Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header configuration & styling (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Horizontal Bars & Other Stuff too (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=654)

NoVegans Mar 5, 2009 03:28 PM

Horizontal Bars & Other Stuff too
 
I love this theme and I'm telling everyone I know about it. There are a lot of things I want to do with it but I'm having a hard time.

My big question is in regards to horizontal bars used in the header. Can I put code in those bars? if so, where? What should I be looking for?

Take a look at my site at http://novegans.com and you'll notice an Adsense leaderboard in the middle below the image. I want to move that to the left above the left sidebar and posts area, then place something on the right. I know I could do this in a table if I knew where to go.

Also, have you seen those themes with the tag clouds, recent posts, recent comments, and stuff like that in an area right above the footer? It basically would take up the entire horizontal space below the sidebars and posts but above the actual footer. I may even want to place the footer in that area. Is that an easy fix or could I break something?

Thanks in advance. This theme rocks way harder than any paid them would ever... :)

Flynn Mar 5, 2009 06:27 PM

See functions/bfa_header_config.php

PHP Code:

if (strpos($header_items,'%bar1')!==false) {
// Horizontal bar 1
$horizontal_bar1 '<div class="horbar1">&nbsp;</div>';
// END of Horizontal bar 1
}

if (
strpos($header_items,'%bar2')!==false) {
// Horizontal bar 2
$horizontal_bar2 '<div class="horbar2">&nbsp;</div>';
// END of Horizontal bar 2


Example:

PHP Code:

if (strpos($header_items,'%bar2')!==false) {
// Horizontal bar 2
$horizontal_bar2 '<div class="horbar2">' 

$some_value .

'</div>';
// END of Horizontal bar 2


See http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=330 on how to add new widget areas, i.e. in the middle column

NoVegans Mar 8, 2009 01:56 PM

Thanks so much. This is too easy. It makes me wonder. Can I insert html in this file to create my own header if I don't plan on using the header functions. I basically want to have two columns in the header. To the left would be a smaller logo and to the right would be a set of buttons - all clickable.

Flynn Mar 8, 2009 02:23 PM

You can put HTML into header.php into this area

PHP Code:

        <!-- Header -->
        <td id="header" colspan="<?php echo $cols?>">
        
        <?php bfa_header_config($bfa_configure_header); ?>

        </td>
        <!-- / Header -->

Above or below <?php bfa_header_config($bfa_configure_header); ?> or remove <?php bfa_header_config($bfa_configure_header); ?> altogether.

PHP Code:

        <!-- Header -->
        <td id="header" colspan="<?php echo $cols?>">
        
Your complete header code

        </td>
        <!-- / Header -->


alfie Apr 7, 2010 12:58 PM

On the subject of bars and stuff. Here is a problem that i am having. In the admin panel ATO headers style I have entered:
%pages bar1 %logo %cats bar2 %image

everything seems to work except in the bar1 and bar2 spaces, the text "bar1" and 'bar2" is shown. How do I remove this..

Atahualpa 3.4.6 WP 2.9.1

juggledad Apr 12, 2010 06:40 AM

You need to use %bar1 and %bar2


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.