Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA

Wordpress Themes - WP Forum at BFA (http://forum.bytesforall.com/index.php)
-   New Versions, & Updating (http://forum.bytesforall.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Upgrade has me terrified (http://forum.bytesforall.com/showthread.php?t=18893)

runnerb0y Nov 12, 2012 12:21 PM

Upgrade has me terrified
 
Hello,

First of all this is a fantastic theme.

I'm running a website using WordPress 3.0.5 and ATA version 3.5.3. I'm getting ready to do the WordPress upgrade to their latest stable version, and would like to upgrade ATA to 3.7.9. I've got backups of everything and have exported my custom settings in ATA to a text file.

In reading through the various ATA upgrade notifications I cannot tell but it seems to me that WordPress isn't allowing any more custom code (or is that only custom PHP?)? If either of these is a true statement, will I not be able to import my customizations in ATA to the 'new' WP and ATA versions?

Thanks for any light anyone can shed on this!

~runner

juggledad Nov 12, 2012 12:26 PM

No php is allowed in the theme options anymore.
If you have done a BDB backup and have a backup of your wordpress folder, I would do the WP upgrade, then manually install Atahualpa 3.7.9 then you can swap back and forth between 379 and 353

runnerb0y Nov 12, 2012 12:51 PM

Juggledad,

Thanks for the advice, that was the method I was going to use.

Just so I'm clear,... any custom HTML/CSS inserts I've done will carry over (once I import them)?
but,
I won't be able to have custom code in the Style & Edit Center Column (the Loop) once I upgrade to the latest WP version??

juggledad Nov 12, 2012 01:57 PM

You won't even have to import them since they are stored in the database the new version will just yes them

runnerb0y Nov 12, 2012 02:01 PM

10-4 on that being in the database and wouldn't have to import...makes sense.

What about my custom php in the Loop section of ATA? Will that be lost/unusable with the migration to the newest WordPress?

juggledad Nov 12, 2012 02:16 PM

Any custom code in 'the LOOP' option will be lost and needs to be moved int the index.php in 379 - this is due to an (!$%#&) requirement be WordPress.

This is why you should
1) back everything up - DB and files
2) upgrade WP
3) check things out
4) manually install 379
5) copy the code you have in 'The LOOP' option of 353 to a text file
6) edit the index.php in 379 to add in the code you customized
7) activate 379
8) test things - if there is aglitch, re activate 353

and if you are really nervious, hire someone to do it for you.

you could even copy the entire site and install it in a subdomain that you can use for testing, then you could go thru the steps whit that site and make sure things work first.

runnerb0y Nov 12, 2012 04:13 PM

Thanks Juggledad. With those assurances (moving the Loop PHP changes/additions) and knowing that I won't have any version disasters moving from 3.5.3 to 3.7.9. I can totally tackle this.

Thank you very much sir!

~runner


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.