Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   [SOLVED] Some Theme Options Have Disapeared (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=20849)

AlyxMaz Aug 30, 2013 10:34 PM

[SOLVED] Some Theme Options Have Disapeared
 
I'm not proficient at any kind of code other than HTML. I was playing around with adding widgets to my footer using the example code provided in the theme options. I did something to the code assuming that if it was wrong it just wouldn't work and I could go back and delete it. Now all the text in the theme options from Post & Pages down are gone. When I try to go into style & edit Footer to delete the code I added there is no text showing at all. Just a blank white page. :confused: My site looks fine except that now there is a funny line of code in the footer (" class="bfa_widget_area">).

juggledad Aug 31, 2013 05:22 AM

what version of Atahualpa and WP?
What is the url?
were you just doing this in the theme options or did you try modifying some of the theme code?
can you go to ato->Export/Import and export the setting to a TEXT file and attach them to a response

AlyxMaz Aug 31, 2013 07:57 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I'm using WP 3.5.1 and Atahualpa 3.7.12
http://ornamentdesigns.com
I was doing this in the theme options and did not try modifying the theme code
Text file should be attached.
Thank you so much for your help.

juggledad Sep 1, 2013 05:40 AM

1 Attachment(s)
ok, you messed up the new widget area code which caused an issue in the parser. If you look at the directions, each arameter needs to be seperated by a '&' nad you seperated them by a space: ie. you had
HTML Code:

<?php bfa_widget_area('name=Footer widget area cells=3 align_1=9 align_2=2 align_3=3 before_widget=<div id="%1$s" class="header-widget %2$s">&after_widget=</div>'); ?>
when it should have been
HTML Code:

<?php bfa_widget_area('name=Footer widget area&cells=3&align_1=9&align_2=2&align_3=3&before_widget=<div id="%1$s" class="header-widget %2$s">&after_widget=</div>'); ?>
in addition, you are creating a footer widget, but you didn't change the class which is ;header-widget' which could get confusing.

Since you are starting out, why not just create a single widget area with
HTML Code:

<?php bfa_widget_area('name=Footer widget area'); ?>
At any rate it took me quite a bit of time, but I was able to fix the export and remove the offending code. Here is a fixed version with just the one footer widget area.

AlyxMaz Sep 1, 2013 06:45 AM

Thank you so much! That is the last time I "play" when I have no idea what I am doing. I am grateful for your help.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.