have a question, i export a wp_options.sql...... before IMPORT this table, do i have to drop the 'wp_options' table alredy in the data base??
i already try of many ways and doesn't work!!!!!!!!
help!!
  #10  
Old Jul 1, 2009, 05:21 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,379 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
One thing to remember.

Before you IMPORT the options to the new database, you should DELETE any existing Atahualpa options from that database. So before the IMPORT step in post (1) you should navigate to the correct database, go to the SQL screen and then issue
HTML Code:
DELETE FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
The reason for this is that many options are kept in wp_options, not just Atahualpa's (this is also why you don't just copy the entire wp_options table). The key to each row in the table is automatically generated. So if you have Atahualpa options in the table, after the IMPORT you will have duplicate options, or worse, you might have had XX in the new DB, gotten rid of it in the old db, but when you copy the options, it will still be in the new db.

By deleting the Atahualpa options before doing the IMPORT, you make sure this issue will not come up. And you will avoid a possible weird 'I never set that option, but it's showing up??" problem.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #11  
Old Aug 21, 2009, 03:10 PM
TheInfamousGdub
 
8 posts · Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by juggledad
One thing to remember.

Before you IMPORT the options to the new database, you should DELETE any existing Atahualpa options from that database. So before the IMPORT step in post (1) you should navigate to the correct database, go to the SQL screen and then issue
HTML Code:
DELETE FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
The reason for this is that many options are kept in wp_options, not just Atahualpa's (this is also why you don't just copy the entire wp_options table). The key to each row in the table is automatically generated. So if you have Atahualpa options in the table, after the IMPORT you will have duplicate options, or worse, you might have had XX in the new DB, gotten rid of it in the old db, but when you copy the options, it will still be in the new db.

By deleting the Atahualpa options before doing the IMPORT, you make sure this issue will not come up. And you will avoid a possible weird 'I never set that option, but it's showing up??" problem.
I followed these steps, but it's still creating duplicates when I try to import.

Now, I'm using Wordpress_mu, which could have something to do with it, but there are separate versions of wp_options (one for the whole domain, and one each for the any subdomain created) and neither of them will work.

The first time I deleted bfta_ata entries it worked, but they don't appear to have actually deleted. Is there a way I can tell? Has the newer version of Atahualpa changed it's name from "bfta_ata"? I could see that being a simple answer.

And just for info, the first duplicate conflict that arises is "'1-0-_transient_random_seed' for key 1". Is that a wordpress, or a BFTA entry?
  #12  
Old Aug 21, 2009, 05:23 PM
TheInfamousGdub
 
8 posts · Aug 2009
Okay, so I've gotten it to work, and I can see all of the BFTA entries in my database, nothing changed in the theme.
  #13  
Old Nov 20, 2009, 05:51 PM
runbei
 
22 posts · Oct 2009
Mountain View, CA
Sorry, this doesn't work for me. I get to the import step, then an error:

Quote:
Error

SQL query:

--
-- Database: `hap0926209220695`
--
-- --------------------------------------------------------
--
-- Table structure for table `wp_options`
--
CREATE TABLE `wp_options` (
`option_id` bigint( 20 ) unsigned NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT ,
`blog_id` int( 11 ) NOT NULL default '0',
`option_name` varchar( 64 ) NOT NULL default '',
`option_value` longtext NOT NULL ,
`autoload` varchar( 20 ) NOT NULL default 'yes',
PRIMARY KEY ( `option_id` , `blog_id` , `option_name` ) ,
KEY `option_name` ( `option_name` )
) ENGINE = MYISAM DEFAULT CHARSET = utf8 AUTO_INCREMENT =706;

MySQL said: Documentation
#1050 - Table 'wp_options' already exists
And then if I delete the "CREATE TABLE" guff, I get another error:
Quote:
#1136 - Column count doesn't match value count at row 1
Also, I believe there's a missing step in the instructions. Before you run the SQL code, you need to select the wp_options section in the drop-down in the left column.

Last edited by runbei; Nov 20, 2009 at 06:21 PM.
  #14  
Old Nov 20, 2009, 08:17 PM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,379 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
if you execute the sql query
HTML Code:
SELECT option_name, option_value FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
It can only export about 250 lines. It can not export the database since it is only refering to one table. You must have overridden the output and told it to export the entire table.

Also, you DO NOT want to delete the wp_options table, it contains many other options. This is why you need to issue the
HTML Code:
DELETE FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
so you won't create duplicate rows.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #15  
Old Nov 25, 2009, 08:47 PM
nosillacast
 
2 posts · Nov 2009
I was able to export just fine and did the empty table thingy but importing caused an error. I'm wondering if perhaps the two versions of MySQL are different? on my local MAMP installation I with with MySQL 5, it's looking like maybe the GoDaddy server is on 3???

thanks for any help you can provide and for writing up these instructions in the first place!

