Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Sidebars & Widgets (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   [SOLVED] Varying the styling for each widget (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=16891)

megavolt Mar 1, 2012 06:52 AM

[SOLVED] Varying the styling for each widget

I am a newbie to both Wordpress and Atahualpa.
I am making a website and I wanted to have a border around the widget container in my left sidebar. Therefore in the Atahualpa settings - Style Widgets - Widget container, I added the following style:
margin: 25px 0 25px 0;
border: solid 3px #875500;
-moz-border-radius: 10px;
-webkit-border-radius: 10px;
border-radius: 10px;
padding: 10px 10px 10px 10px;

This works fine for me except that it makes a border around all the widgets in every sidebar. I do not really know if this style change was placed in the right place or not. Can someone please explain to me how I can have the border JUST for the widget in the left sidebar? At one point I figured that if I could find the place where each widget gets it's styling from, I could change the color of the border to the same color of the background - that way it won't be seen. But I can't figure out where it is that I need to make the change.

Can someone please point me in the right direction?
Thank you

lmilesw Mar 1, 2012 07:16 AM

To style specific widgets you need to determine the selector for the widget (I use Firebug) and then put the necessary CSS in the CSS Inserts box in the theme options. For instance the widget ID might be #category-3 or #text-2.

Where you put the styling is meant to style all widgets so if you have some style you want as the default style you put it there.

megavolt Mar 8, 2012 09:22 PM

Thank you for your reply. I've done what you have said, but I am not that familiar with PHP. The theme that I am using (Atahualpa) seems to be putting a lot of the styling in the PHP .