Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Center area post/pages (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   [SOLVED] how to create a page template? (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=5070)

drongo Dec 31, 2009 05:28 AM

[SOLVED] how to create a page template?

Hi,

I am new to Wordpress and I am using Atahualpa. I try to use WP more like a CMS. So I have a lot of pages. In the documentary of WP it is written that I can use templates for pages to insert posts of a specific category in my pages. The page.php should be the default template. And I just need to create a new something.php for each page which should have a unique template. But there is no page.php in the atahulapa-folder. When I copy one from the default-WP-theme and name it like template1.php, it doesn't show up in the template-dropdown-list. How does Atahualpa handle templates? Does it at all? Or is there any other way to bring complete articles to a page?

Greetings,
Drongo

Rashell Dec 31, 2009 05:33 PM

With ATA all the "templates" are created from the same .php files. It won't matter whether you're creating a post, a page, an archive, etc. If you want to create a bunch of pages you just need to go to the Page section of your admin and click "add new" to get another blank content screen for a new page.

With ATA, you only need to create a page templates if you want to have a different page formats or styles from the one you are primarily using. Say for instance if you want to create a blue colored background for all your posts on peas and a green colored background for posts on blueberries... You'd make a "blue" template and a "green" template. And those would appear in the dropdown.

If you don't need pages that look "different" you're all set with ATA. You just need to add a new post or a new page. It's automatic!

Rashell

lmilesw Dec 31, 2009 05:58 PM