Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Page & Category Menu Bars (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Sub menu as a localized menu? (or Prev/Next) (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=7385)

linearconcepts Jun 1, 2010 02:42 PM

Sub menu as a localized menu? (or Prev/Next)

Coming from an ASP background, I'm new to Wordpress, so bear with me if my nomenclature needs help.

First of all, I'm not building a blog site. I don't need daily posts.

I'm migrating my hand-built ASP site to Atahualpa 3.2 as it seems to handle everything I want. All of my ASP pages (several hundred and growing) will be done as WordPress Pages, and I want them to be as menu items and sub-menu items. So far, so good.

However, a many of the Pages will be under a particular Parent, and I'd like to have an optional sub menu for just these Pages to show the other Pages that are also under the same Parent. Not all the pages will need this submenu, but a few of the Parent pages that have 20+ Pages will need localized submenus. (Hope that makes sense). An alternative to this (preferably in addition to this!), would be to have <<Prev and Next>> links that take the visitor to the prev/next Page under that parent.

I've no clue how to implement that in WP, let alone Atahualpa. Any suggestions?

If I ended up with something like this, I wouldn't be upset.
http://www.linearconcepts.com/photos/2007-israel-03.asp
(note the menu navigation in the top-right - which is actually a subset of the whole site, although you don't see the whole site nav here. Also note the prev/next button at the bottom.)

Thanks!!

TIM

juggledad Jun 1, 2010 05:03 PM

Welcome to the wonderful world of Wordpress and Atahualpa!

First off, don't use 3.2, please install version 3.5.1 of Atahualpa (you can get it at http://wordpress.bytesforall.com/?p=92)