Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Center area post/pages (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   it there a way to aply the multi column template to category pages? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=23304)

ericnl Oct 17, 2015 05:35 AM

it there a way to aply the multi column template to category pages?
 
I have two pages, on the new website that I'm making, that I want to use for category posts.
on there I have implemented the multi column layout through the Custom Fields option, and it works great for the layout, but both pages show ALL posts, regardless of the category.

so I went into the 'menus' option in 'appearance' and to make a menu that included the category items, which now sorts the posts correctly, but takes away the multi column formatting on those pages.

when I go into 'Edit Category' there is no option for Custom Fields, but in 'Edit Enhanced Category' there is. if I select 'number_of_columns' there and input a number next to it, the formatting still does not show up on the category page...

what am I overlooking, or is there another way to do this?

thanks,
Eric.

ericnl Oct 17, 2015 05:37 AM

PS:

I have also tried to put this code in the index.php file, instead of using the category menu items, but it seemingly had no effect...

Code:

<?php if (is_page(6)) {wp_cat_posts(3); } ?>
<?php if (is_page(80)) {wp_cat_posts(4); } ?>


juggledad Oct 17, 2015 09:18 AM

you can craft a custom query to access your posts in one or more categories.

ericnl Oct 17, 2015 09:22 AM

maybe you can, but I wouldn't ask if I could too...

care to give a little hint where to start? ;)

juggledad Oct 17, 2015 09:25 AM

see http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=15718 in the Gold forum tutorials

ericnl Oct 17, 2015 09:43 AM

ok, I had seen that post before, but it starts with the quote:
'This template is now included with the theme as of 3.7.5 - use that version.'
so I had ignored it.

but after rereading it now again, I understand that I should craft a custom_query 'somewhere' using the second link.

so when I craft this query, what does it look like, and where do I put it?
do I put it in the custom CSS file?

forgive me if I sound ignorent, but I have never messed with the loop before, because php editing seems to go a step above my usual html and css skills

juggledad Oct 17, 2015 01:17 PM

You need to create a 'custom query'. Now go back and read that post again.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.