Allison Sheridan
NosillaCast Podcast at http://podfeet.com
A technology geek podcast with an EVER so slight Macintosh bias!
Follow me at http://twitter.com/podfeet

Error
SQL query:

-- phpMyAdmin SQL Dump
-- version 3.2.0.1
-- http://www.phpmyadmin.net
--
-- Host: localhost
-- Generation Time: Nov 25, 2009 at 06:11 PM
-- Server version: 5.1.37
-- PHP Version: 5.2.11
SET SQL_MODE = "NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO";

MySQL said: Documentation
#1193 - Unknown system variable 'SQL_MODE'
  #16  
Old Nov 26, 2009, 05:05 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,379 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
1) it looks like the version of phpMyAdmin you have is version 3.2.0.1
2) Why are you dumping the DB and not exporting it?
3) if that is an export as oppose to a dump, try deleting that line
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #17  
Old Dec 1, 2009, 06:53 PM
cbrdoom
 
1 posts · Dec 2009
Hi, i'm new here... but i find a solution :

in phpmyadmin, just before export sql file, check this 2 options :

" full insertions" "extented insertions" (in french "extensions complètes" et "insertions étendues")

after that, and for me, it's OK !

in fact, i have 2 versions of phpmyadmin, on 2 differents providers, and in one of them these options is not checked...

but now it's good !

best regards !
  #18  
Old Jan 2, 2010, 03:04 PM
pgfweb
 
1 posts · Jan 2010
Oklahoma
Send a message via Yahoo to pgfweb Send a message via Skype™ to pgfweb
Quote:
Originally Posted by gesman
Here's what I do to test theme on "development" site and then backup/copy results to other site. Requires using of PhpMyAdmin (which most hosting providers have):
First - make sure you have same versions of theme installed on both sites.
Note: you can still use this sequence to do intermediate backups of theme settings.

* Goto PhpMyAdmin
* Execute this query (in SQL tab):
SELECT option_name, option_value FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
* At the botton of resulted window click "Export" icon/link
* Check [x] Save as File
* Press [Go] button at the lower right corner. Save file. This will save all settings of Atahualpa theme in wp_options.sql file
* Go to your other blog, run PhpMyAdmin there
* Execute this query in SQL Tab to clear up possible pre-existing setting for the theme (thanks juddledad for tip):
DELETE FROM `wp_options` WHERE option_name REGEXP '^bfa_ata_';
* Click "Import" tab
* Navigate to your wp_options.sql
* Press [Go] button at the lower right corner
* Observe "Import has been successfully finished ..."
* Done - reload/view your site with new imported settings.

Enjoy,

Gleb Esman,
Wordpress Membership site plugin:
http://www.MemberWing.com
Thanks, Gleb. This did the trick. I made a number of changes to my settings and honestly couldn't remember them all. You saved me from countless butt-numbing, eye-crossing hours of copying and pasting.
  #19  
Old Jan 21, 2010, 06:50 AM
debart
 
1 posts · Jan 2010
washington
Re:installing new version: notice says: new version install now. Also, option to update automatically what is the best setting to use?
Attempting to install the update prompts a warning to backup my site first, I don't know how to do yet.

My site is only a few months old and the backup directions sound challenging.

In addition, I want to compare some other themes with Atahualpa. How can I do this without messing up what I have set up?
  #20  
Old Jan 21, 2010, 07:06 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,379 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
You can add as many themes to the themes folder and switch back and forth between them. Almost all (including Atahualpa) store any theme specific options in the wordpress database.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #21  
Old Apr 17, 2010, 10:41 PM
tzalmaves
 
3 posts · Apr 2010
I followed the steps above and get this on import:

MySQL said: Documentation
#1050 - Table 'wp_options' already exists

I've posted my exported SQL file here: http://s89978558.onlinehome.us/temp/wp_options.zip

Any ideas?

-TM
  #22  
Old Apr 18, 2010, 05:26 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,379 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
when you did the export, you must h the 'CREATE TABLE statemend (lines 19-28) and ou should be all set.

I've updated the steps in post #1 to include
* uncheck the option 'Structure' the option
which will then prevent the CREATE TABLE statement from being added to the SQL.
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #23  
Old Apr 18, 2010, 08:14 AM
tzalmaves
 
3 posts · Apr 2010
OK, I followed the revised instructions and got this:

MySQL said:
#1136 - Column count doesn't match value count at row 1

I've posted my updated SQL to http://s89978558.onlinehome.us/temp/wp_options(2).zip

Thanks for any help you can provide,

-TM
  #24  
Old Apr 18, 2010, 09:06 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,379 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
What version of atahualpa and wordpress?
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support
  #25  
Old Apr 18, 2010, 10:07 AM
juggledad's Avatar
juggledad
 
22,379 posts · Mar 2009
OSX 10.8.5 WP 3.8.x Atahualpa 3.7.x Safari 6.x Firefox 25 XP
Under teh setting 'DATA' make sure teh option 'Complete Inserts' is checked
Here are the settings I have
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	334
Size:	75.1 KB
ID:	472
__________________
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." - Benjamin Franklin
Juggledad | Forum Moderator/Support

Bookmarks

Tags
copy settings, export, export settings, import, import settings

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TIP: How to create single page website (salesletter-type) with Atahualpa gesman Sidebars & Widgets 4 Aug 14, 2010 02:40 AM
Keeping Atahualpa settings Thorvald New Versions, & Updating 8 Jul 30, 2009 09:09 PM
How to copy settings to another blog Ilovethistheme Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme 10 Jun 18, 2009 05:01 PM
Using Atahualpa Theme Options settings as a template thetravelchronicle Forum How-To 2 May 31, 2009 09:04 AM
How to Copy an Existing Theme Layout to a New Blog Site SenorD Forum How-To 1 May 10, 2009 03:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.