Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   New Versions, & Updating (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   [SOLVED] Favicon and Image location (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=21393)

tlck9 Jan 16, 2014 11:02 AM

[SOLVED] Favicon and Image location
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi All

favicon's I can get it to view properly on Chrome, but my customer cant see it on Chrome, IE or Firefox, even after removing cache.

When I try and view
http://mysite/wp-content/themes/atah...on/favicon.ico
it tells me there is a 403 Error - No default document

I added an image to this folder and could view it fine
http://mysite/wp-content/themes/atah...favi-500kb.jpg

I have searched and carried out some of the actions, including updating the functions.php file, saved the relevant ATO pages, eg header and footer

But cannot seem to get it to work

Any ideas

lmilesw Jan 16, 2014 11:17 AM

What version of Atahualpa are you running. You should see and "Image Location" selection right above "Favicon"

tlck9 Jan 16, 2014 11:59 AM

Have just upgraded to 3.7.13 but still cant see it, will refresh and reboot the browser

Can now see the image location on ATO, thank you, rebooting and it is now there. However the favicon issue is still ongoing

tlck9 Jan 17, 2014 02:55 AM

On the favicon, I have a permission of 755, I have changed the image location to ata-images in the Wp-content folder, checked that I can view other images in that folder okay, which I can, so the file names are fine.

However I cannot see the .ico - size is 1148b or 4kb this is located in the ata-images folder

Any more ideas why I can see this in IE or firefox and on windows cant view it in chrome

juggledad Jan 17, 2014 03:39 AM

did you clear the browser caches? What is the url?

tlck9 Jan 17, 2014 03:55 AM

integra-associates dot com

Yes have tried clearing down the cache on firefox. On my mac I can see the ico (in chrome), but not on firefox, client is saying he cant see it on any of his machines.

juggledad Jan 17, 2014 04:15 AM

when I try to view the favicon in a browser window using
HTML Code:

http://www.integra-associates dot com/wp-content/ata-images/favicon.ico
(using a '.' in place of the 'dot') I get an error in any browser I try.

did you make sure when you created teh at a-images folder to give it permission of 755?
(Folders should have 755, files should have 644 - see this)

tlck9 Jan 17, 2014 04:55 AM

Thanks Juggledad for taking a look

I have a 755 on both the folder ata-images and also 755 on the actual file.

I have checked I can access the ata-images file, see below, this image of the email icon comes up fine, I have also swapped out my own ico file for a default one and still get that error.

wp-content/ata-images/email.png

Could this be something to do with hosting?

tlck9 Jan 17, 2014 04:58 AM

Juggledad....you are a genius....you got me thinking about this and I've solved it.

On the codex for wordpress, I have followed their advice about security, having had one of my sites hacked. I had disallowed various types of files.

I checked the .htaccess file and added in ico and now it is visible!!!!

Thanks, what you did made me realise it wasnt a silly mistake but something blocking the path, however jpg worked why didnt ICO's

but.....it hasnt solved it for my clients even after removing cache and restarting browser

tlck9 Jan 17, 2014 09:06 AM

ON windows machines this hasnt solved the problem....even after removing the cache, restarting the browser and PC....so any ideas

Cant get it work on IE or Chrome

Can anyone tell me what they are seeing? A union jack or a blue box?

juggledad Jan 17, 2014 09:45 AM

Well in Safari on a mac, if I put
HTML Code:

http://www.integra-associates dor com/wp-content/ata-images/favicon.ico
in the address bar I see the image - a blue square with a black dot in the upper right and there is a union jace in the favicon location HOWEVER if I go to the site I just get the world as the favicon

Go back to basics. Try renaminig your .htaccess to .htaccessx and look at the parent folder to see if there is anything it it's .htaccess that could cause an issue.

Remember htaccess files are cumulative and if you have
folder A
--sub folder B
----subfolder C
and you are running from 'C' it's htaccess is applied then 'Bs htaccess overrides it and 'A's overrides both (doesn't replace, just overrides a similar rule in the child htaccess and adds in any extra rules)

tlck9 Jan 21, 2014 03:14 AM

Hi Juggledad, I have now done this, in fact deleted the other htaccess, I have found that the blue logo is showing on Mac's but not on Windows.

Can you PM me about some paid support on this please?

tlck9 Jan 21, 2014 06:01 AM

from the header.php

Should
$imgdir = get_template_directory_uri() . '/images/favicon/';

be

$imgdir = get_template_directory_uri() . '/ata-images/favicon/';

??

if ($bfa_ata['favicon_file'] != "") {
if($bfa_ata['images_root'] == "atahualpa") {
$imgdir = get_template_directory_uri() . '/images/favicon/';
} else {
// at this point the images_root is 'wp-content'
if(!isset($bfa_ata['ata_images_dir'])
OR ($bfa_ata['ata_images_dir'] == '') ) {
$imgdir = content_url() . '/ata-images/';
} else {
$imgdir = content_url() . '/' . $bfa_ata['ata_images_dir'] . '/';
}
}
?><link rel="shortcut icon" href="<?php echo $imgdir. $bfa_ata['favicon_file']; ?>" />

juggledad Jan 21, 2014 06:31 AM

That code is correct, that code checks to see where you have chosen to store the image and points it to the correct location.

tlck9 Jan 21, 2014 06:45 AM

I'm still showing the union jack on the wordpress dashboard pages, I found this but wasnt sure if this would break Atahualpa by placing it in the functions.php file as its supposed to use the main favicon item in the wordpress backend

function pa_admin_area_favicon() {
$favicon_url = get_bloginfo('url') . '/favicon.ico';
echo '<link rel="shortcut icon" href="' . $favicon_url . '" />';
}

add_action('admin_head', 'pa_admin_area_favicon');

juggledad Jan 21, 2014 06:56 AM

Yes, that is a known issue see http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=21241

tlck9 Jan 21, 2014 07:10 AM

I'm not seeing the code:

function pa_admin_area_favicon() {
$favicon_url = get_bloginfo('url') . '/wp-content/themes/atahualpa/images/favicon/6-favicon.ico';
echo '
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="' . $favicon_url . '" />';
}
add_action('admin_head', 'pa_admin_area_favicon');

in the bottom of the functions.php

$bfa_ata_version = "3.7.13";

juggledad Jan 21, 2014 07:54 AM

Then you must have already removed it.

tlck9 Jan 21, 2014 08:37 AM

Finally, unless I'm proved wrong I now have the favicon showing in IE, Chrome in Windows and Firefox

Using the following, placed in the header.php
<link href="/favicon.ico?" type="image/x-icon" rel="shortcut icon">
<link href="/ata-images/favicon.ico?" type="image/x-icon" rel="shortcut icon">
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.mysite.co.uk/favicon.ico"/>
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.mysite.com/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon">
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
<link rel="icon" href="http://mysite.com/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon">
<link rel="icon" href="http://mysite.com/favicon.ico?" type="image/x-icon">
<link rel="icon" href="http://mysite.com/favicon.ico">
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://mysite.com/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon">

and in the ATO/Add HTML in the header part

<link href="/favicon.ico?" type="image/x-icon" rel="shortcut icon">
<link href="/ata-images/favicon.ico?" type="image/x-icon" rel="shortcut icon">
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.mysite.co.uk/favicon.ico"/>
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.mysite.com/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon">

Not sure which ones are doing the trick in IE - but if I delete a couple of the different ones, its stops working.....I could spend a bit longer on it, deleted one at a time but I've lost the will to live, so I'm leaving it as it is - as its working [yippee]


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.