Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Plugins & Atahualpa (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Easing Slider Issues in Header (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=12439)

theadventurebite Jan 24, 2011 05:00 PM

Easing Slider Issues in Header
 
This is specific to Atahualpa and specific to being placed in the header.

When plugin is activated and run in IE8 as a header half the image is missing like it is aligned right instead of centered.

I have the following cal in HTML Inserts Header:
<?php if (function_exists('easing_slider')){ easing_slider(); }; ?>

CSS set to External

Ideas??

theadventurebite Jan 24, 2011 05:00 PM

Site is:

http://live-life-local.com/

Thanks!

lmilesw Jan 24, 2011 07:22 PM

Try putting that code in ATO>Style & edit Header Area in the same spot where %image would go?

theadventurebite Jan 25, 2011 07:35 AM

It does place it there.....but doesn't resolve the image issue :(

paulae Jan 25, 2011 09:57 AM

Did you set the slider's width and height to match the size of the images?

theadventurebite Jan 25, 2011 01:32 PM

Woops posted the resolution in the wrong thread :)



Couldn't figure out what was wrong with it....seems like a CSS issue but I couldn't find it.

I ended up placing a header widget area using the following code:
<?php bfa_widget_area('name=My widget area&cells=1&align=1&before_widget=<div id="%1$s" class="header-widget %2$s">&after_widget=</div>'); ?>

in the configure header area.

And installing the linkable title html and php widget plugin.

I then placed this plugin into the header widget area and placed the:

<?php if (function_exists('easing_slider')){ easing_slider(); }; ?>

in this widget.

And it works!

Yay!

theadventurebite Jan 25, 2011 01:48 PM

It appears though that when you place

<center> php </center>

around the code in the widget in order to center the plugin it causes the pictures to hang off the right hand side....it's like the left hand edge of the photo gets pulled to the center.

I solved this by making the width of the header 1000px and the width of the website 1000px fixed width which causes it to center over the page.

I would assume that you could also modify your widget areas to not span over all four cells to modify its location as well....or try other centering commands that may have a different effect.

theadventurebite Jan 25, 2011 01:50 PM

Also noticed that using images from a temporary url for a site not live yet renders them larger on IE8 zoomed up in size. Replacing with images from a currently running site resolves this issue.

paulae Jan 25, 2011 02:25 PM

I like this plugin, but as with any slider, I wish I could stop the looping after all the images have "played" once or twice. Surely there is a way to do that, even though there is no setting for it in the plugin's options. I also emailed the developer, but he said "it's impossible." I'll bet he means "I don't want to code it that way for you."

Any thoughts, anyone?

theadventurebite Jan 25, 2011 04:18 PM

Found this on a forum for Mootools doing that very thing.....maybe someone with more experience could jump in and modify this to work in this instance:



Ok what you want to do is:
Define the noob slide, with autoplay set to false.
var nS7 = new noobSlide({ ...

Then add a periodical call that increments and changes the slide like
so:
//define the max no. of slides
var maxslides = 8;

// the periodical function
var perfunc;

// the counter
var i = 0;
var doWalk = function(){
//if we exceed, then stop
if (i>maxslides){
$clear(perfunc)
} else {
//else increment and slide
i++;
nS7.walk(i)
}
}

//this will make it run every 1 second, change to interval you like.
perfunc = dowalk.periodical(1000)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.