Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Header configuration & styling (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   header widget problems... (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=16722)

abdell Feb 9, 2012 12:08 PM

header widget problems...
 
Hi everyone,

I'm getting really frustrated with myself... I added a widget to the header area yesterday called:
"center column widget"

Then I removed the code and I refreshed a gazillion times (!) but it's still there.

I want to add another widget instead, but this one won't go and the other one won't come up...

now I've just got the configure header area:

%image %pages %cats

... AND IT'S STILL SHOWING UP.

No cache plugins... even deactivated the original "Linkable..." plugin that I used with that widget yesterday... still no cigar.

Help really really needed.

Thanks everyone

juggledad Feb 9, 2012 01:05 PM

did you go to the 'New Widget area' and delete the widget?

abdell Feb 9, 2012 01:20 PM

ha ha ha... no I hadn't. That worked !! thank you. so simple, but it got me sooo worked up.

If you don't mind, can I ask you another question, I put the following css in the CSS inserts:

#header-image-container{
position:relative;
margin:0;
padding:0;
height:150px;
background: url('https://ipersonalenrichment.com/kill-bill-d.jpg') center center no-repeat;
}

/* Styles to be applied to our new widget area container */
#header-widget-area-container{
width:1000px;
float:center;
}

and the following code in the configure header area:

<div id="header-image-container" class="header-image-container">
<div class="opacityleft">&nbsp;</div>
<div class="opacityright">&nbsp;</div>
<div id="header-widget-area-container">
<?php if ( is_front_page( ) ) {bfa_widget_area('name=Header Widget Area');} ?>
</div>
</div>
%pages %cats

No new widgets are appearing and I want to double check that it should work before having another tantrum.

It's code I got from this post:
http://royhair.com/blog/2011/08/08/h...-in-atahualpa/

thanks in advance :)

juggledad Feb 9, 2012 02:39 PM

go read the text on the ato->start page

abdell Feb 9, 2012 02:54 PM

this ?

PHP code cannot be put into the textareas in the theme options anymore.

or this:

Donate $20 or more to become a Gold or Diamond member for additonal benefits such as extra styles and tutorials and preferred attention from developers and moderators.

:)

I don't mean to be cheeky, it's just that both of those could apply to me and I don't know which one will help me get my issue resolved.

thanks

juggledad Feb 9, 2012 03:01 PM

you are trying to put php code in the header configuration

abdell Feb 9, 2012 03:20 PM

where would I put it my friend ?

juggledad Feb 9, 2012 04:03 PM

in index.php

abdell Feb 9, 2012 04:14 PM

Where would I put it ?

abdell Feb 9, 2012 04:15 PM

as in... where in the index.php

again, my thanks in advance.

juggledad Feb 9, 2012 06:22 PM

Actually the best way to do this is the following. Add this to the 'Configure Header Area' option
HTML Code:

<div id="header-image-container" class="header-image-container">
<div class="opacityleft">&nbsp;</div>
<div class="opacityright">&nbsp;</div>
<?php bfa_widget_area('name=Header Widget Area'); ?>
</div>
%pages %cats

and add this to the CSS Inserts
HTML Code:

#header_widget_area {display: none;}
body.home #header_widget_area {display:block;}

go and view the site then go to the widget area and add the widget.

What this does is create the widget area (yes I know the start says you can't use php, and you can't use anything BUT the bfa_widget_area() function since the theme can parse it - but other php is not allowed)

The first line of CSS says 'don't display this widget area'
the second line says 'if this is the HOME page, then display this widget area.

it's using CSS as your conditional.

abdell Feb 11, 2012 05:08 AM

where do i add the URL for the header image ?

juggledad Feb 11, 2012 06:03 AM

you add a text widget to the widget area and put an <img...> in that points to your image

abdell Feb 11, 2012 06:17 AM

1 Attachment(s)
as a background ?

I'm looking to have a background image with a table on top of that (text, button and video)

see attached :-)

juggledad Feb 11, 2012 07:03 AM

Sorry, I thought you wanted an image in the widget.Just use your original CSS to assign the image as a background to the header-image-container

abdell Feb 11, 2012 11:43 AM

How do I align the widget area so that it's bottom centre - or even better if I can control it through CSS?
when i tried, it didn't work.

Also, the header changes site wide and not just for the home page. Was hoping that the change would only be for the homepage. Anyway to make this header image (homepage: 500px high, other pages: 150px high)

much much appreciated

lmilesw Feb 11, 2012 01:02 PM

You should probably check out this section at w3schools.com or the 2nd post in this thread.

abdell Feb 11, 2012 05:07 PM

I was hoping for some code and I can change the numbers etc.

juggledad Feb 11, 2012 05:13 PM

If you look at the documentation for teh new widget areas, there is an option for aligning the widget within it.
also, is there a particular reasoh you are using 'https' to point to the image?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.