Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   Atahualpa 3 Wordpress theme (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   [SOLVED] IE & Chrome issues with background and logo/header (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=17291)

tsheridan Apr 11, 2012 04:40 PM

[SOLVED] IE & Chrome issues with background and logo/header
 
I used the following code that I found in a post in the Gold Forum to display 2 background images and all is good on all browsers except IE:

background: url(/wp-content/images/header-bg.jpg) left top repeat-x, #e3cdb5 url(/wp-content/images/wood-bg.jpg) top left repeat;

I use this same code on my own site and it works fine in all browsers, so I'm not sure why the IE problem here. I've actually never had compatibility issues with Atahualpa before!

I have a logo and rotating header images on this same site, and everything displays fine in all browsers except for chrome. Again, I can't figure out what I've done, and I've searched the forums with no luck in either case.

The URL is www.blackberrymorganhorses.com, WP 3.3.1, Atahualpa 3.7.3.

Thank you, I feel like I owe you guys a 12-pack or something, so I'll head over and ante-up. You guys are always so much help!

juggledad Apr 11, 2012 05:28 PM

what version of IE?
did you set the doctype (ato->Style & configure LAYOUT->IE Document Type)?

tsheridan Apr 11, 2012 05:35 PM

IE 7 and 8 (don't have 9 yet), and no, I've never set any doctype other than what the default is.

juggledad Apr 11, 2012 06:47 PM

try this, change the body to
HTML Code:

body {
        text-align: center;  /* centering the page container,
                                                        text-align will be reset to left
                                                        inside the container */
        margin: 0;
        padding: 0;
        font-family: tahoma, arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 0.8em;
color: #000000;
background: url(http://www.blackberrymorganhorses.com/wp-content/images/header-bg.jpg) left top repeat-x        }

and add this to the CSS Inserts
HTML Code:

html {
background:  url(http://www.blackberrymorganhorses.com/wp-content/images/wood-bg.jpg) top left repeat;        }


tsheridan Apr 12, 2012 08:47 AM

Thanks Juggledad, but unfortunately this did not work for the background images. It fixed the header issue problem in chrome however. When I added the second background image to the inserts section, it actually broke the menu options I had in that section also. IE is now displaying the first background image fine however, but not the look I was going for.
I was mistaken in my first post, in that this double background image method did not work on my own site in IE. So is this method just not going to be compatible with IE then, or do you think there's a hack for this?

juggledad Apr 12, 2012 08:56 AM

Look ing at the source of the page I see for the body CSS
HTML Code:

body {
        text-align: center;  /* centering the page container,
                                                        text-align will be reset to left
                                                        inside the container */
        margin: 0;
        padding: 0;
        text-align: center;  /* centering the page container,
                                                        text-align will be reset to left
                                                        inside the container */
        margin: 0;
        padding: 0;
        font-family: tahoma, arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 0.8em;
color: #000000;
font-family: tahoma, arial, sans-serif;
background: url(http://www.blackberrymorganhorses.com/wp-content/images/header-bg.jpg) #E2D1B7 left top repeat-x;        }

besides teh duplicate lines, get rid of the '#E2D1B7'
second, I don't see teh
HTML Code:

html {
background:  url(http://www.blackberrymorganhorses.com/wp-content/images/wood-bg.jpg) top left repeat;        }

anywhere in the CSS Inserts

tsheridan Apr 12, 2012 09:18 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Hmmm, when I go into ATO > Body, Text & Links, I don't see any duplicate code there. See attached screen shot.

I had removed the background image from the inserts because of the broken menu issue, but it's back now so you can see that.

juggledad Apr 12, 2012 09:45 AM

you forgot to add the 'html {...}' go look at the previous post

tsheridan Apr 12, 2012 10:16 AM

Sweet that worked! Sorry, I thought that it would recognize it as HTML, I've never added that in the inserts before. Thanks again so much!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.